Barnard: the complete school report for parents

Barnard rates 5 of the 18 admission factors Very Important, among them course rigor, GPA and the essay. This is a genuinely holistic review. It does not consider the interview, so there is no interview to prepare for. Barnard admits between 1 in 10 and 1 in 4 applicants, and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Transfer applicants are admitted at 22.9% against 10.1% for first-years, so the transfer route is materially wider.

Barnard is officially Barnard College. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
10.1%
10,426 applicants
GPA of admits
Not reported
Admitted off waitlist
150
of 1,644 who waited
Transfer admit rate
22.9%
1,142 applied
Net price (average)
$28,800
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$80,516
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
92%
81% in four
Freshmen who return
97%

What does Barnard actually weigh in admissions?

Barnard rates 5 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, the essay, recommendations, personal qualities. It does not consider 3 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Barnard's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

Barnard admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow Barnard rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayVery Important
extracurricular activitiesImportant
recommendationsVery Important
personal qualitiesVery Important
talentImportant
class rankImportant
demonstrated interestConsidered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyConsidered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyNot Considered
volunteer workImportant
work experienceImportant
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does Barnard consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does Barnard consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Barnard consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Barnard consider the application essay?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The essay is doing as much work as the transcript.

Does Barnard consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Barnard consider recommendation letters?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Barnard consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Barnard consider a special talent or ability?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Barnard consider class rank?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Barnard consider demonstrated interest?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Barnard consider an interview?

No. Barnard does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does Barnard consider legacy status?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. It can act as a tiebreaker but will not carry a weak application.

Does Barnard consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does Barnard consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Barnard consider state residency?

No. Barnard does not consider it.

Does Barnard consider volunteer work?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Barnard consider work experience?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Barnard consider religious affiliation?

No. Barnard does not consider it.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

Barnard admitted 22.9% of 1,142 transfer applicants, against 10.1% of first-year applicants. For a student who does not get in at eighteen, the transfer route is a genuinely wider door and worth planning for deliberately.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Applying Early Decision changes the odds materially: 33.1% of ED applicants were admitted against 10.1% overall, a gap of 23 points. ED is binding, so that advantage costs the ability to compare financial-aid offers.

Barnard application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJanuary 1
Decisions releasedNot reported
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 1
Early Action offeredNo
Application fee$75
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What will Barnard actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $28,800 a year at Barnard after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $73,120. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 100% of demonstrated need on average.

33% of Barnard graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $26,251 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $191 a month in repayment. Barnard’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from Barnard pay off?

Graduates earn a median $80,516 ten years after entering, and $60,411 at six years. 90% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 87% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

$136,964 to $66,870, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at Barnard:

Barnard median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Economics$136,96492
Political Science and Government$95,60870
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$76,39243
Urban Studies/Affairs$75,85934
Sociology$75,08625
English Language and Literature, General$66,87060

College Scorecard, by field of study.

Will my child actually graduate?

97% of first-years return for a second year. 81% graduate within four years and 92% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 92.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 91.0% of everyone else, a gap of -1.0 points.

How big are the classes?

70% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 2% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 10:1, and 100% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

What is life at Barnard like?

3,223 undergraduates, 67% of first-years from out of state. 97% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 75% across all undergraduates. 16% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $75,897.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
  • Early Decision is worth 23 points of admit rate, but it is binding and removes any ability to compare aid offers.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 150 of 1,644 who waited were admitted, about 9%.
  • If the first-year answer is no, the transfer route is genuinely wider here and worth planning for from the first semester of college.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $136,964 five years out against $66,870 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about Barnard

Does the Barnard waitlist move?

1,644 students accepted a place on the Barnard waiting list and 150 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do Barnard graduates earn?

Barnard graduates earn a median $80,516 ten years after entering, and 90% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with Barnard

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: Barnard’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the Barnard profile