NC State: the complete school report for parents

NC State puts the most weight on course rigor and GPA. The academic record does most of the work. It does not consider legacy, demonstrated interest and the interview, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 39.5% admit rate and 78% of enrolled students at a 3.75 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Computer Science graduates earn a median $111,385 against $39,789 for Arts, Entertainment, and Media Management.

NC State is officially North Carolina State University at Raleigh, also known as N C State University or Ncsu. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
39.5%
49,350 applicants
GPA of admits
3.75+
78% at or above
Admitted off waitlist
476
of 4,311 who waited
Transfer admit rate
44.7%
5,383 applied
Net price (average)
$17,303
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$68,758
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
85%
Freshmen who return
94%

Is NC State a reach, target or safety for your student?

Enter a GPA and course load and the calculator places NC State against the figures above. No account needed.

What does NC State actually weigh in admissions?

NC State rates 2 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA. It does not consider 4 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is NC State's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

NC State admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow NC State rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayConsidered
extracurricular activitiesConsidered
recommendationsConsidered
personal qualitiesConsidered
talentConsidered
class rankImportant
demonstrated interestNot Considered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyConsidered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does NC State consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does NC State consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does NC State consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does NC State consider the application essay?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does NC State consider extracurricular activities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does NC State consider recommendation letters?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does NC State consider character and personal qualities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does NC State consider a special talent or ability?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does NC State consider class rank?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does NC State consider demonstrated interest?

No. NC State does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.

Does NC State consider an interview?

No. NC State does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does NC State consider legacy status?

No. NC State does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does NC State consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does NC State consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does NC State consider state residency?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does NC State consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does NC State consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does NC State consider religious affiliation?

No. NC State does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

78% of enrolled students had a 3.75 GPA or above. The average was 3.84 on a 4 scale, reported for 98.11% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

NC State high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.019.93%
3.75–3.9958.27%
3.50–3.7418.89%
3.25–3.492.26%
3.00–3.240.41%
2.50–2.990.21%
2.00–2.490.03%

What is the NC State waitlist really like?

NC State offered a place on its waiting list to 10,710 applicants and 4,311 accepted one. 476 were ultimately admitted. That is 11.0% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

NC State admitted 44.7% of 5,383 transfer applicants, against 39.5% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

NC State reports its early rounds below.

NC State application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJune 1
Decisions releasedMarch 30
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredNo
Early Action offeredYes
Early Action deadlineNovember 1
Application fee$85
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

NC State requires 15 academic units and recommends 15. A college-preparatory program is required. A GED is accepted.

NC State high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 years4 years
Mathematics4 years4 years
Science3 years3 years
of which lab science1 yearNot stated
Foreign language0 years2 years
History1 yearNot stated
Visual / performing arts0 yearsNot stated

What will NC State actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $17,303 a year at NC State after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $6,535. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 75% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 299 merit awards averaging $4,921 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

What families at each income level actually paid:

NC State average net price by family income
Family incomeAverage net price per year
Under $30,000$6,382
$30,000–$48,000$8,758
$48,000–$75,000$13,334
$75,000–$110,000$20,087
Over $110,000$24,652

44% of NC State graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $25,393 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $213 a month in repayment. NC State’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from NC State pay off?

Graduates earn a median $68,758 ten years after entering, and $57,623 at six years. 87% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 75% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:

Years for NC State earnings premium to cover four years of net cost
Family incomeFour-year net costYears to pay back
Under $30,000$25,5281.0
$30,000–$48,000$35,0321.4
$48,000–$75,000$53,3362.2
$75,000–$110,000$80,3483.2
Over $110,000$98,6084.0

A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.

$111,385 to $39,789, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at NC State:

NC State median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Computer Science$111,385281
Computer Engineering$110,896136
Chemical Engineering$103,529161
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$99,115127
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$97,818184
Mechanical Engineering$91,136249
Civil Engineering$84,995107
Accounting and Related Services$83,729179
Business Administration, Management and Operations$81,060841
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$51,631131
English Language and Literature, General$48,28685
Arts, Entertainment, and Media Management$39,78925

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

94% of first-years return for a second year. 85% within six (Fall 2019 cohort).

How big are the classes?

32% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 6% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 15:1, and 88% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

What is life at NC State like?

29,340 undergraduates, 12% of first-years from out of state. 97% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 36% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 11% of men join a fraternity and 15% of women a sorority. 19% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $64,180.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten. NC State recommends 15 academic units.
  • 78% of enrolled students are at a 3.75 GPA or above, averaging 3.84. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 476 of 4,311 who waited were admitted, about 11%.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $111,385 five years out against $39,789 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about NC State

What GPA do you need for NC State?

78% of enrolled students at NC State had a high school GPA of 3.75 or above, and the average was 3.84, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

Does the NC State waitlist move?

4,311 students accepted a place on the NC State waiting list and 476 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do NC State graduates earn?

NC State graduates earn a median $68,758 ten years after entering, and 87% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with NC State

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: NC State’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the NC State profile