Austin College: the complete school report for parents

Austin College puts the most weight on course rigor and GPA. The academic record does most of the work. It does not consider legacy and demonstrated interest, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 47.7% admit rate and 76% of enrolled students at a 3.50 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong.

Austin College is officially Austin College. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
47.7%
5,826 applicants
GPA of admits
3.50+
76% at or above
Testing
Test-optional
Transfer admit rate
47.6%
250 applied
Net price (average)
$21,107
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$61,296
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
66%
61% in four
Freshmen who return
80%

What does Austin College actually weigh in admissions?

Austin College rates 2 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA. It does not consider 5 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Austin College's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

Austin College admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow Austin College rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayImportant
extracurricular activitiesImportant
recommendationsConsidered
personal qualitiesConsidered
talentConsidered
class rankConsidered
demonstrated interestNot Considered
the interviewConsidered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyNot Considered
state residencyNot Considered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does Austin College consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does Austin College consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Austin College consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Austin College consider the application essay?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Austin College consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Austin College consider recommendation letters?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Austin College consider character and personal qualities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Austin College consider a special talent or ability?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Austin College consider class rank?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Austin College consider demonstrated interest?

No. Austin College does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.

Does Austin College consider an interview?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Austin College consider legacy status?

No. Austin College does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does Austin College consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does Austin College consider where we live?

No. Austin College does not consider it.

Does Austin College consider state residency?

No. Austin College does not consider it.

Does Austin College consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Austin College consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Austin College consider religious affiliation?

No. Austin College does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

76% of enrolled students had a 3.50 GPA or above. The average was 3.67 on a 4 scale, reported for 99.43% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

Austin College high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.08.62%
3.75–3.9937.07%
3.50–3.7430.75%
3.25–3.4917.53%
3.00–3.244.31%
2.50–2.991.44%
2.00–2.490.28%

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

Austin College admitted 47.6% of 250 transfer applicants, against 47.7% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Austin College reports its early rounds below.

Austin College application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineMarch 1
Decisions releasedRolling beginning 11/15
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredNo
Early Action offeredYes
Early Action deadlineNovember 1
Application fee$0
Fee waiver availableNot reported
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

Austin College requires 15 academic units and recommends 20. A college-preparatory program is recommended. A GED is accepted.

Austin College high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 years4 years
Mathematics3 years4 years
Science3 years4 years
of which lab science1 yearNot stated
Foreign language2 years2 years
History0 yearsNot stated
Visual / performing arts1 yearNot stated

What will Austin College actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $21,107 a year at Austin College after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $51,308. The published price is not what most families pay.

, which the federal data puts at about $260 a month in repayment Austin College’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from Austin College pay off?

Graduates earn a median $61,296 ten years after entering, and $45,242 at six years. 78% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 73% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

$70,861 to $35,087, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at Austin College:

Austin College median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Business/Commerce, General$70,86144
Economics$67,93225
Biology, General$64,92733
Communication and Media Studies$61,36819
History$51,01020
Political Science and Government$47,82810
English Language and Literature, General$44,5847
Psychology, General$44,56839
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$35,08714

College Scorecard, by field of study.

Will my child actually graduate?

80% of first-years return for a second year. 61% graduate within four years and 66% within six (Fall 2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 63.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 70.0% of everyone else, a gap of 7.0 points.

How big are the classes?

62% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 0% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 11:1, and 87% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

What is life at Austin College like?

1,181 undergraduates, 9% of first-years from out of state. 93% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 86% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 6% of men join a fraternity and 23% of women a sorority. 23% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $74,623.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten. Austin College recommends 20 academic units.
  • 76% of enrolled students are at a 3.50 GPA or above, averaging 3.67. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $70,861 five years out against $35,087 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about Austin College

What GPA do you need for Austin College?

76% of enrolled students at Austin College had a high school GPA of 3.50 or above, and the average was 3.67, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

What do Austin College graduates earn?

Austin College graduates earn a median $61,296 ten years after entering, and 78% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with Austin College

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: Austin College’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the Austin College profile