Swarthmore: the complete school report for parents

Swarthmore rates 6 of the 18 admission factors Very Important, among them course rigor, GPA and the essay. This is a genuinely holistic review. It does not consider demonstrated interest, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. Swarthmore admits fewer than 1 in 10 applicants, and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Applying Early Decision changes the odds sharply here: 17.8% of ED applicants were admitted against 7.5% overall.

Swarthmore is officially Swarthmore College, also known as Swat. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
7.5%
12,995 applicants
GPA of admits
Not reported
Admitted off waitlist
14
of 14 who waited
Transfer admit rate
10.0%
421 applied
Net price (average)
$23,149
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$80,257
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
92%
72% in four
Freshmen who return
98%

Is Swarthmore a reach, target or safety for your student?

Enter a GPA and course load and the calculator places Swarthmore against the figures above. No account needed.

What does Swarthmore actually weigh in admissions?

Swarthmore rates 6 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, the essay, recommendations, personal qualities, class rank. It does not consider 1 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Swarthmore's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

Swarthmore admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow Swarthmore rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayVery Important
extracurricular activitiesConsidered
recommendationsVery Important
personal qualitiesVery Important
talentConsidered
class rankVery Important
demonstrated interestNot Considered
the interviewConsidered
legacyConsidered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyConsidered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationConsidered

Does Swarthmore consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does Swarthmore consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Swarthmore consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Swarthmore consider the application essay?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The essay is doing as much work as the transcript.

Does Swarthmore consider extracurricular activities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Swarthmore consider recommendation letters?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Swarthmore consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Swarthmore consider a special talent or ability?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Swarthmore consider class rank?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Swarthmore consider demonstrated interest?

No. Swarthmore does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.

Does Swarthmore consider an interview?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Swarthmore consider legacy status?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. It can act as a tiebreaker but will not carry a weak application.

Does Swarthmore consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does Swarthmore consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Swarthmore consider state residency?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Swarthmore consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Swarthmore consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Swarthmore consider religious affiliation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

What is the Swarthmore waitlist really like?

Swarthmore offered a place on its waiting list to applicants and 14 accepted one. 14 were ultimately admitted. That is 100.0% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

Swarthmore admitted 10.0% of 421 transfer applicants, against 7.5% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Applying Early Decision changes the odds materially: 17.8% of ED applicants were admitted against 7.5% overall, a gap of 10 points. ED is binding, so that advantage costs the ability to compare financial-aid offers.

Swarthmore application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJanuary 4
Decisions releasedApril 1
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 15
Early Decision II offeredYes
Early Decision II deadlineJanuary 4
Early Action offeredNo
Application fee$60
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What will Swarthmore actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $23,149 a year at Swarthmore after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $68,766. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 100% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 1 merit awards averaging $64,946 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

18% of Swarthmore graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $22,817 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $186 a month in repayment. Swarthmore’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from Swarthmore pay off?

Graduates earn a median $80,257 ten years after entering, and $56,211 at six years. 87% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 86% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

$153,172 to $63,282, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at Swarthmore:

Swarthmore median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Computer and Information Sciences, General$153,17254
Mathematics$143,22353
Economics$136,02180
Political Science and Government$78,20436
Biology, General$69,48530
Education, Other$63,28219

College Scorecard, by field of study.

Will my child actually graduate?

98% of first-years return for a second year. 72% graduate within four years and 92% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 89.3% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 92.0% of everyone else, a gap of 2.7 points.

How big are the classes?

70% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 1% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 7:1, and 94% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

What is life at Swarthmore like?

1,631 undergraduates, 85.91% of first-years from out of state. 100% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 93.72% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 0% of men join a fraternity and 0% of women a sorority. 27% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $78,121.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
  • Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
  • Early Decision is worth 10 points of admit rate, but it is binding and removes any ability to compare aid offers.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 14 of 14 who waited were admitted, about 100%.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $153,172 five years out against $63,282 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about Swarthmore

Does the Swarthmore waitlist move?

14 students accepted a place on the Swarthmore waiting list and 14 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do Swarthmore graduates earn?

Swarthmore graduates earn a median $80,257 ten years after entering, and 87% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with Swarthmore

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: Swarthmore’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the Swarthmore profile