FIU: the complete school report for parents

FIU rates 4 of the 18 admission factors Very Important, among them course rigor, GPA and test scores. The academic record does most of the work. It does not consider the interview, so there is no interview to prepare for. With a 60.9% admit rate and 65% of enrolled students at a 4.0 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and a strong test score is close to expected. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Computer Engineering graduates earn a median $103,462 against $30,242 for Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft.

FIU is officially Florida International University. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
60.9%
36,103 applicants
GPA of admits
4.0+
65% at or above
Testing
Scores expected
Transfer admit rate
73.8%
8,622 applied
Net price (average)
$9,288
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$60,249
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
78%
Freshmen who return
92%

What does FIU actually weigh in admissions?

FIU rates 4 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, test scores, class rank. It does not consider 2 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is FIU's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

FIU admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow FIU rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresVery Important
the essayConsidered
extracurricular activitiesConsidered
recommendationsConsidered
personal qualitiesConsidered
talentConsidered
class rankVery Important
demonstrated interestConsidered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyConsidered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyConsidered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does FIU consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does FIU consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does FIU consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. A score at or above the middle-50 range is close to expected here.

Does FIU consider the application essay?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does FIU consider extracurricular activities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does FIU consider recommendation letters?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does FIU consider character and personal qualities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does FIU consider a special talent or ability?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does FIU consider class rank?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does FIU consider demonstrated interest?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does FIU consider an interview?

No. FIU does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does FIU consider legacy status?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. It can act as a tiebreaker but will not carry a weak application.

Does FIU consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does FIU consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does FIU consider state residency?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does FIU consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does FIU consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does FIU consider religious affiliation?

No. FIU does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

65% of enrolled students had a 4.0 GPA or above. The average was 4 on a 4.0 scale, reported for 99% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

FIU high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.065%
3.75–3.9914%
3.50–3.7414%
3.25–3.495%
3.00–3.242%
2.50–2.990%
2.00–2.490%

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

FIU admitted 73.8% of 8,622 transfer applicants, against 60.9% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

FIU reports its early rounds below.

FIU application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineMarch 4
Decisions releasedJune 1
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredNo
Early Action offeredYes
Early Action deadlineNovember 3
Application fee$30
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

FIU requires 18 academic units. A college-preparatory program is required. A GED is accepted.

FIU high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 yearsNot stated
Mathematics4 yearsNot stated
Science3 yearsNot stated
of which lab science2 yearsNot stated
Foreign language2 yearsNot stated
History0 yearsNot stated
Visual / performing arts0 yearsNot stated

What will FIU actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $9,288 a year at FIU after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $6,168. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 48.9% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 1,130 merit awards averaging $2,149 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

What families at each income level actually paid:

FIU average net price by family income
Family incomeAverage net price per year
Under $30,000$7,003
$30,000–$48,000$7,873
$48,000–$75,000$10,925
$75,000–$110,000$14,568
Over $110,000$18,200

21% of FIU graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $18,003 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $175 a month in repayment. FIU’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from FIU pay off?

Graduates earn a median $60,249 ten years after entering, and $47,768 at six years. 78% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 54% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:

Years for FIU earnings premium to cover four years of net cost
Family incomeFour-year net costYears to pay back
Under $30,000$28,0121.7
$30,000–$48,000$31,4921.9
$48,000–$75,000$43,7002.7
$75,000–$110,000$58,2723.6
Over $110,000$72,8004.5

A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.

$103,462 to $30,242, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at FIU:

FIU median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Computer Engineering$103,462121
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$95,194221
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$93,759234
Computer and Information Sciences, General$89,221665
Accounting and Related Services$80,112247
Finance and Financial Management Services$76,804665
Business Administration, Management and Operations$66,798381
International Business$64,473501
Marketing$62,558489
Psychology, General$48,4001,715
Fine and Studio Arts$30,31596
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$30,24233

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

92% of first-years return for a second year. 78% within six (Fall 2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 77.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 78.0% of everyone else, a gap of 1.0 points.

How big are the classes?

47% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 2% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 24:1, and 98% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

What is life at FIU like?

46,249 undergraduates, 5% of first-years from out of state. 25% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 7% across all undergraduates. 41% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $58,110.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
  • 65% of enrolled students are at a 4.0 GPA or above, averaging 4. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • FIU rates test scores Very Important, so a score at or above its middle-50 range is close to expected rather than optional.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $103,462 five years out against $30,242 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about FIU

What GPA do you need for FIU?

65% of enrolled students at FIU had a high school GPA of 4.0 or above, and the average was 4, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

What do FIU graduates earn?

FIU graduates earn a median $60,249 ten years after entering, and 78% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with FIU

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: FIU’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the FIU profile