SJSU: the complete school report for parents
SJSU puts the most weight on GPA. It does not consider test scores, legacy and demonstrated interest, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With an 80.4% admit rate and 55% of enrolled students at a 3.50 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are not part of the picture. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Computer Science graduates earn a median $160,714 against $45,848 for Radio, Television, and Digital Communication.
SJSU is officially San Jose State University, also known as San Jose State. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.
Is SJSU a reach, target or safety for your student?
Enter a GPA and course load and the calculator places SJSU against the figures above. No account needed.
What does SJSU actually weigh in admissions?
SJSU rates 1 of the 18 factors "Very Important": GPA. It does not consider 14 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is SJSU's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.
| Factor | How SJSU rates it |
|---|---|
| course rigor | Not Considered |
| GPA | Very Important |
| test scores | Not Considered |
| the essay | Not Considered |
| extracurricular activities | Not Considered |
| recommendations | Not Considered |
| personal qualities | Not Considered |
| talent | Not Considered |
| class rank | Not Considered |
| demonstrated interest | Not Considered |
| the interview | Not Considered |
| legacy | Not Considered |
| first-generation status | Considered |
| geography | Important |
| state residency | Important |
| volunteer work | Not Considered |
| work experience | Not Considered |
| religious affiliation | Not Considered |
Does SJSU consider how hard my child’s courses were?
No. SJSU does not consider it.
Does SJSU consider GPA?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors.
Does SJSU consider SAT or ACT scores?
No. SJSU is test-blind, so SAT and ACT scores are not read even if you send them.
Does SJSU consider the application essay?
No. SJSU does not consider it.
Does SJSU consider extracurricular activities?
No. SJSU does not consider it.
Does SJSU consider recommendation letters?
No. SJSU does not consider it.
Does SJSU consider character and personal qualities?
No. SJSU does not consider it.
Does SJSU consider a special talent or ability?
No. SJSU does not consider it.
Does SJSU consider class rank?
No. SJSU does not consider it. A school that does not rank its students is not a disadvantage.
Does SJSU consider demonstrated interest?
No. SJSU does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.
Does SJSU consider an interview?
No. SJSU does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.
Does SJSU consider legacy status?
No. SJSU does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.
Does SJSU consider being first-generation?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.
Does SJSU consider where we live?
Yes. It is an important factor.
Does SJSU consider state residency?
Yes. It is an important factor.
Does SJSU consider volunteer work?
No. SJSU does not consider it.
Does SJSU consider work experience?
No. SJSU does not consider it.
Does SJSU consider religious affiliation?
No. SJSU does not consider it.
What GPA do admitted students actually have?
55% of enrolled students had a 3.50 GPA or above. The average was 3.5 on a 4 scale, reported for 99.41% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.
| High school GPA | Share of enrolled students |
|---|---|
| 4.0 | 17.1% |
| 3.75–3.99 | 17.6% |
| 3.50–3.74 | 20% |
| 3.25–3.49 | 18.6% |
| 3.00–3.24 | 13.4% |
| 2.50–2.99 | 12.8% |
| 2.00–2.49 | 0.5% |
Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?
SJSU admitted 82.9% of 9,242 transfer applicants, against 80.4% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.
When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?
SJSU offers neither Early Decision nor Early Action, so there is no early round to strategize about and every applicant is read in one pool.
| Regular application deadline | November 30 |
|---|---|
| Decisions released | February 15 |
| Reply / deposit deadline | May 1 |
| Early Decision offered | No |
| Early Action offered | No |
| Application fee | $70 |
| Fee waiver available | Yes |
| Deferred admission offered | No |
What does my child need to take in high school?
SJSU requires 15 academic units and recommends 17. A college-preparatory program is required. A GED is accepted.
| Subject | Required | Recommended |
|---|---|---|
| English | 4 years | 4 years |
| Mathematics | 3 years | 4 years |
| Science | 2 years | 3 years |
| of which lab science | 2 years | Not stated |
| Foreign language | 2 years | 2 years |
| History | 1 year | Not stated |
| Visual / performing arts | 1 year | Not stated |
What will SJSU actually cost us?
Families pay an average of $13,760 a year at SJSU after grants and scholarships. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 93% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 72 merit awards averaging $2,879 to first-years with no demonstrated need.
What families at each income level actually paid:
| Family income | Average net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $9,730 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $10,114 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $12,099 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $15,102 |
| Over $110,000 | $22,862 |
27% of SJSU graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $18,371 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $159 a month in repayment. SJSU’s net price calculator gives your own figure.
Does a degree from SJSU pay off?
Graduates earn a median $78,988 ten years after entering, and $62,448 at six years. 83% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 74% are actively paying down their loans three years in.
Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:
| Family income | Four-year net cost | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $38,920 | 1.1 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $40,456 | 1.2 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $48,396 | 1.4 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $60,408 | 1.7 |
| Over $110,000 | $91,448 | 2.6 |
A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.
$160,714 to $45,848, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at SJSU:
| Major | Median earnings, 5 years | Graduates a year |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | $160,714 | 288 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | $155,843 | 167 |
| Computer Engineering | $143,080 | 248 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | $119,589 | 99 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $112,360 | 166 |
| Civil Engineering | $106,415 | 101 |
| Design and Applied Arts | $93,917 | 229 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $82,407 | 1,710 |
| Biology, General | $79,095 | 182 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | $56,424 | 197 |
| Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities | $55,764 | 56 |
| Radio, Television, and Digital Communication | $45,848 | 70 |
College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.
Will my child actually graduate?
89% of first-years return for a second year. 68% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 63.1% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 73.4% of everyone else, a gap of 10.3 points.
How big are the classes?
16% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 3% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 25:1, and 44% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission.
What is life at SJSU like?
29,890 undergraduates, 1.57% of first-years from out of state. 47.04% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 16.81% across all undergraduates. 49% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $88,589.
What this means for your student
- 55% of enrolled students are at a 3.50 GPA or above, averaging 3.5. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
- Do not spend money on test preparation for SJSU: scores are not read even if you send them.
- Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
- Its highest-earning major returns $160,714 five years out against $45,848 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
- See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.
Common questions about SJSU
What GPA do you need for SJSU?
55% of enrolled students at SJSU had a high school GPA of 3.50 or above, and the average was 3.5, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.
What do SJSU graduates earn?
SJSU graduates earn a median $78,988 ten years after entering, and 83% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.
Other schools families compare with SJSU
Where these numbers come from
Admissions figures: SJSU’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.