Historically Black Colleges and Universities
There are 102 HBCUs across 19 states, the District of Columbia and the U.S. Virgin Islands. 51 are public and 51 are private nonprofit, and 87 predominantly award bachelor’s degrees or higher.
Every one is listed below with what a family actually needs to compare: how many students it admits, what it costs after aid, how many students finish, and what they earn ten years on.
What counts as an HBCU
“Any historically black college or university that was established prior to 1964, whose principal mission was, and is, the education of black Americans, and that is accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting agency… or is… making reasonable progress toward accreditation.”
The definition is historical. It describes why a school was founded, not who may enrol now: HBCUs admit students of every background, and several have substantial non-Black enrolment today. It is also why the list is closed. An institution founded after 1964 cannot become an HBCU, however it serves its students.
You will see different totals quoted. This directory lists 102 institutions carrying the designation in College Scorecard; NCES counted 99 in 2022, and the Department of Education’s White House Initiative refers to 105. The gap is the year of the count and schools closing, merging or changing accreditation status, not a disagreement about what an HBCU is.
All 102 HBCUs by state
Net price is what a typical student actually pays after grants and scholarships, which is the number worth comparing rather than published tuition. Earnings are the median ten years after entering the school. Blank cells mean the school did not report the figure, not a zero.
Alabama14 schools
| School | Type | Admits | Students | Net price | Finish in 6 yrs | Earnings, 10 yrs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama A & M University Normal | Public Bachelor's | 58% | 6,124 | $17,621 | 24% | $40,628 |
| Alabama State University Montgomery | Public Bachelor's | 98% | 3,477 | $20,435 | 30% | $34,502 |
| Bishop State Community College Mobile | Public Certificate | Not reported | 2,437 | $5,397 | Not reported | $29,916 |
| Gadsden State Community College Gadsden | Public Certificate | Not reported | 3,548 | $3,515 | Not reported | $32,937 |
| H Councill Trenholm State Community College Montgomery | Public Certificate | Not reported | 1,674 | $8,325 | Not reported | $32,183 |
| J. F. Drake State Community and Technical College Huntsville | Public Certificate | Not reported | 755 | $6,005 | Not reported | $28,281 |
| Lawson State Community College Birmingham | Public Associate | Not reported | 2,900 | $6,275 | Not reported | $31,701 |
| Miles College Fairfield | Private Bachelor's | Not reported | 1,155 | $14,271 | 16% | $32,627 |
| Oakwood University Huntsville | Private Bachelor's | 45% | 1,153 | $25,669 | 45% | $42,488 |
| Selma University Selma | Private Bachelor's | Not reported | 32 | Not reported | 6% | Not reported |
| Shelton State Community College Tuscaloosa | Public Certificate | Not reported | 3,148 | $14,557 | Not reported | $35,014 |
| Stillman College Tuscaloosa | Private Bachelor's | 62% | 706 | $15,258 | 25% | $35,421 |
| Talladega College Talladega | Private Bachelor's | 85% | 701 | $15,560 | 31% | $32,229 |
| Tuskegee University Tuskegee | Private Bachelor's | 49% | 2,630 | $35,013 | 55% | $49,641 |
Arkansas4 schools
| School | Type | Admits | Students | Net price | Finish in 6 yrs | Earnings, 10 yrs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arkansas Baptist College Little Rock | Private Bachelor's | Not reported | 342 | $10,627 | 7% | $28,418 |
| Philander Smith University Little Rock | Private Bachelor's | Not reported | 751 | $14,224 | 30% | $38,427 |
| Shorter College N Little Rock | Private Associate | Not reported | 287 | $14,060 | Not reported | Not reported |
| University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff Pine Bluff | Public Bachelor's | 41% | 1,807 | $12,653 | 40% | $35,550 |
District of Columbia2 schools
| School | Type | Admits | Students | Net price | Finish in 6 yrs | Earnings, 10 yrs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Howard University Washington | Private Bachelor's | 41% | 10,108 | $50,539 | 70% | $63,066 |
| University of the District of Columbia Washington | Public Associate | Not reported | 3,351 | $10,648 | 33% | $44,236 |
Delaware1 school
