SIU: the complete school report for parents

SIU puts the most weight on GPA and class rank. The academic record does most of the work. It does not consider legacy, demonstrated interest and the interview, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 94.4% admit rate and 57% of enrolled students at a 3.25 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Computer Science graduates earn a median $106,322 against $28,119 for Apparel and Textiles.

SIU is officially Southern Illinois University-Carbondale. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
94.4%
11,089 applicants
GPA of admits
3.25+
57% at or above
Testing
Test-optional
Transfer admit rate
95.7%
1,976 applied
Net price (average)
$13,297
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$53,390
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
59%
45% in four
Freshmen who return
67%

Is SIU a reach, target or safety for your student?

Enter a GPA and course load and the calculator places SIU against the figures above. No account needed.

What does SIU actually weigh in admissions?

SIU rates 2 of the 18 factors "Very Important": GPA, class rank. It does not consider 13 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is SIU's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

SIU admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow SIU rates it
course rigorNot Considered
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayConsidered
extracurricular activitiesNot Considered
recommendationsConsidered
personal qualitiesNot Considered
talentNot Considered
class rankVery Important
demonstrated interestNot Considered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusNot Considered
geographyNot Considered
state residencyNot Considered
volunteer workNot Considered
work experienceNot Considered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does SIU consider how hard my child’s courses were?

No. SIU does not consider it.

Does SIU consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does SIU consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does SIU consider the application essay?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does SIU consider extracurricular activities?

No. SIU does not consider it.

Does SIU consider recommendation letters?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does SIU consider character and personal qualities?

No. SIU does not consider it.

Does SIU consider a special talent or ability?

No. SIU does not consider it.

Does SIU consider class rank?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does SIU consider demonstrated interest?

No. SIU does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.

Does SIU consider an interview?

No. SIU does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does SIU consider legacy status?

No. SIU does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does SIU consider being first-generation?

No. SIU does not consider it.

Does SIU consider where we live?

No. SIU does not consider it.

Does SIU consider state residency?

No. SIU does not consider it.

Does SIU consider volunteer work?

No. SIU does not consider it.

Does SIU consider work experience?

No. SIU does not consider it.

Does SIU consider religious affiliation?

No. SIU does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

57% of enrolled students had a 3.25 GPA or above. The average was 3.291 on a 4 scale, reported for 99.5% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

SIU high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.05.57%
3.75–3.9920.96%
3.50–3.7415.72%
3.25–3.4914.73%
3.00–3.2412.7%
2.50–2.9920.1%
2.00–2.4910.15%

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

SIU admitted 95.7% of 1,976 transfer applicants, against 94.4% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

SIU reports its early rounds below.

SIU application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineNot reported
Decisions releasedJune 1
Reply / deposit deadlineNot reported
Early Decision offeredNot reported
Early Action offeredNot reported
Application fee$40
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

SIU requires 15 academic units. A college-preparatory program is required. A GED is accepted.

SIU high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 yearsNot stated
Mathematics3 yearsNot stated
Science3 yearsNot stated
of which lab science3 yearsNot stated

What will SIU actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $13,297 a year at SIU after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $9,833. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 63.2% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 342 merit awards averaging $5,169 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

What families at each income level actually paid:

SIU average net price by family income
Family incomeAverage net price per year
Under $30,000$9,415
$30,000–$48,000$8,497
$48,000–$75,000$10,308
$75,000–$110,000$17,724
Over $110,000$23,254

57% of SIU graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $29,123 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $228 a month in repayment. SIU’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from SIU pay off?

Graduates earn a median $53,390 ten years after entering, and $43,087 at six years. 74% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 51% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:

Years for SIU earnings premium to cover four years of net cost
Family incomeFour-year net costYears to pay back
Under $30,000$37,6604.0
$30,000–$48,000$33,9883.6
$48,000–$75,000$41,2324.4
$75,000–$110,000$70,8967.6
Over $110,000$93,0169.9

A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.

$106,322 to $28,119, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at SIU:

SIU median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Computer Science$106,32226
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$92,49443
Mechanical Engineering$88,46557
Mechanical Engineering Related Technologies/Technicians$74,32489
Industrial Production Technologies/Technicians$71,58264
Accounting and Related Services$70,41767
Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions$70,00652
Air Transportation$66,893150
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Subject Areas$63,679120
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$42,51348
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$34,83926
Apparel and Textiles$28,11910

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

67% of first-years return for a second year. 45% graduate within four years and 59% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 50.2% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 66.1% of everyone else, a gap of 15.9 points.

How big are the classes?

61% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 1% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 11:1, and 79% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Higher Learning Commission.

What is life at SIU like?

8,421 undergraduates, 14.75% of first-years from out of state. 96.6% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 42.43% across all undergraduates. 35% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $59,313.

What this means for your student

  • 57% of enrolled students are at a 3.25 GPA or above, averaging 3.291. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $106,322 five years out against $28,119 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about SIU

What GPA do you need for SIU?

57% of enrolled students at SIU had a high school GPA of 3.25 or above, and the average was 3.291, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

What do SIU graduates earn?

SIU graduates earn a median $53,390 ten years after entering, and 74% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with SIU

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: SIU’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the SIU profile