TCU: the complete school report for parents

TCU puts the most weight on course rigor and GPA. The academic record does most of the work. It does not consider the interview and class rank, so there is no interview to prepare for. TCU admits between a quarter and half of applicants, and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Transfer applicants are admitted at 84.0% against 48.1% for first-years, so the transfer route is materially wider.

TCU is officially Texas Christian University. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
48.1%
22,680 applicants
GPA of admits
Not reported
Admitted off waitlist
396
of 1,083 who waited
Transfer admit rate
84.0%
949 applied
Net price (average)
$36,660
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$68,424
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
86%
75% in four
Freshmen who return
93%

What does TCU actually weigh in admissions?

TCU rates 2 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA. It does not consider 2 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is TCU's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

TCU admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow TCU rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayImportant
extracurricular activitiesImportant
recommendationsConsidered
personal qualitiesImportant
talentConsidered
class rankNot Considered
demonstrated interestConsidered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyConsidered
first-generation statusImportant
geographyConsidered
state residencyConsidered
volunteer workImportant
work experienceImportant
religious affiliationConsidered

Does TCU consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does TCU consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does TCU consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does TCU consider the application essay?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does TCU consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does TCU consider recommendation letters?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does TCU consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does TCU consider a special talent or ability?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does TCU consider class rank?

No. TCU does not consider it. A school that does not rank its students is not a disadvantage.

Does TCU consider demonstrated interest?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does TCU consider an interview?

No. TCU does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does TCU consider legacy status?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. It can act as a tiebreaker but will not carry a weak application.

Does TCU consider being first-generation?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does TCU consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does TCU consider state residency?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does TCU consider volunteer work?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does TCU consider work experience?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does TCU consider religious affiliation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

What is the TCU waitlist really like?

TCU offered a place on its waiting list to 3,676 applicants and 1,083 accepted one. 396 were ultimately admitted. That is 36.6% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

TCU admitted 84.0% of 949 transfer applicants, against 48.1% of first-year applicants. For a student who does not get in at eighteen, the transfer route is a genuinely wider door and worth planning for deliberately. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Applying Early Decision changes the odds materially: 68.1% of ED applicants were admitted against 48.1% overall, a gap of 20 points. ED is binding, so that advantage costs the ability to compare financial-aid offers.

TCU application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineFebruary 1
Decisions releasedApril 1
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 1
Early Decision II offeredYes
Early Decision II deadlineFebruary 1
Early Action offeredYes
Early Action deadlineNovember 1
Application fee$50
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

TCU requires 17 academic units and recommends 20. A college-preparatory program is required. A GED is accepted.

TCU high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 years4 years
Mathematics3 years4 years
Science3 years4 years
Foreign language2 years4 years

What will TCU actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $36,660 a year at TCU after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $66,520. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 78.6% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 1,044 merit awards averaging $24,703 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

34% of TCU graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $46,027 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $228 a month in repayment. TCU’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from TCU pay off?

Graduates earn a median $68,424 ten years after entering, and $60,435 at six years. 86% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 77% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

$112,562 to $36,422, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at TCU:

TCU median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Finance and Financial Management Services$112,562212
Business Administration, Management and Operations$108,96884
Accounting and Related Services$99,015116
Marketing$95,158137
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$91,050180
Economics$83,781111
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$81,217150
Political Science and Government$74,74489
Communication and Media Studies$73,722123
Radio, Television, and Digital Communication$53,29748
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$47,58849
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$36,42222

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

93% of first-years return for a second year. 75% graduate within four years and 86% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 78.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 87.0% of everyone else, a gap of 9.0 points.

How big are the classes?

38% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 2% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 14:1, and 100% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

What is life at TCU like?

11,152 undergraduates, 52% of first-years from out of state. 96% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 51% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 48% of men join a fraternity and 59% of women a sorority. 20% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $76,266.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten. TCU recommends 20 academic units.
  • Early Decision is worth 20 points of admit rate, but it is binding and removes any ability to compare aid offers.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 396 of 1,083 who waited were admitted, about 37%.
  • If the first-year answer is no, the transfer route is genuinely wider here and worth planning for from the first semester of college.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $112,562 five years out against $36,422 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about TCU

Does the TCU waitlist move?

1,083 students accepted a place on the TCU waiting list and 396 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do TCU graduates earn?

TCU graduates earn a median $68,424 ten years after entering, and 86% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with TCU

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: TCU’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the TCU profile