| School | Type | Admits | Students | Net price | Finish in 6 yrs | Earnings, 10 yrs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Delaware State University Dover | Public Bachelor's | 47% | 4,398 | $13,910 | 39% | $49,307 |
Florida4 schools
| School | Type | Admits | Students | Net price | Finish in 6 yrs | Earnings, 10 yrs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bethune-Cookman University Daytona Beach | Private Bachelor's | 88% | 2,732 | $12,030 | 31% | $38,518 |
| Edward Waters University Jacksonville | Private Bachelor's | 85% | 1,087 | $13,649 | 28% | $34,782 |
| Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University Tallahassee | Public Bachelor's | 21% | 7,582 | $13,739 | 53% | $44,349 |
| Florida Memorial University Miami Gardens | Private Bachelor's | 85% | 1,183 | $23,238 | 31% | $36,624 |
Georgia10 schools
| School | Type | Admits | Students | Net price | Finish in 6 yrs | Earnings, 10 yrs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Albany State University Albany | Public Bachelor's | Not reported | 5,956 | $11,898 | 31% | $40,674 |
| Clark Atlanta University Atlanta | Private Bachelor's | 64% | 3,603 | $37,702 | 49% | $42,712 |
| Fort Valley State University Fort Valley | Public Bachelor's | 66% | 2,684 | $10,338 | 41% | $36,666 |
| Interdenominational Theological Center Atlanta | Private Graduate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Morehouse College Atlanta | Private Bachelor's | 44% | 2,844 | $39,013 | 59% | $52,889 |
| Morehouse School of Medicine Atlanta | Private Graduate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Morris Brown College Atlanta | Private Bachelor's | Not reported | 432 | $24,901 | 25% | Not reported |
| Paine College Augusta | Private Bachelor's | 95% | 388 | $16,670 | 14% | $33,338 |
| Savannah State University Savannah | Public Bachelor's | Not reported | 2,833 | $8,172 | 28% | $37,981 |
| Spelman College Atlanta | Private Bachelor's | 25% | 3,414 | $38,967 | 78% | $59,993 |
Kentucky2 schools
| School | Type | Admits | Students | Net price | Finish in 6 yrs | Earnings, 10 yrs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kentucky State University Frankfort | Public Bachelor's | 96% | 1,309 | $8,040 | 32% | $36,382 |
| Simmons College of Kentucky Louisville | Private Associate | 100% | 481 | $18,434 | 14% | Not reported |
Louisiana7 schools
| School | Type | Admits | Students | Net price | Finish in 6 yrs | Earnings, 10 yrs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dillard University New Orleans | Private Bachelor's | 42% | 1,063 | $22,094 | 43% | $39,196 |
| Grambling State University Grambling | Public Bachelor's | 45% | 4,164 | $19,809 | 36% | $41,109 |
| Southern University and A & M College Baton Rouge | Public Bachelor's | 35% | 5,519 | $20,077 | 27% | $43,371 |
| Southern University at New Orleans New Orleans | Public Bachelor's | 79% | 1,055 | $14,810 | 13% | $34,042 |
| Southern University at Shreveport Shreveport | Public Associate | Not reported | 1,910 | $11,049 | Not reported | $33,099 |
| Southern University Law Center Baton Rouge | Public Bachelor's | Not reported | 607 | Not reported | Not reported | $43,371 |
| Xavier University of Louisiana New Orleans | Private Bachelor's | 69% | 2,628 | $17,127 | 49% | $52,184 |
Maryland4 schools
| School | Type | Admits | Students | Net price | Finish in 6 yrs | Earnings, 10 yrs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bowie State University Bowie | Public Bachelor's | 72% | 5,043 | $19,298 | 38% | $54,537 |
| Coppin State University Baltimore | Public Bachelor's | 46% | 1,844 | $9,977 | 26% | $46,490 |
| Morgan State University Baltimore | Public Bachelor's | 82% | 9,019 | $14,985 | 41% | $50,698 |
| University of Maryland Eastern Shore Princess Anne | Public Bachelor's | 96% | 2,391 | $13,338 | 35% | $47,697 |
Missouri2 schools
| School | Type | Admits | Students | Net price | Finish in 6 yrs | Earnings, 10 yrs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Harris-Stowe State University Saint Louis | Public Bachelor's | Not reported | 960 | $9,922 | 28% | $31,088 |
| Lincoln University Jefferson City | Public Bachelor's | Not reported | 1,392 | $19,092 | 21% | $39,463 |
Mississippi6 schools
| School | Type | Admits | Students | Net price | Finish in 6 yrs | Earnings, 10 yrs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alcorn State University Alcorn State | Public Bachelor's | 45% | 2,363 | $13,265 | 57% | $36,421 |
