BU: the complete school report for parents

BU puts the most weight on course rigor and GPA. The academic record does most of the work. It does not consider legacy and the interview, so family connections carry no weight. With a 12.8% admit rate and 72% of enrolled students at a 3.75 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Transfer applicants are admitted at 35.7% against 12.8% for first-years, so the transfer route is materially wider.

BU is officially Boston University, also known as Boston U. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
12.8%
76,776 applicants
GPA of admits
3.75+
72% at or above
Admitted off waitlist
479
of 10,393 who waited
Transfer admit rate
35.7%
6,761 applied
Net price (average)
$24,402
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$83,238
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
90%
82% in four
Freshmen who return
94%

What does BU actually weigh in admissions?

BU rates 2 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA. It does not consider 4 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is BU's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

BU admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow BU rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayImportant
extracurricular activitiesImportant
recommendationsImportant
personal qualitiesImportant
talentNot Considered
class rankImportant
demonstrated interestConsidered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyConsidered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does BU consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does BU consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does BU consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does BU consider the application essay?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does BU consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does BU consider recommendation letters?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does BU consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does BU consider a special talent or ability?

No. BU does not consider it.

Does BU consider class rank?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does BU consider demonstrated interest?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does BU consider an interview?

No. BU does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does BU consider legacy status?

No. BU does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does BU consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does BU consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does BU consider state residency?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does BU consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does BU consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does BU consider religious affiliation?

No. BU does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

72% of enrolled students had a 3.75 GPA or above. The average was 3.86 on a 4 scale, reported for 100% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

BU high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.036%
3.75–3.9936%
3.50–3.7427%
3.25–3.491%
3.00–3.240%
2.50–2.990%
2.00–2.490%

What is the BU waitlist really like?

BU offered a place on its waiting list to 16,135 applicants and 10,393 accepted one. 479 were ultimately admitted. That is 4.6% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

BU admitted 35.7% of 6,761 transfer applicants, against 12.8% of first-year applicants. For a student who does not get in at eighteen, the transfer route is a genuinely wider door and worth planning for deliberately.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Applying Early Decision changes the odds materially: 31.3% of ED applicants were admitted against 12.8% overall, a gap of 19 points. ED is binding, so that advantage costs the ability to compare financial-aid offers.

BU application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJanuary 5
Decisions releasedApril 1
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 1
Early Decision II offeredYes
Early Decision II deadlineJanuary 5
Early Action offeredNo
Application fee$80
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

BU requires 15 academic units. A college-preparatory program is required. A GED is accepted.

BU high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 yearsNot stated
Mathematics3 yearsNot stated
Science3 yearsNot stated
Foreign language2 yearsNot stated

What will BU actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $24,402 a year at BU after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $69,870. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 98% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 116 merit awards averaging $42,227 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

34% of BU graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $36,774 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $246 a month in repayment. BU’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from BU pay off?

Graduates earn a median $83,238 ten years after entering, and $65,655 at six years. 87% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 82% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

$138,076 to $35,979, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at BU:

BU median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Computer Engineering$138,076122
Computer Science$137,182294
Business Administration, Management and Operations$102,943678
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$98,562126
Mechanical Engineering$94,926149
Economics$88,959305
Communication and Media Studies$84,361134
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$75,810179
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$75,390151
Hospitality Administration/Management$51,21472
Music$41,31640
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$35,97959

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

94% of first-years return for a second year. 82% graduate within four years and 90% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 92.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 89.0% of everyone else, a gap of -3.0 points.

How big are the classes?

58% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 5% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 10:1, and 70% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by New England Commission on Higher Education.

What is life at BU like?

18,289 undergraduates, 82% of first-years from out of state. 99% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 57% across all undergraduates. 17% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $83,140.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
  • 72% of enrolled students are at a 3.75 GPA or above, averaging 3.86. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • Early Decision is worth 19 points of admit rate, but it is binding and removes any ability to compare aid offers.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 479 of 10,393 who waited were admitted, about 5%.
  • If the first-year answer is no, the transfer route is genuinely wider here and worth planning for from the first semester of college.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $138,076 five years out against $35,979 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about BU

What GPA do you need for BU?

72% of enrolled students at BU had a high school GPA of 3.75 or above, and the average was 3.86, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

Does the BU waitlist move?

10,393 students accepted a place on the BU waiting list and 479 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do BU graduates earn?

BU graduates earn a median $83,238 ten years after entering, and 87% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with BU

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: BU’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the BU profile