University of Minnesota-Twin Cities: the complete school report for parents

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities puts the most weight on course rigor, GPA and class rank. The academic record does most of the work. It does not consider legacy, demonstrated interest and the interview, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. University of Minnesota-Twin Cities admits most applicants who meet its requirements, and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Computer Science graduates earn a median $111,199 against $33,470 for Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft.

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities is officially University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, also known as Umn. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
78.9%
43,929 applicants
GPA of admits
Not reported
Testing
Test-optional
Transfer admit rate
51.3%
6,670 applied
Net price (average)
$16,778
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$69,020
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
85%
74% in four
Freshmen who return
91%

What does University of Minnesota-Twin Cities actually weigh in admissions?

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities rates 3 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, class rank. It does not consider 4 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is University of Minnesota-Twin Cities's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow University of Minnesota-Twin Cities rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayConsidered
extracurricular activitiesConsidered
recommendationsConsidered
personal qualitiesConsidered
talentConsidered
class rankVery Important
demonstrated interestNot Considered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyConsidered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does University of Minnesota-Twin Cities consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does University of Minnesota-Twin Cities consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does University of Minnesota-Twin Cities consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Minnesota-Twin Cities consider the application essay?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Minnesota-Twin Cities consider extracurricular activities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Minnesota-Twin Cities consider recommendation letters?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Minnesota-Twin Cities consider character and personal qualities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Minnesota-Twin Cities consider a special talent or ability?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Minnesota-Twin Cities consider class rank?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does University of Minnesota-Twin Cities consider demonstrated interest?

No. University of Minnesota-Twin Cities does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.

Does University of Minnesota-Twin Cities consider an interview?

No. University of Minnesota-Twin Cities does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does University of Minnesota-Twin Cities consider legacy status?

No. University of Minnesota-Twin Cities does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does University of Minnesota-Twin Cities consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does University of Minnesota-Twin Cities consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Minnesota-Twin Cities consider state residency?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Minnesota-Twin Cities consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Minnesota-Twin Cities consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Minnesota-Twin Cities consider religious affiliation?

No. University of Minnesota-Twin Cities does not consider it.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities admitted 51.3% of 6,670 transfer applicants, against 78.9% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities reports its early rounds below.

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJanuary 1
Decisions releasedWe start to review and release decisions in September of the Fall prior to enrollment. Decisions are released weekly.
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredNo
Early Action offeredYes
Early Action deadlineNovember 1
Application fee$55
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities requires 18 academic units and recommends 19. A college-preparatory program is recommended. A GED is accepted.

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 years4 years
Mathematics4 years4 years
Science3 years4 years
of which lab science1 yearNot stated
Foreign language2 years2 years
Visual / performing arts1 yearNot stated

What will University of Minnesota-Twin Cities actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $16,778 a year at University of Minnesota-Twin Cities after grants and scholarships. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 69.01% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 953 merit awards averaging $6,517 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

What families at each income level actually paid:

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities average net price by family income
Family incomeAverage net price per year
Under $30,000$6,642
$30,000–$48,000$7,283
$48,000–$75,000$9,931
$75,000–$110,000$16,415
Over $110,000$27,008

48% of University of Minnesota-Twin Cities graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $31,793 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $207 a month in repayment. University of Minnesota-Twin Cities’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from University of Minnesota-Twin Cities pay off?

Graduates earn a median $69,020 ten years after entering, and $57,984 at six years. 86% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 75% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:

Years for University of Minnesota-Twin Cities earnings premium to cover four years of net cost
Family incomeFour-year net costYears to pay back
Under $30,000$26,5681.1
$30,000–$48,000$29,1321.2
$48,000–$75,000$39,7241.6
$75,000–$110,000$65,6602.6
Over $110,000$108,0324.3

A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.

$111,199 to $33,470, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at University of Minnesota-Twin Cities:

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Computer Science$111,199533
Computer Systems Analysis$110,382148
Finance and Financial Management Services$102,887328
Mechanical Engineering$95,566202
Accounting and Related Services$92,931140
Marketing$90,462210
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$84,707134
Economics$83,564281
Mathematics$81,554189
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$53,460149
Fishing and Fisheries Sciences and Management$36,8351
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$33,47051

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

91% of first-years return for a second year. 74% graduate within four years and 85% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 80.7% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 87.0% of everyone else, a gap of 6.3 points.

How big are the classes?

36% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 9% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 17:1, and 81% of faculty are full-time. Both are true at once: 9% of sections seat 100 or more, and those are the introductory lectures. Accredited by Higher Learning Commission.

What is life at University of Minnesota-Twin Cities like?

42,565 undergraduates, 28.92% of first-years from out of state. 75.28% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 19.99% across all undergraduates. 19% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $70,741.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten. University of Minnesota-Twin Cities recommends 19 academic units.
  • Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $111,199 five years out against $33,470 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about University of Minnesota-Twin Cities

What do University of Minnesota-Twin Cities graduates earn?

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities graduates earn a median $69,020 ten years after entering, and 86% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with University of Minnesota-Twin Cities

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: University of Minnesota-Twin Cities’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the University of Minnesota-Twin Cities profile