UC Berkeley: the complete school report for parents

UC Berkeley puts the most weight on course rigor, GPA and the essay. A second tier of extracurricular activities, personal qualities and volunteer work carries real weight too. It does not consider legacy, demonstrated interest and the interview, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With an 11.5% admit rate and 90% of enrolled students at a 3.75 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are not part of the picture. In the most recent cycle 6,479 students accepted a place on the waiting list and none were admitted from it.

UC Berkeley is officially University of California-Berkeley, also known as Cal or UCB. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-06.

Admit rate
11.5%
126,864 applicants
GPA of admits
3.75+
90% at or above
Admitted off waitlist
0
of 6,479 who waited
Transfer admit rate
24.2%
23,401 applied
Net price (average)
$13,481
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$92,446
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
94%
81% in four
Freshmen who return
97%

What’s new at UC Berkeley for Fall 2026

Applications hit a record and admit numbers came down slightly. More than 159,000 students applied for a first-year or transfer seat in the fall 2026 class, with first-year applications up 5% and transfer applications up a record 12%. Berkeley offered admission to 13,982 first-year students, about 500 fewer than the previous year, and 5,284 transfer students, about 350 fewer. Admitted first-years average a 3.93 unweighted GPA and a 4.52 weighted GPA, and 97% carry a weighted GPA of at least 4.0. Twenty-three percent are first-generation, about one in four are underrepresented minority students, and roughly 10% are international students from more than 72 countries. Among admitted transfers the average GPA is 3.8 and 93% come from California community colleges. First-year decisions were released on 26 March and transfer decisions on 17 April.

Source: UC Berkeley offers nearly 19,000 students admission to fall 2026 class (Berkeley News, 29 July 2026)

What does UC Berkeley actually weigh in admissions?

UC Berkeley rates 3 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, the essay. It does not consider 6 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is UC Berkeley's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

UC Berkeley admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow UC Berkeley rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayVery Important
extracurricular activitiesImportant
recommendationsConsidered
personal qualitiesImportant
talentConsidered
class rankNot Considered
demonstrated interestNot Considered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyNot Considered
state residencyConsidered
volunteer workImportant
work experienceImportant
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does UC Berkeley consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does UC Berkeley consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does UC Berkeley consider SAT or ACT scores?

No. UC Berkeley is test-blind: SAT and ACT scores are not considered even if you submit them. Its Common Data Set rates test scores "Considered" in the factor grid, which covers other tests it does read.

Does UC Berkeley consider the application essay?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The essay is doing as much work as the transcript.

Does UC Berkeley consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does UC Berkeley consider recommendation letters?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does UC Berkeley consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does UC Berkeley consider a special talent or ability?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does UC Berkeley consider class rank?

No. UC Berkeley does not consider it. A school that does not rank its students is not a disadvantage.

Does UC Berkeley consider demonstrated interest?

No. UC Berkeley does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.

Does UC Berkeley consider an interview?

No. UC Berkeley does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does UC Berkeley consider legacy status?

No. UC Berkeley does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does UC Berkeley consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does UC Berkeley consider where we live?

No. UC Berkeley does not consider it.

Does UC Berkeley consider state residency?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does UC Berkeley consider volunteer work?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does UC Berkeley consider work experience?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does UC Berkeley consider religious affiliation?

No. UC Berkeley does not consider it.

Does UC Berkeley really look at SAT and ACT scores?

No. UC Berkeley does not read SAT or ACT scores, even if you submit them. That is worth stating plainly, because its own Common Data Set appears to say two things at once: section C7 rates standardized test scores Considered, while section C8 records SAT and ACT scores as Not considered.

Both are true. C8 governs the SAT and ACT a student would actually sit, and it is unambiguous: those scores are not read. The C7 mark covers other tests the university does take into account. For a family deciding whether to spend money on test preparation for UC Berkeley, the answer is no.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

90% of enrolled students had a 3.75 GPA or above. The average was 3.9 on a 4 scale, reported for 100% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

UC Berkeley high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.039.8%
3.75–3.9950.1%
3.50–3.748.1%
3.25–3.491.4%
3.00–3.240.3%
2.50–2.990.2%
2.00–2.490.1%

What is the UC Berkeley waitlist really like?

UC Berkeley offered a place on its waiting list to 9,102 applicants and 6,479 accepted one. None of them were admitted. A waitlist place here should be treated as a decline, not as a live option to hold out for.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

UC Berkeley admitted 24.2% of 23,401 transfer applicants, against 11.5% of first-year applicants. For a student who does not get in at eighteen, the transfer route is a genuinely wider door and worth planning for deliberately. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.4.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

UC Berkeley offers neither Early Decision nor Early Action, so there is no early round to strategize about and every applicant is read in one pool.

UC Berkeley application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadline2026-11-30
Decisions released2026-03-31
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredNo
Early Action offeredNo
Application fee$80
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

UC Berkeley requires 15 academic units and recommends 18. A college-preparatory program is required. A GED is accepted.

