Butler University: the complete school report for parents

Butler University puts the most weight on course rigor, GPA and test scores. The academic record does most of the work. It does not consider legacy and the interview, so family connections carry no weight. With an 82.1% admit rate and 63% of enrolled students at a 3.75 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and a strong test score is close to expected.

Butler University is officially Butler University. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
82.1%
11,139 applicants
GPA of admits
3.75+
63% at or above
Testing
Scores expected
Transfer admit rate
49.4%
506 applied
Net price (average)
$36,041
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$77,235
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
77%
69% in four
Freshmen who return
85%

What does Butler University actually weigh in admissions?

Butler University rates 3 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, test scores. It does not consider 5 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Butler University's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

Butler University admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow Butler University rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresVery Important
the essayImportant
extracurricular activitiesImportant
recommendationsConsidered
personal qualitiesConsidered
talentConsidered
class rankConsidered
demonstrated interestConsidered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyNot Considered
state residencyNot Considered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does Butler University consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does Butler University consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Butler University consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. A score at or above the middle-50 range is close to expected here.

Does Butler University consider the application essay?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Butler University consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Butler University consider recommendation letters?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Butler University consider character and personal qualities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Butler University consider a special talent or ability?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Butler University consider class rank?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Butler University consider demonstrated interest?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Butler University consider an interview?

No. Butler University does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does Butler University consider legacy status?

No. Butler University does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does Butler University consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does Butler University consider where we live?

No. Butler University does not consider it.

Does Butler University consider state residency?

No. Butler University does not consider it.

Does Butler University consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Butler University consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Butler University consider religious affiliation?

No. Butler University does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

63% of enrolled students had a 3.75 GPA or above. The average was 3.84 on a 4 scale, reported for 99.92% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

Butler University high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.041.91%
3.75–3.9921.3%
3.50–3.7415.57%
3.25–3.4910.3%
3.00–3.245.96%
2.50–2.993.1%
2.00–2.491.63%

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

Butler University admitted 49.4% of 506 transfer applicants, against 82.1% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.5.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Butler University reports its early rounds below.

Butler University application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineAugust 1
Decisions releasedhave unique deadlines but we start sending our first decisio
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 1
Early Action offeredYes
Early Action deadlineNovember 1
Application fee$50
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

Butler University requires 12 academic units and recommends 2. A college-preparatory program is required.

Butler University high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 yearsNot stated
Mathematics3 yearsNot stated
Science3 yearsNot stated
Foreign languageNot stated2 years

What will Butler University actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $36,041 a year at Butler University after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $50,860. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 71.7% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 513 merit awards averaging $28,187 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

51% of Butler University graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $44,645 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $276 a month in repayment. Butler University’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from Butler University pay off?

Graduates earn a median $77,235 ten years after entering, and $61,627 at six years. 89% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 85% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

$93,188 to $41,551, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at Butler University:

Butler University median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Computer and Information Sciences, General$93,18826
Management Information Systems and Services$86,79332
Finance and Financial Management Services$77,354120
Insurance$75,95638
Chemistry$73,61922
Economics$72,57224
Accounting and Related Services$72,13644
Marketing$71,635122
Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations$66,95230
Psychology, General$45,15239
Criminology$44,37322
Arts, Entertainment, and Media Management$41,55127

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

85% of first-years return for a second year. 69% graduate within four years and 77% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 69.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 79.0% of everyone else, a gap of 10.0 points.

How big are the classes?

50% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 0% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 11:1, and 100% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Higher Learning Commission.

What is life at Butler University like?

4,418 undergraduates, 41% of first-years from out of state. 86% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 66% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 25% of men join a fraternity and 31% of women a sorority. 13% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $71,968.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten. Butler University recommends 2 academic units.
  • 63% of enrolled students are at a 3.75 GPA or above, averaging 3.84. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • Butler University rates test scores Very Important, so a score at or above its middle-50 range is close to expected rather than optional.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $93,188 five years out against $41,551 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about Butler University

What GPA do you need for Butler University?

63% of enrolled students at Butler University had a high school GPA of 3.75 or above, and the average was 3.84, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

What do Butler University graduates earn?

Butler University graduates earn a median $77,235 ten years after entering, and 89% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with Butler University

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: Butler University’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the Butler University profile