Cornell: the complete school report for parents

Cornell rates 6 of the 18 admission factors Very Important, among them course rigor, the essay and extracurricular activities. This is a genuinely holistic review. It does not consider demonstrated interest, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. Cornell admits fewer than 1 in 10 applicants, and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Applying Early Decision changes the odds sharply here: 18.8% of ED applicants were admitted against 8.4% overall.

Cornell is officially Cornell University. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
8.4%
72,523 applicants
GPA of admits
Not reported
Admitted off waitlist
254
of 6,598 who waited
Transfer admit rate
11.7%
7,381 applied
Net price (average)
$28,690
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$104,043
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
95%
86% in four
Freshmen who return
98%

What does Cornell actually weigh in admissions?

Cornell rates 6 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, the essay, extracurricular activities, recommendations, personal qualities, talent. It does not consider 2 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Cornell's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

Cornell admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow Cornell rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAImportant
test scoresConsidered
the essayVery Important
extracurricular activitiesVery Important
recommendationsVery Important
personal qualitiesVery Important
talentVery Important
class rankImportant
demonstrated interestNot Considered
the interviewConsidered
legacyConsidered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyConsidered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does Cornell consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does Cornell consider GPA?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Cornell consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Cornell consider the application essay?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The essay is doing as much work as the transcript.

Does Cornell consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Cornell consider recommendation letters?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Cornell consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Cornell consider a special talent or ability?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Cornell consider class rank?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Cornell consider demonstrated interest?

No. Cornell does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.

Does Cornell consider an interview?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Cornell consider legacy status?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. It can act as a tiebreaker but will not carry a weak application.

Does Cornell consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does Cornell consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Cornell consider state residency?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Cornell consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Cornell consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Cornell consider religious affiliation?

No. Cornell does not consider it.

What is the Cornell waitlist really like?

Cornell offered a place on its waiting list to 9,720 applicants and 6,598 accepted one. 254 were ultimately admitted. That is 3.8% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

Cornell admitted 11.7% of 7,381 transfer applicants, against 8.4% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Applying Early Decision changes the odds materially: 18.8% of ED applicants were admitted against 8.4% overall, a gap of 10 points. ED is binding, so that advantage costs the ability to compare financial-aid offers.

Cornell application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJanuary 2
Decisions releasedApril 5
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 1
Early Action offeredNo
Application fee$85
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What will Cornell actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $28,690 a year at Cornell after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $73,946. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 100% of demonstrated need on average.

33% of Cornell graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $25,655 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $148 a month in repayment. Cornell’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from Cornell pay off?

Graduates earn a median $104,043 ten years after entering, and $87,830 at six years. 91% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 87% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

$219,827 to $50,679, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at Cornell:

Cornell median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Computer Science$219,827504
Mathematics$162,76393
Operations Research$151,07180
Computer and Information Sciences, General$140,860220
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$131,28387
Agricultural Business and Management$130,690190
Economics$129,667182
Human Resources Management and Services$120,368282
Mechanical Engineering$113,983132
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$61,505101
Animal Sciences$51,67075
Plant Sciences$50,67925

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

98% of first-years return for a second year. 86% graduate within four years and 95% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 89.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 96.0% of everyone else, a gap of 7.0 points.

How big are the classes?

53% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 8% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 9:1, and 93% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

What is life at Cornell like?

16,138 undergraduates, 65.8% of first-years from out of state. 98.9% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 55.4% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 23% of men join a fraternity and 19% of women a sorority. 15% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $80,346.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
  • Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
  • Early Decision is worth 10 points of admit rate, but it is binding and removes any ability to compare aid offers.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 254 of 6,598 who waited were admitted, about 4%.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $219,827 five years out against $50,679 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about Cornell

Does the Cornell waitlist move?

6,598 students accepted a place on the Cornell waiting list and 254 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do Cornell graduates earn?

Cornell graduates earn a median $104,043 ten years after entering, and 91% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with Cornell

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: Cornell’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the Cornell profile