Purdue: the complete school report for parents

Purdue puts the most weight on course rigor, GPA and the essay. A second tier of test scores, extracurricular activities and recommendations carries real weight too. It does not consider legacy and the interview, so family connections carry no weight. With a 43.4% admit rate and 71% of enrolled students at a 3.75 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and a strong test score is close to expected. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Computer Science graduates earn a median $149,545 against $40,186 for Fishing and Fisheries Sciences and Management.

Purdue is officially Purdue University-Main Campus, also known as Purdue-west Lafayette or Purdue-wl. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
43.4%
87,220 applicants
GPA of admits
3.75+
71% at or above
Admitted off waitlist
3,916
of 4,047 who waited
Transfer admit rate
42.6%
4,422 applied
Net price (average)
$14,600
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$72,424
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
84%
66% in four
Freshmen who return
92%

Is Purdue a reach, target or safety for your student?

Enter a GPA and course load and the calculator places Purdue against the figures above. No account needed.

What does Purdue actually weigh in admissions?

Purdue rates 3 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, the essay. It does not consider 3 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Purdue's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

Purdue admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow Purdue rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresImportant
the essayVery Important
extracurricular activitiesImportant
recommendationsImportant
personal qualitiesImportant
talentConsidered
class rankConsidered
demonstrated interestConsidered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusImportant
geographyConsidered
state residencyConsidered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does Purdue consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does Purdue consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Purdue consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Purdue consider the application essay?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The essay is doing as much work as the transcript.

Does Purdue consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Purdue consider recommendation letters?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Purdue consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Purdue consider a special talent or ability?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Purdue consider class rank?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Purdue consider demonstrated interest?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Purdue consider an interview?

No. Purdue does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does Purdue consider legacy status?

No. Purdue does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does Purdue consider being first-generation?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Purdue consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Purdue consider state residency?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Purdue consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Purdue consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Purdue consider religious affiliation?

No. Purdue does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

71% of enrolled students had a 3.75 GPA or above. The average was 3.81 on a 4 scale, reported for 92.76% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

Purdue high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.042.66%
3.75–3.9927.97%
3.50–3.7415.91%
3.25–3.498.22%
3.00–3.243.32%
2.50–2.991.71%
2.00–2.490.19%

What is the Purdue waitlist really like?

Purdue offered a place on its waiting list to 8,981 applicants and 4,047 accepted one. 3,916 were ultimately admitted. That is 96.8% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

Purdue admitted 42.6% of 4,422 transfer applicants, against 43.4% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Purdue reports its early rounds below.

Purdue application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineNot reported
Decisions releasedNot reported
Reply / deposit deadlineNot reported
Early Decision offeredNo
Early Action offeredYes
Early Action deadlineNovember 1
Application fee$60
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredNo

What does my child need to take in high school?

Purdue requires 16 academic units. A college-preparatory program is required. A GED is accepted.

Purdue high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 yearsNot stated
Mathematics4 yearsNot stated
Science3 yearsNot stated
of which lab science3 yearsNot stated
Foreign language2 yearsNot stated

What will Purdue actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $14,600 a year at Purdue after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $9,718. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 65.27% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 55 merit awards averaging $32,105 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

What families at each income level actually paid:

Purdue average net price by family income
Family incomeAverage net price per year
Under $30,000$5,098
$30,000–$48,000$6,241
$48,000–$75,000$9,438
$75,000–$110,000$18,177
Over $110,000$22,742

34% of Purdue graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $31,369 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $207 a month in repayment. Purdue’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from Purdue pay off?

Graduates earn a median $72,424 ten years after entering, and $60,838 at six years. 88% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 78% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:

Years for Purdue earnings premium to cover four years of net cost
Family incomeFour-year net costYears to pay back
Under $30,000$20,3920.7
$30,000–$48,000$24,9640.9
$48,000–$75,000$37,7521.3
$75,000–$110,000$72,7082.6
Over $110,000$90,9683.2

A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.

$149,545 to $40,186, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at Purdue:

Purdue median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Computer Science$149,545439
Computer Engineering$118,081297
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$100,920147
Industrial Engineering$100,438262
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering$97,947298
Mechanical Engineering$97,551430
Statistics$97,489212
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$95,734203
Chemical Engineering$94,979164
Research and Experimental Psychology$49,575285
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$43,18450
Fishing and Fisheries Sciences and Management$40,18653

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

92% of first-years return for a second year. 66% graduate within four years and 84% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 74.7% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 86.3% of everyone else, a gap of 11.6 points.

How big are the classes?

40% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 8% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 14:1, and 96% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Higher Learning Commission.

What is life at Purdue like?

43,633 undergraduates, 52.87% of first-years from out of state. 92.7% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 40.2% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 10% of men join a fraternity and 16.38% of women a sorority. 19% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $68,624.

Purdue does not guarantee housing for new first-year students. University Residences assigns rooms based on availability, giving priority to students who apply by the deadline (5 May for fall 2026, with 15 April recommended for learning communities and roommate matching). No one is required to live in University housing.

Source: New Undergraduate Resident FAQs, Purdue University Residences; FAQs, Purdue University Residences

Post-graduation outcomes are published through the Center for Career Opportunities First Destination Survey.

Source: Office of Undergraduate Research, Purdue University; About Purdue: Facts and Figures; First Destination Survey Data, Purdue CCO

How is Purdue ranked, and how strong is the alumni network?

Purdue reports more than 600,000 alumni; the university does not say whether that figure counts only living graduates.

Source: About Purdue: Facts and Figures

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
  • 71% of enrolled students are at a 3.75 GPA or above, averaging 3.81. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 3,916 of 4,047 who waited were admitted, about 97%.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $149,545 five years out against $40,186 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about Purdue

What GPA do you need for Purdue?

71% of enrolled students at Purdue had a high school GPA of 3.75 or above, and the average was 3.81, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

Does the Purdue waitlist move?

4,047 students accepted a place on the Purdue waiting list and 3,916 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do Purdue graduates earn?

Purdue graduates earn a median $72,424 ten years after entering, and 88% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with Purdue

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: Purdue’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the Purdue profile