| Coahoma Community College Clarksdale | Public Certificate | Not reported | 1,144 | $-274 | Not reported | $24,289 |
| Jackson State University Jackson | Public Bachelor's | 93% | 4,600 | $23,836 | 51% | $39,060 |
| Mississippi Valley State University Itta Bena | Public Bachelor's | 92% | 1,439 | $9,686 | 27% | $31,919 |
| Rust College Holly Springs | Private Bachelor's | 49% | 467 | $12,587 | 12% | $32,275 |
| Tougaloo College Tougaloo | Private Bachelor's | 60% | 639 | $17,043 | 33% | $34,724 |
North Carolina10 schools
| School | Type | Admits | Students | Net price | Finish in 6 yrs | Earnings, 10 yrs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bennett College Greensboro | Private Bachelor's | 51% | 178 | $28,299 | 25% | $36,654 |
| Elizabeth City State University Elizabeth City | Public Bachelor's | 64% | 1,975 | $6,364 | 44% | $40,026 |
| Fayetteville State University Fayetteville | Public Bachelor's | 82% | 5,762 | $7,892 | 38% | $40,144 |
| Johnson C Smith University Charlotte | Private Bachelor's | 45% | 1,244 | $20,894 | 34% | $42,680 |
| Livingstone College Salisbury | Private Bachelor's | 59% | 924 | $13,479 | 28% | $32,600 |
| North Carolina A & T State University Greensboro | Public Bachelor's | 50% | 12,182 | $10,846 | 57% | $44,440 |
| North Carolina Central University Durham | Public Bachelor's | 87% | 6,081 | $15,359 | 42% | $42,968 |
| Saint Augustine's University Raleigh | Private Bachelor's | 34% | 172 | $24,313 | 25% | $35,730 |
| Shaw University Raleigh | Private Bachelor's | 80% | 875 | $16,512 | 22% | $34,409 |
| Winston-Salem State University Winston-Salem | Public Bachelor's | 78% | 4,170 | $13,479 | 47% | $45,344 |
Ohio2 schools
| School | Type | Admits | Students | Net price | Finish in 6 yrs | Earnings, 10 yrs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Central State University Wilberforce | Public Bachelor's | 99% | 2,620 | $13,096 | 23% | $33,267 |
| Wilberforce University Wilberforce | Private Bachelor's | 41% | 822 | $5,567 | 12% | $38,298 |
Oklahoma1 school
| School | Type | Admits | Students | Net price | Finish in 6 yrs | Earnings, 10 yrs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Langston University Langston | Public Associate | Not reported | 1,742 | $11,504 | 17% | $33,261 |
Pennsylvania2 schools
| School | Type | Admits | Students | Net price | Finish in 6 yrs | Earnings, 10 yrs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cheyney University of Pennsylvania Cheyney | Public Bachelor's | Not reported | 617 | $14,265 | 41% | $37,837 |
| Lincoln University Lincoln University | Public Bachelor's | 66% | 1,539 | $14,977 | 44% | $43,167 |
South Carolina8 schools
| School | Type | Admits | Students | Net price | Finish in 6 yrs | Earnings, 10 yrs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Allen University Columbia | Private Bachelor's | 73% | 576 | $10,972 | 13% | $30,497 |
| Benedict College Columbia | Private Bachelor's | 96% | 1,536 | $18,250 | 24% | $31,902 |
| Claflin University Orangeburg | Private Bachelor's | 65% | 1,706 | $17,800 | 52% | $40,304 |
| Clinton College Rock Hill | Private Bachelor's | Not reported | 126 | $11,458 | 14% | $30,180 |
| Denmark Technical College Denmark | Public Certificate | Not reported | 519 | $19,156 | Not reported | $25,351 |
| Morris College Sumter | Private Bachelor's | Not reported | 383 | $20,555 | 17% | $30,614 |
| South Carolina State University Orangeburg | Public Bachelor's | 83% | 2,934 | $18,097 | 37% | $38,262 |
| Voorhees University Denmark | Private Bachelor's | Not reported | 440 | $13,335 | 43% | $35,339 |
Tennessee6 schools
| School | Type | Admits | Students | Net price | Finish in 6 yrs | Earnings, 10 yrs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| American Baptist College Nashville | Private Bachelor's | Not reported | 46 | $9,216 | 39% | $41,216 |
| Fisk University Nashville | Private Bachelor's | 37% | 1,035 | $32,020 | 30% | $45,454 |
| Lane College Jackson | Private Bachelor's | Not reported | 736 | $10,904 | 18% | $31,670 |
| Le Moyne-Owen College Memphis | Private Bachelor's | 99% | 581 | $7,099 | 27% | $35,594 |
| Meharry Medical College Nashville | Private Graduate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tennessee State University Nashville | Public Bachelor's | 70% | 4,848 | $15,796 | 34% | $42,730 |
Texas9 schools
