Lake Forest College: the complete school report for parents

Lake Forest College rates 6 of the 18 admission factors Very Important, among them GPA, the essay and extracurricular activities. This is a genuinely holistic review. With a 53.6% admit rate and 52% of enrolled students at a 3.75 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong.

Lake Forest College is officially Lake Forest College. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
53.6%
5,411 applicants
GPA of admits
3.75+
52% at or above
Admitted off waitlist
27
of 38 who waited
Transfer admit rate
48.9%
313 applied
Net price (average)
$28,673
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$61,825
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
73%
66% in four
Freshmen who return
89%

What does Lake Forest College actually weigh in admissions?

Lake Forest College rates 6 of the 18 factors "Very Important": GPA, the essay, extracurricular activities, personal qualities, talent, the interview. It does not consider 3 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Lake Forest College's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

Lake Forest College admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow Lake Forest College rates it
course rigorImportant
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayVery Important
extracurricular activitiesVery Important
recommendationsConsidered
personal qualitiesVery Important
talentVery Important
class rankConsidered
demonstrated interestConsidered
the interviewVery Important
legacyConsidered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyNot Considered
state residencyNot Considered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does Lake Forest College consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Lake Forest College consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Lake Forest College consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Lake Forest College consider the application essay?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The essay is doing as much work as the transcript.

Does Lake Forest College consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Lake Forest College consider recommendation letters?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Lake Forest College consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Lake Forest College consider a special talent or ability?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Lake Forest College consider class rank?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Lake Forest College consider demonstrated interest?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Lake Forest College consider an interview?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Lake Forest College consider legacy status?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. It can act as a tiebreaker but will not carry a weak application.

Does Lake Forest College consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does Lake Forest College consider where we live?

No. Lake Forest College does not consider it.

Does Lake Forest College consider state residency?

No. Lake Forest College does not consider it.

Does Lake Forest College consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Lake Forest College consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Lake Forest College consider religious affiliation?

No. Lake Forest College does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

52% of enrolled students had a 3.75 GPA or above. The average was 3.74 on a 4 scale, reported for 100% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

Lake Forest College high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.029%
3.75–3.9923.2%
3.50–3.7417.8%
3.25–3.4914.1%
3.00–3.2412.5%
2.50–2.993.4%
2.00–2.49Not reported

What is the Lake Forest College waitlist really like?

Lake Forest College offered a place on its waiting list to 48 applicants and 38 accepted one. 27 were ultimately admitted. That is 71.1% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

Lake Forest College admitted 48.9% of 313 transfer applicants, against 53.6% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.5.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Lake Forest College reports its early rounds below.

Lake Forest College application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineFebruary 15
Decisions releasedNovember 1
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 1
Early Decision II offeredYes
Early Decision II deadlineJanuary 15
Early Action offeredYes
Early Action deadlineNovember 1
Application fee$0
Fee waiver availableNot reported
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

Lake Forest College requires 19 academic units and recommends 23. A college-preparatory program is required. A GED is accepted.

Lake Forest College high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 years4 years
Mathematics3 years4 years
Science3 years4 years
of which lab science3 yearsNot stated
Foreign language2 years2 years
History3 yearsNot stated
Visual / performing arts0 yearsNot stated

What will Lake Forest College actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $28,673 a year at Lake Forest College after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $60,204. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 92% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 67 merit awards averaging $37,100 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

46% of Lake Forest College graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $37,595 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $277 a month in repayment. Lake Forest College’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from Lake Forest College pay off?

Graduates earn a median $61,825 ten years after entering, and $51,324 at six years. 81% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 77% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

$84,573 to $49,254, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at Lake Forest College:

Lake Forest College median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Finance and Financial Management Services$84,57330
Economics$73,74736
Communication and Media Studies$68,32130
Business/Commerce, General$57,36053
Political Science and Government$56,28716
English Language and Literature, General$54,72224
Romance Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics$49,25416

College Scorecard, by field of study.

Will my child actually graduate?

89% of first-years return for a second year. 66% graduate within four years and 73% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 80.4% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 66.3% of everyone else, a gap of -14.1 points.

How big are the classes?

48% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 0% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 13:1, and 100% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Higher Learning Commission.

What is life at Lake Forest College like?

1,786 undergraduates, 39.7% of first-years from out of state. 82.5% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 70.1% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 6% of men join a fraternity and 8% of women a sorority. 25% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $84,677.

What this means for your student

  • 52% of enrolled students are at a 3.75 GPA or above, averaging 3.74. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 27 of 38 who waited were admitted, about 71%.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $84,573 five years out against $49,254 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about Lake Forest College

What GPA do you need for Lake Forest College?

52% of enrolled students at Lake Forest College had a high school GPA of 3.75 or above, and the average was 3.74, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

Does the Lake Forest College waitlist move?

38 students accepted a place on the Lake Forest College waiting list and 27 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do Lake Forest College graduates earn?

Lake Forest College graduates earn a median $61,825 ten years after entering, and 81% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with Lake Forest College

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: Lake Forest College’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the Lake Forest College profile