ISU: the complete school report for parents

ISU puts the most weight on course rigor and GPA. The academic record does most of the work. It does not consider legacy and demonstrated interest, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With an 87.9% admit rate and 58% of enrolled students at a 3.75 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Computer Engineering graduates earn a median $111,313 against $41,391 for English Language and Literature, General.

ISU is officially Iowa State University. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
87.9%
24,625 applicants
GPA of admits
3.75+
58% at or above
Testing
Test-optional
Transfer admit rate
80.0%
2,757 applied
Net price (average)
$18,589
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$63,386
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
77%
57% in four
Freshmen who return
89%

What does ISU actually weigh in admissions?

ISU rates 2 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA. It does not consider 4 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is ISU's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

ISU admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow ISU rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresImportant
the essayConsidered
extracurricular activitiesConsidered
recommendationsConsidered
personal qualitiesConsidered
talentConsidered
class rankConsidered
demonstrated interestNot Considered
the interviewConsidered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusNot Considered
geographyConsidered
state residencyConsidered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does ISU consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does ISU consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does ISU consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does ISU consider the application essay?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does ISU consider extracurricular activities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does ISU consider recommendation letters?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does ISU consider character and personal qualities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does ISU consider a special talent or ability?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does ISU consider class rank?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does ISU consider demonstrated interest?

No. ISU does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.

Does ISU consider an interview?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does ISU consider legacy status?

No. ISU does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does ISU consider being first-generation?

No. ISU does not consider it.

Does ISU consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does ISU consider state residency?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does ISU consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does ISU consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does ISU consider religious affiliation?

No. ISU does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

58% of enrolled students had a 3.75 GPA or above. The average was 3.76 on a 4 scale, reported for 99.87% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

ISU high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.030.93%
3.75–3.9926.8%
3.50–3.7418.18%
3.25–3.4911.25%
3.00–3.247.29%
2.50–2.995%
2.00–2.490.4%

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

ISU admitted 80.0% of 2,757 transfer applicants, against 87.9% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

ISU offers neither Early Decision nor Early Action, so there is no early round to strategize about and every applicant is read in one pool.

ISU application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineNot reported
Decisions released2 days after receipt
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredNo
Early Action offeredNo
Application fee$40
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What will ISU actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $18,589 a year at ISU after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $9,530. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 68.6% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 2,537 merit awards averaging $8,830 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

What families at each income level actually paid:

ISU average net price by family income
Family incomeAverage net price per year
Under $30,000$10,582
$30,000–$48,000$11,506
$48,000–$75,000$15,463
$75,000–$110,000$19,605
Over $110,000$22,496

53% of ISU graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $28,851 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $242 a month in repayment. ISU’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from ISU pay off?

Graduates earn a median $63,386 ten years after entering, and $53,873 at six years. 86% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 76% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:

Years for ISU earnings premium to cover four years of net cost
Family incomeFour-year net costYears to pay back
Under $30,000$42,3282.2
$30,000–$48,000$46,0242.4
$48,000–$75,000$61,8523.2
$75,000–$110,000$78,4204.0
Over $110,000$89,9844.6

A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.

$111,313 to $41,391, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at ISU:

ISU median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Computer Engineering$111,313295
Computer Science$108,76296
Chemical Engineering$96,097123
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering$92,551158
Mechanical Engineering$88,697406
Industrial Engineering$88,344132
Civil Engineering$86,261122
Business Administration, Management and Operations$78,149418
Finance and Financial Management Services$75,665225
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology$45,407118
Anthropology$44,01524
English Language and Literature, General$41,39149

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

89% of first-years return for a second year. 57% graduate within four years and 77% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 69.7% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 80.5% of everyone else, a gap of 10.8 points.

How big are the classes?

31% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 9% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 18:1, and 84% of faculty are full-time. Both are true at once: 9% of sections seat 100 or more, and those are the introductory lectures. Accredited by Higher Learning Commission.

What is life at ISU like?

26,346 undergraduates, 46% of first-years from out of state. 89% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 31% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 15% of men join a fraternity and 15% of women a sorority. 20% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $61,269.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
  • 58% of enrolled students are at a 3.75 GPA or above, averaging 3.76. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $111,313 five years out against $41,391 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about ISU

What GPA do you need for ISU?

58% of enrolled students at ISU had a high school GPA of 3.75 or above, and the average was 3.76, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

What do ISU graduates earn?

ISU graduates earn a median $63,386 ten years after entering, and 86% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with ISU

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: ISU’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the ISU profile