South Carolina: the complete school report for parents

South Carolina puts the most weight on GPA. A second tier of course rigor, test scores and class rank carries real weight too. It does not consider legacy, demonstrated interest and the interview, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 56.5% admit rate and 76% of enrolled students at a 3.50 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, International Business graduates earn a median $105,852 against $40,191 for Film/Video and Photographic Arts.

South Carolina is officially University of South Carolina-Columbia, also known as U Of South Carolina or U Of South Carolina-columbia. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
56.5%
59,630 applicants
GPA of admits
3.50+
76% at or above
Admitted off waitlist
293
of 3,395 who waited
Transfer admit rate
65.2%
4,088 applied
Net price (average)
$22,811
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$62,177
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
79%
71% in four
Freshmen who return
92%

What does South Carolina actually weigh in admissions?

South Carolina rates 1 of the 18 factors "Very Important": GPA. It does not consider 7 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is South Carolina's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

South Carolina admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow South Carolina rates it
course rigorImportant
GPAVery Important
test scoresImportant
the essayConsidered
extracurricular activitiesConsidered
recommendationsConsidered
personal qualitiesNot Considered
talentConsidered
class rankImportant
demonstrated interestNot Considered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusNot Considered
geographyNot Considered
state residencyConsidered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does South Carolina consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does South Carolina consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does South Carolina consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does South Carolina consider the application essay?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does South Carolina consider extracurricular activities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does South Carolina consider recommendation letters?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does South Carolina consider character and personal qualities?

No. South Carolina does not consider it.

Does South Carolina consider a special talent or ability?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does South Carolina consider class rank?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does South Carolina consider demonstrated interest?

No. South Carolina does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.

Does South Carolina consider an interview?

No. South Carolina does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does South Carolina consider legacy status?

No. South Carolina does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does South Carolina consider being first-generation?

No. South Carolina does not consider it.

Does South Carolina consider where we live?

No. South Carolina does not consider it.

Does South Carolina consider state residency?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does South Carolina consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does South Carolina consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does South Carolina consider religious affiliation?

No. South Carolina does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

76% of enrolled students had a 3.50 GPA or above. The average was 3.68 on a 4 scale, reported for 97.61% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

South Carolina high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.015.01%
3.75–3.9933.41%
3.50–3.7428%
3.25–3.4915.4%
3.00–3.246.72%
2.50–2.991.41%
2.00–2.490.05%

What is the South Carolina waitlist really like?

South Carolina offered a place on its waiting list to 8,805 applicants and 3,395 accepted one. 293 were ultimately admitted. That is 8.6% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

South Carolina admitted 65.2% of 4,088 transfer applicants, against 56.5% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

South Carolina reports its early rounds below.

South Carolina application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineDecember 1
Decisions releasedMarch 15
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredNo
Early Action offeredYes
Early Action deadlineOctober 15
Application fee$65
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

South Carolina requires 20 academic units. A college-preparatory program is required. A GED is accepted.

South Carolina high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 yearsNot stated
Mathematics4 yearsNot stated
Science3 yearsNot stated
of which lab science3 yearsNot stated
Foreign language2 yearsNot stated
History1 yearNot stated
Visual / performing arts1 yearNot stated

What will South Carolina actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $22,811 a year at South Carolina after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $12,288. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 61% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 2,944 merit awards averaging $4,353 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

What families at each income level actually paid:

South Carolina average net price by family income
Family incomeAverage net price per year
Under $30,000$12,634
$30,000–$48,000$14,953
$48,000–$75,000$19,859
$75,000–$110,000$24,478
Over $110,000$28,125

52% of South Carolina graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $34,211 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $228 a month in repayment. South Carolina’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from South Carolina pay off?

Graduates earn a median $62,177 ten years after entering, and $50,621 at six years. 84% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 67% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:

Years for South Carolina earnings premium to cover four years of net cost
Family incomeFour-year net costYears to pay back
Under $30,000$50,5362.8
$30,000–$48,000$59,8123.3
$48,000–$75,000$79,4364.4
$75,000–$110,000$97,9125.4
Over $110,000$112,5006.2

A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.

$105,852 to $40,191, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at South Carolina:

South Carolina median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
International Business$105,852172
Business/Managerial Economics$101,30772
Finance and Financial Management Services$91,441608
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$91,024198
Mechanical Engineering$88,180183
Computer and Information Sciences, General$87,069214
Accounting and Related Services$84,344139
Marketing$77,355335
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$74,996232
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$43,561167
Fine and Studio Arts$40,79043
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$40,191100

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

92% of first-years return for a second year. 71% graduate within four years and 79% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 69.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 82.0% of everyone else, a gap of 13.0 points.

How big are the classes?

34% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 5% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 19:1, and 75% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

What is life at South Carolina like?

31,845 undergraduates, 45% of first-years from out of state. 95.8% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 31.36% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 26.79% of men join a fraternity and 34.1% of women a sorority. 20% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $62,188.

What this means for your student

  • 76% of enrolled students are at a 3.50 GPA or above, averaging 3.68. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 293 of 3,395 who waited were admitted, about 9%.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $105,852 five years out against $40,191 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about South Carolina

What GPA do you need for South Carolina?

76% of enrolled students at South Carolina had a high school GPA of 3.50 or above, and the average was 3.68, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

Does the South Carolina waitlist move?

3,395 students accepted a place on the South Carolina waiting list and 293 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do South Carolina graduates earn?

South Carolina graduates earn a median $62,177 ten years after entering, and 84% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with South Carolina

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: South Carolina’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the South Carolina profile