Colorado College: the complete school report for parents

With a 22.1% admit rate and 68% of enrolled students at a 3.75 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Transfer applicants are admitted at 40.7% against 22.1% for first-years, so the transfer route is materially wider.

Colorado College is officially Colorado College. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
22.1%
8,822 applicants
GPA of admits
3.75+
68% at or above
Admitted off waitlist
20
of 90 who waited
Transfer admit rate
40.7%
177 applied
Net price (average)
$33,375
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$65,222
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
86%
74% in four
Freshmen who return
93%

What does Colorado College actually weigh in admissions?

Colorado College rates none of the 18 factors "Very Important". Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Colorado College's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

Colorado College admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow Colorado College rates it
course rigorImportant
GPAImportant
test scoresConsidered
the essayImportant
extracurricular activitiesImportant
recommendationsImportant
personal qualitiesConsidered
talentConsidered
class rankConsidered
demonstrated interestConsidered
the interviewConsidered
legacyConsidered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyConsidered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationConsidered

Does Colorado College consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Colorado College consider GPA?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Colorado College consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Colorado College consider the application essay?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Colorado College consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Colorado College consider recommendation letters?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Colorado College consider character and personal qualities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Colorado College consider a special talent or ability?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Colorado College consider class rank?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Colorado College consider demonstrated interest?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Colorado College consider an interview?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Colorado College consider legacy status?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. It can act as a tiebreaker but will not carry a weak application.

Does Colorado College consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does Colorado College consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Colorado College consider state residency?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Colorado College consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Colorado College consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Colorado College consider religious affiliation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

68% of enrolled students had a 3.75 GPA or above. The average was 3.93 on a 4 scale, reported for 87.06% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

Colorado College high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.044.37%
3.75–3.9923.2%
3.50–3.7418.92%
3.25–3.499.68%
3.00–3.243.15%
2.50–2.990.68%
2.00–2.490%

What is the Colorado College waitlist really like?

Colorado College offered a place on its waiting list to 400 applicants and 90 accepted one. 20 were ultimately admitted. That is 22.2% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

Colorado College admitted 40.7% of 177 transfer applicants, against 22.1% of first-year applicants. For a student who does not get in at eighteen, the transfer route is a genuinely wider door and worth planning for deliberately.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Applying Early Decision changes the odds materially: 35.6% of ED applicants were admitted against 22.1% overall, a gap of 14 points. ED is binding, so that advantage costs the ability to compare financial-aid offers.

Colorado College application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJanuary 15
Decisions releasedMarch 12
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 1
Early Decision II offeredYes
Early Decision II deadlineJanuary 15
Early Action offeredYes
Early Action deadlineNovember 1
Application fee$0
Fee waiver availableNot reported
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

Colorado College requires 16 academic units and recommends 20. A college-preparatory program is recommended.

Colorado College high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 years4 years

What will Colorado College actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $33,375 a year at Colorado College after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $75,702. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 100% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 37 merit awards averaging $9,466 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

31% of Colorado College graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $24,659 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $194 a month in repayment. Colorado College’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from Colorado College pay off?

Graduates earn a median $65,222 ten years after entering, and $47,611 at six years. 76% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 89% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

Will my child actually graduate?

93% of first-years return for a second year. 74% graduate within four years and 86% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 85.7% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 86.4% of everyone else, a gap of 0.7 points.

How big are the classes?

75% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 0% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 9:1, and 80% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Higher Learning Commission.

What is life at Colorado College like?

1,887 undergraduates, 81% of first-years from out of state. 100% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 76% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 12% of men join a fraternity and 14% of women a sorority. 18% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $73,737.

What this means for your student

  • 68% of enrolled students are at a 3.75 GPA or above, averaging 3.93. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • Early Decision is worth 14 points of admit rate, but it is binding and removes any ability to compare aid offers.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 20 of 90 who waited were admitted, about 22%.
  • If the first-year answer is no, the transfer route is genuinely wider here and worth planning for from the first semester of college.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about Colorado College

What GPA do you need for Colorado College?

68% of enrolled students at Colorado College had a high school GPA of 3.75 or above, and the average was 3.93, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

Does the Colorado College waitlist move?

90 students accepted a place on the Colorado College waiting list and 20 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do Colorado College graduates earn?

Colorado College graduates earn a median $65,222 ten years after entering, and 76% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with Colorado College

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: Colorado College’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the Colorado College profile