CCNY: the complete school report for parents
CCNY puts the most weight on GPA. It does not consider legacy, demonstrated interest and the interview, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 58.0% admit rate and 71% of enrolled students at a 3.25 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Computer Engineering graduates earn a median $111,970 against $25,104 for Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft.
CCNY is officially CUNY City College, also known as City | City College | Ccny | City College Of New York. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.
Is CCNY a reach, target or safety for your student?
Enter a GPA and course load and the calculator places CCNY against the figures above. No account needed.
What does CCNY actually weigh in admissions?
CCNY rates 1 of the 18 factors "Very Important": GPA. It does not consider 15 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is CCNY's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.
| Factor | How CCNY rates it |
|---|---|
| course rigor | Important |
| GPA | Very Important |
| test scores | Considered |
| the essay | Not Considered |
| extracurricular activities | Not Considered |
| recommendations | Not Considered |
| personal qualities | Not Considered |
| talent | Not Considered |
| class rank | Not Considered |
| demonstrated interest | Not Considered |
| the interview | Not Considered |
| legacy | Not Considered |
| first-generation status | Not Considered |
| geography | Not Considered |
| state residency | Not Considered |
| volunteer work | Not Considered |
| work experience | Not Considered |
| religious affiliation | Not Considered |
Does CCNY consider how hard my child’s courses were?
Yes. It is an important factor.
Does CCNY consider GPA?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors.
Does CCNY consider SAT or ACT scores?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does CCNY consider the application essay?
No. CCNY does not consider it.
Does CCNY consider extracurricular activities?
No. CCNY does not consider it.
Does CCNY consider recommendation letters?
No. CCNY does not consider it.
Does CCNY consider character and personal qualities?
No. CCNY does not consider it.
Does CCNY consider a special talent or ability?
No. CCNY does not consider it.
Does CCNY consider class rank?
No. CCNY does not consider it. A school that does not rank its students is not a disadvantage.
Does CCNY consider demonstrated interest?
No. CCNY does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.
Does CCNY consider an interview?
No. CCNY does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.
Does CCNY consider legacy status?
No. CCNY does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.
Does CCNY consider being first-generation?
No. CCNY does not consider it.
Does CCNY consider where we live?
No. CCNY does not consider it.
Does CCNY consider state residency?
No. CCNY does not consider it.
Does CCNY consider volunteer work?
No. CCNY does not consider it.
Does CCNY consider work experience?
No. CCNY does not consider it.
Does CCNY consider religious affiliation?
No. CCNY does not consider it.
What GPA do admitted students actually have?
71% of enrolled students had a 3.25 GPA or above. The average was 3.14 on a 4 scale, reported for 92% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.
| High school GPA | Share of enrolled students |
|---|---|
| 4.0 | 0.34% |
| 3.75–3.99 | 17.29% |
| 3.50–3.74 | 29.6% |
| 3.25–3.49 | 23.94% |
| 3.00–3.24 | 16.53% |
| 2.50–2.99 | 11.64% |
| 2.00–2.49 | 0.64% |
Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?
CCNY admitted 44.8% of 8,240 transfer applicants, against 58.0% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.5.
When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?
CCNY offers neither Early Decision nor Early Action, so there is no early round to strategize about and every applicant is read in one pool.
| Regular application deadline | Not reported |
|---|---|
| Decisions released | Rolling basis beginning December 15 |
| Reply / deposit deadline | May 1 |
| Early Decision offered | No |
| Early Action offered | No |
| Application fee | $65 |
| Fee waiver available | Yes |
| Deferred admission offered | Yes |
What does my child need to take in high school?
CCNY requires 16 academic units and recommends 22. A college-preparatory program is required. A GED is accepted.
| Subject | Required | Recommended |
|---|---|---|
| English | 2 years | 4 years |
| Mathematics | 2 years | 3 years |
| Science | Not stated | 2 years |
| Foreign language | Not stated | 3 years |
What will CCNY actually cost us?
Families pay an average of $3,776 a year at CCNY after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $6,930. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 53% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 30 merit awards averaging $6,049 to first-years with no demonstrated need.
What families at each income level actually paid:
| Family income | Average net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $1,251 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $2,990 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $6,811 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $9,982 |
| Over $110,000 | $12,806 |
14% of CCNY graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $7,849 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $127 a month in repayment. CCNY’s net price calculator gives your own figure.
Does a degree from CCNY pay off?
Graduates earn a median $66,039 ten years after entering, and $46,435 at six years. 73% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 53% are actively paying down their loans three years in.
Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:
| Family income | Four-year net cost | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $5,004 | 0.2 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $11,960 | 0.5 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $27,244 | 1.2 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $39,928 | 1.8 |
| Over $110,000 | $51,224 | 2.3 |
A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.
$111,970 to $25,104, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at CCNY:
| Major | Median earnings, 5 years | Graduates a year |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Engineering | $111,970 | 54 |
| Computer Science | $105,797 | 132 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $93,362 | 119 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | $91,761 | 81 |
| Civil Engineering | $90,337 | 57 |
| Biology, General | $78,147 | 227 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $65,611 | 90 |
| Economics | $65,099 | 108 |
| Political Science and Government | $64,399 | 84 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | $42,697 | 116 |
| Music | $40,856 | 44 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | $25,104 | 34 |
College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.
Will my child actually graduate?
83% of first-years return for a second year. 50% within six (Fall 2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 49.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 54.0% of everyone else, a gap of 5.0 points.
How big are the classes?
31% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 2% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 15:1, and 34% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Middle States Commission on Higher Education.
What is life at CCNY like?
14,379 undergraduates, 3% of first-years from out of state. 46% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $48,071.
What this means for your student
- 71% of enrolled students are at a 3.25 GPA or above, averaging 3.14. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
- Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
- Its highest-earning major returns $111,970 five years out against $25,104 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
- See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.
Common questions about CCNY
What GPA do you need for CCNY?
71% of enrolled students at CCNY had a high school GPA of 3.25 or above, and the average was 3.14, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.
What do CCNY graduates earn?
CCNY graduates earn a median $66,039 ten years after entering, and 73% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.
Other schools families compare with CCNY
Where these numbers come from
Admissions figures: CCNY’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.