Princeton: the complete school report for parents

Princeton rates 9 of the 18 admission factors Very Important, among them course rigor, GPA and test scores. This is a genuinely holistic review. It does not consider demonstrated interest, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 4.4% admit rate and 72% of enrolled students at a 4.0 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and a strong test score is close to expected. Princeton graduates Pell-grant students at 98.0% against 97.0% for everyone else, a gap most universities do not close.

Princeton is officially Princeton University. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
4.4%
42,303 applicants
GPA of admits
4.0+
72% at or above
Admitted off waitlist
36
of 1,086 who waited
Transfer admit rate
1.8%
2,274 applied
Net price (average)
$6,128
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$110,066
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
97%
73% in four
Freshmen who return
99%

What does Princeton actually weigh in admissions?

Princeton rates 9 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, test scores, the essay, extracurricular activities, recommendations, personal qualities, talent, class rank. It does not consider 3 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Princeton's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

Princeton admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow Princeton rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresVery Important
the essayVery Important
extracurricular activitiesVery Important
recommendationsVery Important
personal qualitiesVery Important
talentVery Important
class rankVery Important
demonstrated interestNot Considered
the interviewConsidered
legacyConsidered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyNot Considered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does Princeton consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does Princeton consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Princeton consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. A score at or above the middle-50 range is close to expected here.

Does Princeton consider the application essay?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The essay is doing as much work as the transcript.

Does Princeton consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Princeton consider recommendation letters?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Princeton consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Princeton consider a special talent or ability?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Princeton consider class rank?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Princeton consider demonstrated interest?

No. Princeton does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.

Does Princeton consider an interview?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Princeton consider legacy status?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. It can act as a tiebreaker but will not carry a weak application.

Does Princeton consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does Princeton consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Princeton consider state residency?

No. Princeton does not consider it.

Does Princeton consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Princeton consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Princeton consider religious affiliation?

No. Princeton does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

72% of enrolled students had a 4.0 GPA or above. The average was 3.96 on a 4 scale, reported for 99% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

Princeton high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.072%
3.75–3.9924%
3.50–3.743%
3.25–3.491%
3.00–3.24Not reported
2.50–2.99Not reported
2.00–2.49Not reported

What is the Princeton waitlist really like?

Princeton offered a place on its waiting list to 1,370 applicants and 1,086 accepted one. 36 were ultimately admitted. That is 3.3% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

Princeton admitted 1.8% of 2,274 transfer applicants, against 4.4% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Princeton reports its early rounds below.

Princeton application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJanuary 1
Decisions releasedApril 1
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredNo
Early Action offeredYes (Restrictive)
Early Action deadlineNovember 1
Application fee$75
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

Princeton sets no fixed course requirements, but recommends 21 academic units. A college-preparatory program is recommended. A GED is accepted.

Princeton high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
EnglishNot stated4 years
MathematicsNot stated4 years
ScienceNot stated4 years
Foreign languageNot stated4 years

What will Princeton actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $6,128 a year at Princeton after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $68,140. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 100% of demonstrated need on average.

11% of Princeton graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $21,251 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $109 a month in repayment. Princeton’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from Princeton pay off?

Graduates earn a median $110,066 ten years after entering, and $87,815 at six years. 90% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 86% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

Will my child actually graduate?

99% of first-years return for a second year. 73% graduate within four years and 97% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 98.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 97.0% of everyone else, a gap of -1.0 points.

How big are the classes?

72% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 4% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 5:1, and 87% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

What is life at Princeton like?

5,916 undergraduates, 84% of first-years from out of state. 100% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 94% across all undergraduates. 28% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $81,428.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten. Princeton recommends 21 academic units.
  • 72% of enrolled students are at a 4.0 GPA or above, averaging 3.96. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • Princeton rates test scores Very Important, so a score at or above its middle-50 range is close to expected rather than optional.
  • Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 36 of 1,086 who waited were admitted, about 3%.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about Princeton

What GPA do you need for Princeton?

72% of enrolled students at Princeton had a high school GPA of 4.0 or above, and the average was 3.96, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

Does the Princeton waitlist move?

1,086 students accepted a place on the Princeton waiting list and 36 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do Princeton graduates earn?

Princeton graduates earn a median $110,066 ten years after entering, and 90% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with Princeton

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: Princeton’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the Princeton profile