SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook: the complete school report for parents

SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook rates 4 of the 18 admission factors Very Important, among them course rigor, GPA and test scores. With a 48.2% admit rate and 70% of enrolled students at a 3.75 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and a strong test score is close to expected. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Computer Engineering graduates earn a median $128,966 against $33,435 for Fine and Studio Arts.

SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook is officially Stony Brook University, also known as Stony Brook. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
48.2%
64,197 applicants
GPA of admits
3.75+
70% at or above
Admitted off waitlist
3,462
of 5,191 who waited
Transfer admit rate
44.1%
7,021 applied
Net price (average)
$18,784
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$74,502
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
77%
Freshmen who return
89%

What does SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook actually weigh in admissions?

SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook rates 4 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, test scores, the essay. It does not consider 1 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresVery Important
the essayVery Important
extracurricular activitiesConsidered
recommendationsImportant
personal qualitiesConsidered
talentConsidered
class rankConsidered
demonstrated interestConsidered
the interviewConsidered
legacyConsidered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyConsidered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. A score at or above the middle-50 range is close to expected here.

Does SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook consider the application essay?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The essay is doing as much work as the transcript.

Does SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook consider extracurricular activities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook consider recommendation letters?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook consider character and personal qualities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook consider a special talent or ability?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook consider class rank?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook consider demonstrated interest?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook consider an interview?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook consider legacy status?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. It can act as a tiebreaker but will not carry a weak application.

Does SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook consider state residency?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook consider religious affiliation?

No. SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

70% of enrolled students had a 3.75 GPA or above. The average was 94.48 on a 100 scale, reported for 99.95% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.045.43%
3.75–3.9924.76%
3.50–3.7417.59%
3.25–3.497.75%
3.00–3.244.32%
2.50–2.990.13%
2.00–2.490.03%

What is the SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook waitlist really like?

SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook offered a place on its waiting list to 10,563 applicants and 5,191 accepted one. 3,462 were ultimately admitted. That is 66.7% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook admitted 44.1% of 7,021 transfer applicants, against 48.2% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.8.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook reports its early rounds below.

SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJanuary 15
Decisions releasedApril 1
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredNo
Early Action offeredYes
Early Action deadlineNovember 1
Application fee$50
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook requires 14 academic units and recommends 19. A college-preparatory program is recommended. A GED is accepted.

SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 years4 years
Mathematics3 years4 years
Science3 years4 years
Foreign languageNot stated3 years

What will SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $18,784 a year at SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $7,070. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 59.5% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 1,520 merit awards averaging $3,672 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

What families at each income level actually paid:

SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook average net price by family income
Family incomeAverage net price per year
Under $30,000$12,943
$30,000–$48,000$15,432
$48,000–$75,000$20,728
$75,000–$110,000$23,424
Over $110,000$27,716

46% of SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $25,283 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $193 a month in repayment. SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook pay off?

Graduates earn a median $74,502 ten years after entering, and $59,492 at six years. 85% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 72% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:

Years for SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook earnings premium to cover four years of net cost
Family incomeFour-year net costYears to pay back
Under $30,000$51,7721.7
$30,000–$48,000$61,7282.0
$48,000–$75,000$82,9122.7
$75,000–$110,000$93,6963.1
Over $110,000$110,8643.6

A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.

$128,966 to $33,435, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook:

SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Computer Engineering$128,96656
Clinical/Medical Laboratory Science/Research and Allied Professions$106,81444
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$106,785219
Information Science/Studies$101,99768
Mechanical Engineering$97,62999
Applied Mathematics$89,923399
Human Computer Interaction$89,583101
Physics$85,54463
Economics$80,632296
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology$52,37566
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$42,5211
Fine and Studio Arts$33,43545

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

89% of first-years return for a second year. 77% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 80.3% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 75.2% of everyone else, a gap of -5.1 points.

How big are the classes?

39% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 8% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 19:1, and 62% of faculty are full-time. Both are true at once: 8% of sections seat 100 or more, and those are the introductory lectures. Accredited by Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

What is life at SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook like?

18,615 undergraduates, 11% of first-years from out of state. 71% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 52% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 1.5% of men join a fraternity and 3.3% of women a sorority. 36% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $76,205.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten. SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook recommends 19 academic units.
  • 70% of enrolled students are at a 3.75 GPA or above, averaging 94.48 on a 100 scale. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook rates test scores Very Important, so a score at or above its middle-50 range is close to expected rather than optional.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 3,462 of 5,191 who waited were admitted, about 67%.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $128,966 five years out against $33,435 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook

What GPA do you need for SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook?

70% of enrolled students at SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook had a high school GPA of 3.75 or above, and the average was 94.48 on a 100 scale, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

Does the SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook waitlist move?

5,191 students accepted a place on the SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook waiting list and 3,462 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook graduates earn?

SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook graduates earn a median $74,502 ten years after entering, and 85% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the SUNY Stony Brook State University of New York at Stony Brook profile