| School | Type | Admits | Students | Net price | Finish in 6 yrs | Earnings, 10 yrs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Huston-Tillotson University Austin | Private Bachelor's | 39% | 1,005 | $19,719 | 34% | $42,937 |
| Jarvis Christian University Hawkins | Private Bachelor's | Not reported | 577 | $9,825 | 15% | $32,992 |
| Paul Quinn College Dallas | Private Bachelor's | 40% | 620 | $12,709 | 27% | $29,288 |
| Prairie View A & M University Prairie View | Public Bachelor's | 79% | 8,877 | $13,570 | 43% | $45,411 |
| Southwestern Christian College Terrell | Private Associate | Not reported | 110 | $18,562 | 3% | $32,672 |
| St Philip's College San Antonio | Public Certificate | Not reported | 12,914 | $4,273 | 28% | $38,224 |
| Texas College Tyler | Private Bachelor's | Not reported | 614 | $10,958 | 14% | $33,752 |
| Texas Southern University Houston | Public Bachelor's | 97% | 6,844 | $16,590 | 22% | $38,924 |
| Wiley University Marshall | Private Bachelor's | Not reported | 712 | $7,092 | 24% | $33,159 |
Virginia5 schools
| School | Type | Admits | Students | Net price | Finish in 6 yrs | Earnings, 10 yrs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hampton University Hampton | Private Bachelor's | 62% | 3,727 | $25,319 | 57% | $59,159 |
| Norfolk State University Norfolk | Public Bachelor's | 88% | 5,392 | $15,282 | 39% | $44,666 |
| Virginia State University Petersburg | Public Bachelor's | 89% | 5,074 | $15,840 | 39% | $45,543 |
| Virginia Union University Richmond | Private Bachelor's | 98% | 1,203 | $13,235 | 34% | $38,275 |
| Virginia University of Lynchburg Lynchburg | Private Bachelor's | Not reported | 125 | $21,253 | 38% | $28,396 |
U.S. Virgin Islands1 school
| School | Type | Admits | Students | Net price | Finish in 6 yrs | Earnings, 10 yrs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of the Virgin Islands Charlotte Amalie | Public Bachelor's | 99% | 1,518 | $7,469 | 28% | $38,681 |
West Virginia2 schools
| School | Type | Admits | Students | Net price | Finish in 6 yrs | Earnings, 10 yrs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bluefield State University Bluefield | Public Bachelor's | 97% | 1,042 | $13,684 | 37% | $38,217 |
| West Virginia State University Institute | Public Bachelor's | 96% | 1,321 | $11,139 | 39% | $40,492 |
Common questions
What is an HBCU?
The Higher Education Act of 1965 defines a historically Black college or university as an institution established before 1964 whose principal mission was, and is, the education of Black Americans, and that is accredited or making reasonable progress toward accreditation. The definition is historical: it describes why a school was founded, not who may enrol today. HBCUs admit students of every background.
How many HBCUs are there?
Federal sources give slightly different counts. This directory lists 102 institutions carrying the HBCU designation in College Scorecard. NCES counted 99 in 2022, and the Department of Education’s White House Initiative refers to 105. The differences come from the year of the count and from schools closing, merging or changing accreditation status, not from disagreement about the definition.
Where are HBCUs located?
The 102 institutions here sit in 19 states, the District of Columbia and the U.S. Virgin Islands, concentrated in the South. Alabama, North Carolina, Georgia, Texas and Mississippi hold the most.
Are HBCUs public or private?
The split is almost exactly even: 51 are public and 51 are private nonprofit. That matters for cost, because public tuition is lower for state residents while private schools often discount more heavily through aid. Compare net price, not sticker price.
Do all HBCUs award four-year degrees?
No. 87 of the 102 predominantly award bachelor’s degrees or higher. The rest are two-year or certificate institutions, several of them community colleges in Alabama. Both kinds are listed here, with the predominant award shown for each.
Where these numbers come from
Admission rates, enrolment, net price, graduation rates and earnings come from the College Scorecard and IPEDS, which is also the source of the HBCU designation itself. Snapshot taken 2026-09-07. The statutory definition is quoted from the Higher Education Act of 1965, Title III, and the competing counts from NCES Fast Facts and the White House Initiative on HBCUs.
Next: colleges by state · how to read these numbers · scholarship directory