UO: the complete school report for parents

UO puts the most weight on course rigor and GPA. The academic record does most of the work. It does not consider legacy, demonstrated interest and the interview, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With an 87.4% admit rate and 53% of enrolled students at a 3.75 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Computer and Information Sciences, General graduates earn a median $114,332 against $30,736 for Fine and Studio Arts.

UO is officially University of Oregon. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
87.4%
41,368 applicants
GPA of admits
3.75+
53% at or above
Admitted off waitlist
422
of 827 who waited
Transfer admit rate
67.9%
2,792 applied
Net price (average)
$22,182
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$61,324
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
71%
57% in four
Freshmen who return
86%

What does UO actually weigh in admissions?

UO rates 2 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA. It does not consider 4 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is UO's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

UO admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow UO rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayImportant
extracurricular activitiesConsidered
recommendationsConsidered
personal qualitiesConsidered
talentConsidered
class rankConsidered
demonstrated interestNot Considered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyConsidered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does UO consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does UO consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does UO consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does UO consider the application essay?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does UO consider extracurricular activities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does UO consider recommendation letters?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does UO consider character and personal qualities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does UO consider a special talent or ability?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does UO consider class rank?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does UO consider demonstrated interest?

No. UO does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.

Does UO consider an interview?

No. UO does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does UO consider legacy status?

No. UO does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does UO consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does UO consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does UO consider state residency?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does UO consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does UO consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does UO consider religious affiliation?

No. UO does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

53% of enrolled students had a 3.75 GPA or above. The average was 3.73 on a 4 scale, reported for 99.96% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

UO high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.032.75%
3.75–3.9920.31%
3.50–3.7417.36%
3.25–3.4914.02%
3.00–3.2410.41%
2.50–2.995.09%
2.00–2.490.06%

What is the UO waitlist really like?

UO offered a place on its waiting list to 1,941 applicants and 827 accepted one. 422 were ultimately admitted. That is 51.0% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

UO admitted 67.9% of 2,792 transfer applicants, against 87.4% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

UO reports its early rounds below.

UO application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJanuary 15
Decisions releasedApril 1
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredNo
Early Action offeredYes
Early Action deadlineNovember 1
Application fee$65
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

UO requires 15 academic units. A college-preparatory program is required. A GED is accepted.

UO high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 yearsNot stated
Mathematics3 yearsNot stated
Science3 yearsNot stated
Foreign language2 yearsNot stated

What will UO actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $22,182 a year at UO after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $14,532. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 54% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 1,470 merit awards averaging $8,854 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

What families at each income level actually paid:

UO average net price by family income
Family incomeAverage net price per year
Under $30,000$15,909
$30,000–$48,000$15,760
$48,000–$75,000$18,364
$75,000–$110,000$24,704
Over $110,000$31,021

40% of UO graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $26,691 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $214 a month in repayment. UO’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from UO pay off?

Graduates earn a median $61,324 ten years after entering, and $46,084 at six years. 79% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 62% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:

Years for UO earnings premium to cover four years of net cost
Family incomeFour-year net costYears to pay back
Under $30,000$63,6363.7
$30,000–$48,000$63,0403.6
$48,000–$75,000$73,4564.2
$75,000–$110,000$98,8165.7
Over $110,000$124,0847.2

A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.

$114,332 to $30,736, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at UO:

UO median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Computer and Information Sciences, General$114,33280
Accounting and Related Services$90,54595
Business/Commerce, General$79,314535
Economics$77,115188
Biological and Physical Sciences$72,76284
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$71,111470
Political Science and Government$69,621194
Physiology, Pathology and Related Sciences$68,297197
Social Sciences, General$63,907236
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$35,90576
Philosophy$34,38336
Fine and Studio Arts$30,736131

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

86% of first-years return for a second year. 57% graduate within four years and 71% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 61.5% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 74.5% of everyone else, a gap of 13.0 points.

How big are the classes?

30% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 11% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 19:1, and 71% of faculty are full-time. Both are true at once: 11% of sections seat 100 or more, and those are the introductory lectures. Accredited by Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.

What is life at UO like?

20,710 undergraduates, 49.22% of first-years from out of state. 94% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 27% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 19% of men join a fraternity and 18% of women a sorority. 28% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $62,294.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
  • 53% of enrolled students are at a 3.75 GPA or above, averaging 3.73. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 422 of 827 who waited were admitted, about 51%.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $114,332 five years out against $30,736 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about UO

What GPA do you need for UO?

53% of enrolled students at UO had a high school GPA of 3.75 or above, and the average was 3.73, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

Does the UO waitlist move?

827 students accepted a place on the UO waiting list and 422 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do UO graduates earn?

UO graduates earn a median $61,324 ten years after entering, and 79% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with UO

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: UO’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the UO profile