UC Berkeley high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 years4 years
Mathematics3 years4 years
Science2 years3 years
of which lab science2 yearsNot stated
Foreign language2 years3 years
History2 yearsNot stated
Visual / performing arts1 yearNot stated

What will UC Berkeley actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $13,481 a year at UC Berkeley after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $14,202. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 88.4% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 233 merit awards averaging $16,030 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

What families at each income level actually paid:

UC Berkeley average net price by family income
Family incomeAverage net price per year
Under $30,000$5,311
$30,000–$48,000$6,501
$48,000–$75,000$9,693
$75,000–$110,000$15,074
Over $110,000$34,529

26% of UC Berkeley graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $18,653 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $138 a month in repayment. UC Berkeley’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from UC Berkeley pay off?

Graduates earn a median $92,446 ten years after entering, and $74,919 at six years. 86% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 80% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:

Years for UC Berkeley earnings premium to cover four years of net cost
Family incomeFour-year net costYears to pay back
Under $30,000$21,2440.4
$30,000–$48,000$26,0040.5
$48,000–$75,000$38,7720.8
$75,000–$110,000$60,2961.2
Over $110,000$138,1162.9

A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.

$240,462 to $38,182, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at UC Berkeley:

UC Berkeley median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$240,462528
Computer Science$225,140848
Business Administration, Management and Operations$145,003409
Applied Mathematics$144,689254
Economics$125,636799
Social Sciences, Other$113,294187
Mechanical Engineering$112,325189
Cognitive Science$100,651230
Communication and Media Studies$93,369258
English Language and Literature, General$59,480221
Philosophy$55,24787
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$38,18282

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

97% of first-years return for a second year. 81% graduate within four years and 94% within six (Fall 2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 89.8% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 94.9% of everyone else, a gap of 5.1 points.

How big are the classes?

51% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 12% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 18:1, and 70% of faculty are full-time. Both are true at once: 12% of sections seat 100 or more, and those are the introductory lectures. Accredited by Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission.

What is life at UC Berkeley like?

33,513 undergraduates, 19.4% of first-years from out of state. 90% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 30% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 3.2% of men join a fraternity and 7.1% of women a sorority. 35% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $77,601.

Entering first-year students in 2026-27 get a two-year housing guarantee and transfer students a one-year guarantee. Both are conditional: you must list "any room size, any location" among your five housing preferences, apply by 2 May, and accept the offer by the date on it. Continuing students reapply between 1 and 15 February. Berkeley has added 2,400 beds since 2018 with two more undergraduate complexes due by 2028.

Source: Housing Guarantee, UC Berkeley Housing

Berkeley fields 30 varsity programs in NCAA Division I and joined the Atlantic Coast Conference in 2024-25, competing in 24 ACC-sponsored sports. The teams are the California Golden Bears.

Source: UC Berkeley to join ACC for 2024-25 academic year, Cal Athletics

More than 1,800 Berkeley students study abroad each year through Berkeley Study Abroad.

Source: Berkeley Study Abroad

The Undergraduate Research Apprentice Program places undergraduates on faculty research projects for academic credit, one unit for every three hours a week. Institutional records put annual undergraduate research participation at roughly 10-14%. Post-graduation outcomes are published each year through the campus First Destination Survey.

Source: Undergraduate Research Apprentice Program; First Destination Survey, Office of Planning and Analysis

How is UC Berkeley ranked, and how strong is the alumni network?

UC Berkeley is ranked #1 for public universities in the U.S. News Best Colleges 2026. Its full set of published positions, including the ones that are less flattering:

UC Berkeley published rankings
RankingPosition
U.S. News Best Colleges 2026, public universities#1
U.S. News Best Colleges 2026, national universities#15
U.S. News Best Colleges 2026, social mobility#87
U.S. News Best Global Universities 2026-27#7
QS World University Rankings 2026#17

Shown in full, including the less flattering ones.

Source: University of California: UC is the best public university in the 2026 U.S. News rankings

The Cal Alumni Association represents more than 500,000 alumni, with regional and identity-based chapters in 39 countries and over 35,000 alumni living outside the United States. The Berkeley Network runs industry events and mentorship pairing current students with alumni. Nobel counts depend on how they are counted: Berkeley's own alumni listing enumerates 34 alumni laureates, while campus pages cite 63 “Berkeley Nobelists” including faculty, of whom 22 won as faculty members.

Source: Cal Alumni Association; Alumni Nobel Prizes, berkeley.edu

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten. UC Berkeley recommends 18 academic units.
  • 90% of enrolled students are at a 3.75 GPA or above, averaging 3.9. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • Do not spend money on test preparation for UC Berkeley: scores are not read even if you send them, despite what its C7 grid appears to say.
  • Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
  • Treat a waitlist place here as a decline: 6,479 students waited and none were admitted.
  • If the first-year answer is no, the transfer route is genuinely wider here and worth planning for from the first semester of college.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $240,462 five years out against $38,182 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about UC Berkeley

What GPA do you need for UC Berkeley?

90% of enrolled students at UC Berkeley had a high school GPA of 3.75 or above, and the average was 3.9, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

Does the UC Berkeley waitlist move?

6,479 students accepted a place on the UC Berkeley waiting list and none were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do UC Berkeley graduates earn?

UC Berkeley graduates earn a median $92,446 ten years after entering, and 86% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: UC Berkeley’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-06. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the UC Berkeley profile