UCLA: the complete school report for parents
UCLA puts the most weight on course rigor, GPA and the essay. A second tier of extracurricular activities, personal qualities and talent carries real weight too. It does not consider test scores, legacy and demonstrated interest, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 9.4% admit rate and 59% of enrolled students at a 4.0 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are not part of the picture. Transfer applicants are admitted at 23.4% against 9.4% for first-years, so the transfer route is materially wider.
UCLA is officially University of California-Los Angeles, also known as Uc Los Angeles. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-07.
What does UCLA actually weigh in admissions?
UCLA rates 3 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, the essay. It does not consider 7 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is UCLA's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.
| Factor | How UCLA rates it |
|---|---|
| course rigor | Very Important |
| GPA | Very Important |
| test scores | Not Considered |
| the essay | Very Important |
| extracurricular activities | Important |
| recommendations | Not Considered |
| personal qualities | Important |
| talent | Important |
| class rank | Not Considered |
| demonstrated interest | Not Considered |
| the interview | Not Considered |
| legacy | Not Considered |
| first-generation status | Considered |
| geography | Considered |
| state residency | Considered |
| volunteer work | Important |
| work experience | Important |
| religious affiliation | Not Considered |
Does UCLA consider how hard my child’s courses were?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
Does UCLA consider GPA?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors.
Does UCLA consider SAT or ACT scores?
No. UCLA is test-blind, so SAT and ACT scores are not read even if you send them.
Does UCLA consider the application essay?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The essay is doing as much work as the transcript.
Does UCLA consider extracurricular activities?
Yes. It is an important factor.
Does UCLA consider recommendation letters?
No. UCLA does not consider it.
Does UCLA consider character and personal qualities?
Yes. It is an important factor.
Does UCLA consider a special talent or ability?
Yes. It is an important factor.
Does UCLA consider class rank?
No. UCLA does not consider it. A school that does not rank its students is not a disadvantage.
Does UCLA consider demonstrated interest?
No. UCLA does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.
Does UCLA consider an interview?
No. UCLA does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.
Does UCLA consider legacy status?
No. UCLA does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.
Does UCLA consider being first-generation?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.
Does UCLA consider where we live?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does UCLA consider state residency?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does UCLA consider volunteer work?
Yes. It is an important factor.
Does UCLA consider work experience?
Yes. It is an important factor.
Does UCLA consider religious affiliation?
No. UCLA does not consider it.
What GPA do admitted students actually have?
59% of enrolled students had a 4.0 GPA or above. The average was 3.94 on a 4 scale, reported for 99.8% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.
| High school GPA | Share of enrolled students |
|---|---|
| 4.0 | 58.8% |
| 3.75–3.99 | 34.6% |
| 3.50–3.74 | 4.9% |
| 3.25–3.49 | 1% |
| 3.00–3.24 | 0.4% |
| 2.50–2.99 | 0.2% |
| 2.00–2.49 | 0.1% |
What is the UCLA waitlist really like?
UCLA offered a place on its waiting list to 20,563 applicants and 13,612 accepted one. 1,514 were ultimately admitted. That is 11.1% of those who waited.
Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?
UCLA admitted 23.4% of 28,487 transfer applicants, against 9.4% of first-year applicants. For a student who does not get in at eighteen, the transfer route is a genuinely wider door and worth planning for deliberately. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.4.
When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?
UCLA reports its early rounds below.
| Regular application deadline | Not reported |
|---|---|
| Decisions released | Not reported |
| Reply / deposit deadline | Not reported |
| Early Decision offered | Not reported |
| Early Action offered | Not reported |
| Application fee | $70 |
| Fee waiver available | Yes |
| Deferred admission offered | Not reported |
What does my child need to take in high school?
UCLA requires 15 academic units and recommends 18.
| Subject | Required | Recommended |
|---|---|---|
| English | 4 years | 4 years |
| Mathematics | 3 years | 4 years |
| Science | 2 years | 3 years |
| of which lab science | 2 years | Not stated |
| Foreign language | 2 years | 3 years |
| History | 2 years | Not stated |
| Visual / performing arts | 1 year | Not stated |
What will UCLA actually cost us?
