University of Montana: the complete school report for parents
University of Montana puts the most weight on course rigor and GPA. The academic record does most of the work. It does not consider test scores, legacy and demonstrated interest, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 95.2% admit rate and 54% of enrolled students at a 3.50 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Management Information Systems and Services graduates earn a median $103,587 against $24,639 for Fine and Studio Arts.
University of Montana is officially University of Montana. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.
What does University of Montana actually weigh in admissions?
University of Montana rates 2 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA. It does not consider 13 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is University of Montana's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.
| Factor | How University of Montana rates it |
|---|---|
| course rigor | Very Important |
| GPA | Very Important |
| test scores | Not Considered |
| the essay | Not Considered |
| extracurricular activities | Important |
| recommendations | Not Considered |
| personal qualities | Not Considered |
| talent | Important |
| class rank | Considered |
| demonstrated interest | Not Considered |
| the interview | Not Considered |
| legacy | Not Considered |
| first-generation status | Not Considered |
| geography | Not Considered |
| state residency | Not Considered |
| volunteer work | Not Considered |
| work experience | Not Considered |
| religious affiliation | Not Considered |
Does University of Montana consider how hard my child’s courses were?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
Does University of Montana consider GPA?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors.
Does University of Montana consider SAT or ACT scores?
No. University of Montana does not consider it. Scores are not read even if you send them, so testing budget is better spent elsewhere.
Does University of Montana consider the application essay?
No. University of Montana does not consider it.
Does University of Montana consider extracurricular activities?
Yes. It is an important factor.
Does University of Montana consider recommendation letters?
No. University of Montana does not consider it.
Does University of Montana consider character and personal qualities?
No. University of Montana does not consider it.
Does University of Montana consider a special talent or ability?
Yes. It is an important factor.
Does University of Montana consider class rank?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does University of Montana consider demonstrated interest?
No. University of Montana does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.
Does University of Montana consider an interview?
No. University of Montana does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.
Does University of Montana consider legacy status?
No. University of Montana does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.
Does University of Montana consider being first-generation?
No. University of Montana does not consider it.
Does University of Montana consider where we live?
No. University of Montana does not consider it.
Does University of Montana consider state residency?
No. University of Montana does not consider it.
Does University of Montana consider volunteer work?
No. University of Montana does not consider it.
Does University of Montana consider work experience?
No. University of Montana does not consider it.
Does University of Montana consider religious affiliation?
No. University of Montana does not consider it.
What GPA do admitted students actually have?
54% of enrolled students had a 3.50 GPA or above. The average was 3.41 on a 4 scale, reported for 95% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.
| High school GPA | Share of enrolled students |
|---|---|
| 4.0 | 13% |
| 3.75–3.99 | 22% |
| 3.50–3.74 | 19% |
| 3.25–3.49 | 13% |
| 3.00–3.24 | 12% |
| 2.50–2.99 | 13% |
| 2.00–2.49 | 7% |
Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?
University of Montana admitted 81.0% of 1,578 transfer applicants, against 95.2% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.
When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?
University of Montana offers neither Early Decision nor Early Action, so there is no early round to strategize about and every applicant is read in one pool.
| Regular application deadline | August 31 |
|---|---|
| Decisions released | July 1 |
| Reply / deposit deadline | Not reported |
| Early Decision offered | No |
| Early Action offered | No |
| Application fee | $30 |
| Fee waiver available | No |
| Deferred admission offered | Yes |
What will University of Montana actually cost us?
Families pay an average of $16,784 a year at University of Montana after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $9,694. The published price is not what most families pay.
What families at each income level actually paid:
| Family income | Average net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $13,960 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $14,892 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $17,180 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $19,269 |
| Over $110,000 | $20,930 |
, which the federal data puts at about $237 a month in repayment University of Montana’s net price calculator gives your own figure.
Does a degree from University of Montana pay off?
Graduates earn a median $44,511 ten years after entering, and $35,729 at six years. 66% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 58% are actively paying down their loans three years in.
Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:
| Family income | Four-year net cost | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $55,840 | 109.3 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $59,568 | 116.6 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $68,720 | 134.5 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $77,076 | 150.8 |
| Over $110,000 | $83,720 | 163.8 |
A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.
$103,587 to $24,639, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at University of Montana:
| Major | Median earnings, 5 years | Graduates a year |
|---|---|---|
| Management Information Systems and Services | $103,587 | 67 |
| Accounting and Related Services | $65,257 | 23 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $63,873 | 46 |
| Political Science and Government | $57,400 | 30 |
| Biology, General | $51,573 | 59 |
| Communication and Media Studies | $47,859 | 55 |
| Sociology | $45,532 | 50 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | $43,594 | 57 |
| History | $42,045 | 33 |
| Journalism | $35,865 | 36 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | $30,513 | 19 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | $24,639 | 23 |
College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.
Will my child actually graduate?
77% of first-years return for a second year. 45% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 33.8% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 53.4% of everyone else, a gap of 19.6 points.
How big are the classes?
The student-faculty ratio is 17:1, and 69% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.
What is life at University of Montana like?
7,874 undergraduates, 41% of first-years from out of state. 85% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 42% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 6% of men join a fraternity and 6% of women a sorority. 30% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $50,573.
What this means for your student
- Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
- 54% of enrolled students are at a 3.50 GPA or above, averaging 3.41. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
- Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
- Its highest-earning major returns $103,587 five years out against $24,639 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
- See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.
Common questions about University of Montana
What GPA do you need for University of Montana?
54% of enrolled students at University of Montana had a high school GPA of 3.50 or above, and the average was 3.41, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.
What do University of Montana graduates earn?
University of Montana graduates earn a median $44,511 ten years after entering, and 66% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.
Other schools families compare with University of Montana
- UVMAdmissions report · 73.0% admit rate
- URIAdmissions report · 74.6% admit rate
- UAFAdmissions report · 64.2% admit rate
- San Jose State UniversityAdmissions report · 80.4% admit rate
- Sacramento StateAdmissions report · 93.6% admit rate
- SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony BrookAdmissions report · 48.2% admit rate
Where these numbers come from
Admissions figures: University of Montana’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.
How to read these numbers · Back to the University of Montana profile