Gettysburg College: the complete school report for parents

Gettysburg College rates 4 of the 18 admission factors Very Important, among them course rigor, GPA and the essay. A second tier of test scores, extracurricular activities and personal qualities carries real weight too. It does not consider legacy, so family connections carry no weight. Gettysburg College admits between a quarter and half of applicants, and scores are optional but help when they are strong.

Gettysburg College is officially Gettysburg College. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
40.1%
7,928 applicants
GPA of admits
Not reported
Admitted off waitlist
33
of 345 who waited
Transfer admit rate
44.4%
99 applied
Net price (average)
$31,490
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$71,517
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
79%
74% in four
Freshmen who return
91%

What does Gettysburg College actually weigh in admissions?

Gettysburg College rates 4 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, the essay, recommendations. It does not consider 3 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Gettysburg College's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

Gettysburg College admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow Gettysburg College rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresImportant
the essayVery Important
extracurricular activitiesImportant
recommendationsVery Important
personal qualitiesImportant
talentImportant
class rankImportant
demonstrated interestConsidered
the interviewImportant
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyNot Considered
volunteer workImportant
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does Gettysburg College consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does Gettysburg College consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Gettysburg College consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Gettysburg College consider the application essay?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The essay is doing as much work as the transcript.

Does Gettysburg College consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Gettysburg College consider recommendation letters?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Gettysburg College consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Gettysburg College consider a special talent or ability?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Gettysburg College consider class rank?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Gettysburg College consider demonstrated interest?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Gettysburg College consider an interview?

Yes. It is an important factor. Offer to interview if invited; it carries real weight here.

Does Gettysburg College consider legacy status?

No. Gettysburg College does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does Gettysburg College consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does Gettysburg College consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Gettysburg College consider state residency?

No. Gettysburg College does not consider it.

Does Gettysburg College consider volunteer work?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Gettysburg College consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Gettysburg College consider religious affiliation?

No. Gettysburg College does not consider it.

What is the Gettysburg College waitlist really like?

Gettysburg College offered a place on its waiting list to 923 applicants and 345 accepted one. 33 were ultimately admitted. That is 9.6% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

Gettysburg College admitted 44.4% of 99 transfer applicants, against 40.1% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Gettysburg College reports its early rounds below.

Gettysburg College application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineNot reported
Decisions releasedNot reported
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 15
Early Decision II offeredYes
Early Decision II deadlineJanuary 15
Early Action offeredYes
Early Action deadlineDecember 1
Application fee$60
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What will Gettysburg College actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $31,490 a year at Gettysburg College after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $71,730. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 90% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 75 merit awards averaging $41,099 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

68% of Gettysburg College graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $36,243 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $286 a month in repayment. Gettysburg College’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from Gettysburg College pay off?

Graduates earn a median $71,517 ten years after entering, and $57,274 at six years. 88% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 90% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

$103,735 to $51,857, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at Gettysburg College:

Gettysburg College median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Economics$103,73574
Business Administration, Management and Operations$102,36969
Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences$86,15066
Political Science and Government$79,44476
Biology, General$61,40342
English Language and Literature, General$58,13034
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$52,64729
History$51,85742

College Scorecard, by field of study.

Will my child actually graduate?

91% of first-years return for a second year. 74% graduate within four years and 79% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 82.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 76.0% of everyone else, a gap of -6.0 points.

How big are the classes?

65% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 0% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 10:1, and 81% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

What is life at Gettysburg College like?

1,993 undergraduates, 69% of first-years from out of state. Greek life is small: 26% of men join a fraternity and 32% of women a sorority. 14% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $84,885.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 33 of 345 who waited were admitted, about 10%.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $103,735 five years out against $51,857 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about Gettysburg College

Does the Gettysburg College waitlist move?

345 students accepted a place on the Gettysburg College waiting list and 33 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do Gettysburg College graduates earn?

Gettysburg College graduates earn a median $71,517 ten years after entering, and 88% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with Gettysburg College

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: Gettysburg College’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the Gettysburg College profile