Families pay an average of $12,548 a year at UCLA after grants and scholarships. The published price is not what most families pay.
What families at each income level actually paid:
| Family income | Average net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $5,579 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $6,682 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $9,811 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $14,142 |
| Over $110,000 | $29,682 |
, which the federal data puts at about $148 a month in repayment UCLA’s net price calculator gives your own figure.
Does a degree from UCLA pay off?
Graduates earn a median $82,511 ten years after entering, and $59,063 at six years. 85% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 79% are actively paying down their loans three years in.
Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:
| Family income | Four-year net cost | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $22,316 | 0.6 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $26,728 | 0.7 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $39,244 | 1.0 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $56,568 | 1.5 |
| Over $110,000 | $118,728 | 3.1 |
A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.
$191,628 to $28,993, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at UCLA:
| Major | Median earnings, 5 years | Graduates a year |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Engineering | $191,628 | 96 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | $127,528 | 142 |
| Economics | $100,784 | 861 |
| Applied Mathematics | $95,647 | 347 |
| Statistics | $94,154 | 228 |
| Mathematics | $91,295 | 193 |
| Neurobiology and Neurosciences | $79,689 | 192 |
| Research and Experimental Psychology | $78,384 | 383 |
| Cognitive Science | $78,267 | 223 |
| Anthropology | $55,070 | 208 |
| Literature | $36,428 | 28 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | $28,993 | 71 |
College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.
Will my child actually graduate?
97% of first-years return for a second year. 93% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 89.8% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 94.3% of everyone else, a gap of 4.5 points.
How big are the classes?
46% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 13% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 20:1, and 75% of faculty are full-time. Both are true at once: 13% of sections seat 100 or more, and those are the introductory lectures. Accredited by Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission.
What is life at UCLA like?
33,534 undergraduates, 15% of first-years from out of state. 98.9% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 41.8% across all undergraduates. 38% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $72,896.
UCLA guarantees four consecutive years of university housing to incoming first-years and two years to transfer students, the first such commitment among the nine UC undergraduate campuses. Newly admitted first-years must submit the housing application by 1 May. The campus added roughly 5,300 beds over five years to make it possible.
Source: UCLA becomes first UC to guarantee all undergraduates campus housing, UCLA Newsroom
UCLA holds 127 NCAA team championships, among the most of any university. Men’s basketball alone has won 11 and men’s water polo 12. Its athletic alumni include Jackie Robinson, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Jackie Joyner-Kersee.
How is UCLA ranked, and how strong is the alumni network?
UCLA is ranked #2 for public universities in the U.S. News Best Colleges 2026. Its full set of published positions, including the ones that are less flattering:
| Ranking | Position |
|---|---|
| U.S. News Best Colleges 2026, public universities | #2 |
| U.S. News Best Colleges 2026, national universities | #17 |
| U.S. News Best Colleges 2026, social mobility | #30 |
Shown in full, including the less flattering ones.
Source: University of California: UC is the best public university in the 2026 U.S. News rankings
The UCLA Alumni Association serves close to half a million living alumni, offering scholarships, career programming and regional Bruin networks worldwide.
Source: Who We Are, UCLA Alumni
What this means for your student
- Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten. UCLA recommends 18 academic units.
- 59% of enrolled students are at a 4.0 GPA or above, averaging 3.94. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
- Do not spend money on test preparation for UCLA: scores are not read even if you send them.
- Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
- The waitlist is live but thin: 1,514 of 13,612 who waited were admitted, about 11%.
- If the first-year answer is no, the transfer route is genuinely wider here and worth planning for from the first semester of college.
- Its highest-earning major returns $191,628 five years out against $28,993 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
- See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.
Common questions about UCLA
What GPA do you need for UCLA?
59% of enrolled students at UCLA had a high school GPA of 4.0 or above, and the average was 3.94, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.
Does the UCLA waitlist move?
13,612 students accepted a place on the UCLA waiting list and 1,514 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.
What do UCLA graduates earn?
UCLA graduates earn a median $82,511 ten years after entering, and 85% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.
Where these numbers come from
Admissions figures: UCLA’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-07. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.