TCNJ: the complete school report for parents

TCNJ rates 5 of the 18 admission factors Very Important, among them course rigor, extracurricular activities and class rank. A second tier of GPA, the essay and recommendations carries real weight too. It does not consider legacy and the interview, so family connections carry no weight. TCNJ admits about half to three-quarters of applicants, and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Applying Early Decision changes the odds sharply here: 76.8% of ED applicants were admitted against 61.5% overall.

TCNJ is officially College of New Jersey. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
61.5%
12,793 applicants
GPA of admits
Not reported
Admitted off waitlist
12
of 20 who waited
Transfer admit rate
71.4%
1,038 applied
Net price (average)
$27,646
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$73,323
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
85%
74% in four
Freshmen who return
90%

What does TCNJ actually weigh in admissions?

TCNJ rates 5 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, extracurricular activities, class rank, demonstrated interest, volunteer work. It does not consider 3 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is TCNJ's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

TCNJ admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow TCNJ rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAImportant
test scoresConsidered
the essayImportant
extracurricular activitiesVery Important
recommendationsImportant
personal qualitiesImportant
talentImportant
class rankVery Important
demonstrated interestVery Important
the interviewNot Considered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyImportant
state residencyImportant
volunteer workVery Important
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does TCNJ consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does TCNJ consider GPA?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does TCNJ consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does TCNJ consider the application essay?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does TCNJ consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does TCNJ consider recommendation letters?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does TCNJ consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does TCNJ consider a special talent or ability?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does TCNJ consider class rank?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does TCNJ consider demonstrated interest?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. Visits, emails and opened mail are tracked and counted, so engage early.

Does TCNJ consider an interview?

No. TCNJ does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does TCNJ consider legacy status?

No. TCNJ does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does TCNJ consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does TCNJ consider where we live?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does TCNJ consider state residency?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does TCNJ consider volunteer work?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does TCNJ consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does TCNJ consider religious affiliation?

No. TCNJ does not consider it.

What is the TCNJ waitlist really like?

TCNJ offered a place on its waiting list to 543 applicants and 20 accepted one. 12 were ultimately admitted. That is 60.0% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

TCNJ admitted 71.4% of 1,038 transfer applicants, against 61.5% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.5.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Applying Early Decision changes the odds materially: 76.8% of ED applicants were admitted against 61.5% overall, a gap of 15 points. ED is binding, so that advantage costs the ability to compare financial-aid offers.

TCNJ application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineFebruary 1
Decisions releasedApril 1
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 1
Early Action offeredYes
Early Action deadlineNovember 1
Application fee$65
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

TCNJ requires 18 academic units and recommends 20. A college-preparatory program is required. A GED is accepted.

TCNJ high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 years4 years
Mathematics4 years4 years
Science4 years4 years
Foreign language2 years2 years

What will TCNJ actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $27,646 a year at TCNJ after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $15,906. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 40.8% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 311 merit awards averaging null to first-years with no demonstrated need.

What families at each income level actually paid:

TCNJ average net price by family income
Family incomeAverage net price per year
Under $30,000$7,908
$30,000–$48,000$14,028
$48,000–$75,000$22,642
$75,000–$110,000$30,942
Over $110,000$35,222

51% of TCNJ graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $29,079 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $246 a month in repayment. TCNJ’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from TCNJ pay off?

Graduates earn a median $73,323 ten years after entering, and $62,649 at six years. 90% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 84% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:

Years for TCNJ earnings premium to cover four years of net cost
Family incomeFour-year net costYears to pay back
Under $30,000$31,6321.1
$30,000–$48,000$56,1121.9
$48,000–$75,000$90,5683.1
$75,000–$110,000$123,7684.2
Over $110,000$140,8884.8

A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.

$105,889 to $56,001, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at TCNJ:

TCNJ median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Computer and Information Sciences, General$105,88944
Business Administration, Management and Operations$98,541261
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$98,40169
Accounting and Related Services$98,33161
Mechanical Engineering$84,25351
Political Science and Government$79,47647
Mathematics$77,17260
Biology, General$72,463118
Communication and Media Studies$72,09180
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$58,713104
English Language and Literature, General$56,41544
Fine and Studio Arts$56,00158

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

90% of first-years return for a second year. 74% graduate within four years and 85% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 80.6% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 87.9% of everyone else, a gap of 7.3 points.

How big are the classes?

36% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 0% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 14:1, and 49% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

What is life at TCNJ like?

7,433 undergraduates, 5% of first-years from out of state. 84% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 44% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 16% of men join a fraternity and 19% of women a sorority. 21% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $86,752.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten. TCNJ recommends 20 academic units.
  • Early Decision is worth 15 points of admit rate, but it is binding and removes any ability to compare aid offers.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 12 of 20 who waited were admitted, about 60%.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $105,889 five years out against $56,001 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about TCNJ

Does the TCNJ waitlist move?

20 students accepted a place on the TCNJ waiting list and 12 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do TCNJ graduates earn?

TCNJ graduates earn a median $73,323 ten years after entering, and 90% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with TCNJ

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: TCNJ’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the TCNJ profile