KU: the complete school report for parents
KU puts the most weight on GPA. It does not consider legacy, demonstrated interest and the interview, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 92.6% admit rate and 59% of enrolled students at a 3.75 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration graduates earn a median $139,238 against $34,492 for Fine and Studio Arts.
KU is officially University of Kansas, also known as Kansas Jayhawks or Kansas Univ. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.
Is KU a reach, target or safety for your student?
Enter a GPA and course load and the calculator places KU against the figures above. No account needed.
What does KU actually weigh in admissions?
KU rates 1 of the 18 factors "Very Important": GPA. It does not consider 16 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is KU's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.
| Factor | How KU rates it |
|---|---|
| course rigor | Not Considered |
| GPA | Very Important |
| test scores | Considered |
| the essay | Not Considered |
| extracurricular activities | Not Considered |
| recommendations | Not Considered |
| personal qualities | Not Considered |
| talent | Not Considered |
| class rank | Not Considered |
| demonstrated interest | Not Considered |
| the interview | Not Considered |
| legacy | Not Considered |
| first-generation status | Not Considered |
| geography | Not Considered |
| state residency | Not Considered |
| volunteer work | Not Considered |
| work experience | Not Considered |
| religious affiliation | Not Considered |
Does KU consider how hard my child’s courses were?
No. KU does not consider it.
Does KU consider GPA?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors.
Does KU consider SAT or ACT scores?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does KU consider the application essay?
No. KU does not consider it.
Does KU consider extracurricular activities?
No. KU does not consider it.
Does KU consider recommendation letters?
No. KU does not consider it.
Does KU consider character and personal qualities?
No. KU does not consider it.
Does KU consider a special talent or ability?
No. KU does not consider it.
Does KU consider class rank?
No. KU does not consider it. A school that does not rank its students is not a disadvantage.
Does KU consider demonstrated interest?
No. KU does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.
Does KU consider an interview?
No. KU does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.
Does KU consider legacy status?
No. KU does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.
Does KU consider being first-generation?
No. KU does not consider it.
Does KU consider where we live?
No. KU does not consider it.
Does KU consider state residency?
No. KU does not consider it.
Does KU consider volunteer work?
No. KU does not consider it.
Does KU consider work experience?
No. KU does not consider it.
Does KU consider religious affiliation?
No. KU does not consider it.
What GPA do admitted students actually have?
59% of enrolled students had a 3.75 GPA or above. The average was 3.71 on a 4.0 scale, reported for 98% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.
| High school GPA | Share of enrolled students |
|---|---|
| 4.0 | 38% |
| 3.75–3.99 | 21% |
| 3.50–3.74 | 17% |
| 3.25–3.49 | 12% |
| 3.00–3.24 | 7% |
| 2.50–2.99 | 4% |
| 2.00–2.49 | 1% |
Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?
KU admitted 84.4% of 2,337 transfer applicants, against 92.6% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.5.
When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?
KU offers neither Early Decision nor Early Action, so there is no early round to strategize about and every applicant is read in one pool.
| Regular application deadline | One week before classes start |
|---|---|
| Decisions released | On a rolling basis beginning in July |
| Reply / deposit deadline | May 1 |
| Early Decision offered | No |
| Early Action offered | No |
| Application fee | $40 |
| Fee waiver available | Yes |
| Deferred admission offered | Yes |
What does my child need to take in high school?
KU sets no fixed course requirements, but recommends 16 academic units. A college-preparatory program is recommended. A GED is accepted.
| Subject | Required | Recommended |
|---|---|---|
| English | Not stated | 4 years |
| Mathematics | Not stated | 4 years |
| Science | Not stated | 3 years |
| Foreign language | Not stated | 2 years |
What will KU actually cost us?
Families pay an average of $18,059 a year at KU after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $11,298. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 78.4% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 2,410 merit awards averaging $8,333 to first-years with no demonstrated need.
What families at each income level actually paid:
| Family income | Average net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $12,544 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $12,942 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $15,154 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $19,169 |
| Over $110,000 | $22,544 |
47% of KU graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $27,051 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $223 a month in repayment. KU’s net price calculator gives your own figure.
Does a degree from KU pay off?
Graduates earn a median $61,945 ten years after entering, and $51,217 at six years. 83% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 66% are actively paying down their loans three years in.
Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:
| Family income | Four-year net cost | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $50,176 | 2.8 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $51,768 | 2.9 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $60,616 | 3.4 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $76,676 | 4.3 |
| Over $110,000 | $90,176 | 5.0 |
A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.
$139,238 to $34,492, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at KU:
| Major | Median earnings, 5 years | Graduates a year |
|---|---|---|
| Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration | $139,238 | 130 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | $98,959 | 21 |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | $94,912 | 143 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $94,190 | 95 |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | $90,997 | 209 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $85,307 | 116 |
| Marketing | $83,828 | 178 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | $82,749 | 196 |
| Accounting and Related Services | $79,167 | 173 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | $48,044 | 123 |
| Film/Video and Photographic Arts | $36,506 | 50 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | $34,492 | 43 |
College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.
Will my child actually graduate?
87% of first-years return for a second year. 70% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 58.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 75.0% of everyone else, a gap of 17.0 points.
How big are the classes?
39% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 8% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 18:1, and 78% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Higher Learning Commission.
What is life at KU like?
22,544 undergraduates, 39% of first-years from out of state. 71% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 25% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 14% of men join a fraternity and 28% of women a sorority. 22% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $70,891.
What this means for your student
- 59% of enrolled students are at a 3.75 GPA or above, averaging 3.71. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
- Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
- Its highest-earning major returns $139,238 five years out against $34,492 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
- See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.
Common questions about KU
What GPA do you need for KU?
59% of enrolled students at KU had a high school GPA of 3.75 or above, and the average was 3.71, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.
What do KU graduates earn?
KU graduates earn a median $61,945 ten years after entering, and 83% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.
Other schools families compare with KU
Where these numbers come from
Admissions figures: KU’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.