UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington: the complete school report for parents

UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington rates 4 of the 18 admission factors Very Important, among them course rigor, GPA and the essay. A second tier of extracurricular activities, talent and first-generation status carries real weight too. It does not consider test scores, legacy and demonstrated interest, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 41.8% admit rate and 76% of enrolled students at a 3.75 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are not part of the picture. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Computer Engineering graduates earn a median $223,690 against $38,699 for Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities.

UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington is officially University of Washington-Seattle Campus, also known as Uw Seattle. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
41.8%
72,933 applicants
GPA of admits
3.75+
76% at or above
Admitted off waitlist
2,252
of 8,350 who waited
Transfer admit rate
42.4%
5,830 applied
Net price (average)
$14,091
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$78,466
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
85%
Freshmen who return
95%

What does UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington actually weigh in admissions?

UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington rates 4 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, the essay, state residency. It does not consider 8 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresNot Considered
the essayVery Important
extracurricular activitiesImportant
recommendationsNot Considered
personal qualitiesConsidered
talentImportant
class rankNot Considered
demonstrated interestNot Considered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusImportant
geographyNot Considered
state residencyVery Important
volunteer workImportant
work experienceImportant
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington consider SAT or ACT scores?

No. UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington is test-blind, so SAT and ACT scores are not read even if you send them.

Does UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington consider the application essay?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The essay is doing as much work as the transcript.

Does UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington consider recommendation letters?

No. UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington does not consider it.

Does UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington consider character and personal qualities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington consider a special talent or ability?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington consider class rank?

No. UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington does not consider it. A school that does not rank its students is not a disadvantage.

Does UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington consider demonstrated interest?

No. UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.

Does UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington consider an interview?

No. UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington consider legacy status?

No. UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington consider being first-generation?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington consider where we live?

No. UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington does not consider it.

Does UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington consider state residency?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. Residency changes the odds materially.

Does UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington consider volunteer work?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington consider work experience?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington consider religious affiliation?

No. UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

76% of enrolled students had a 3.75 GPA or above. The average was 3.84 on a 4 scale, reported for 99.87% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.018.12%
3.75–3.9958.07%
3.50–3.7418.08%
3.25–3.494.42%
3.00–3.241%
2.50–2.990.24%
2.00–2.490.07%

What is the UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington waitlist really like?

UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington offered a place on its waiting list to 15,363 applicants and 8,350 accepted one. 2,252 were ultimately admitted. That is 27.0% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington admitted 42.4% of 5,830 transfer applicants, against 41.8% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington offers neither Early Decision nor Early Action, so there is no early round to strategize about and every applicant is read in one pool.

UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineNovember 15
Decisions releasedMarch 15
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredNo
Early Action offeredNo
Application fee$80
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredNo

What does my child need to take in high school?

UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington requires 16 academic units. A college-preparatory program is required.

UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 yearsNot stated
Mathematics3 yearsNot stated
Science3 yearsNot stated
of which lab science2 yearsNot stated
Foreign language2 yearsNot stated
Visual / performing arts0.5 yearsNot stated

What will UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $14,091 a year at UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $12,260. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 74% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 628 merit awards averaging $4,399 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

What families at each income level actually paid:

UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington average net price by family income
Family incomeAverage net price per year
Under $30,000$6,384
$30,000–$48,000$7,039
$48,000–$75,000$8,110
$75,000–$110,000$14,328
Over $110,000$30,019

26% of UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $19,384 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $155 a month in repayment. UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington pay off?

Graduates earn a median $78,466 ten years after entering, and $62,979 at six years. 86% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 79% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:

Years for UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington earnings premium to cover four years of net cost
Family incomeFour-year net costYears to pay back
Under $30,000$25,5360.7
$30,000–$48,000$28,1560.8
$48,000–$75,000$32,4400.9
$75,000–$110,000$57,3121.7
Over $110,000$120,0763.5

A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.

$223,690 to $38,699, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington:

UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Computer Engineering$223,69049
Computer Science$162,117494
Computer and Information Sciences, General$121,341565
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$108,406226
Finance and Financial Management Services$106,265295
Mathematics$96,036200
Economics$92,399328
Marketing$81,356188
Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology$72,792290
Natural Resources Conservation and Research$57,124184
Rhetoric and Composition/Writing Studies$42,37242
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$38,69910

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

95% of first-years return for a second year. 85% within six (2019 cohort).

How big are the classes?

29% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 12% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 20:1, and 80% of faculty are full-time. Both are true at once: 12% of sections seat 100 or more, and those are the introductory lectures. Accredited by Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.

What is life at UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington like?

40,996 undergraduates, 28.63% of first-years from out of state. 70% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 24.4% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 6.76% of men join a fraternity and 9.13% of women a sorority. 33% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $69,752.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
  • 76% of enrolled students are at a 3.75 GPA or above, averaging 3.84. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • Do not spend money on test preparation for UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington: scores are not read even if you send them.
  • Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 2,252 of 8,350 who waited were admitted, about 27%.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $223,690 five years out against $38,699 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington

What GPA do you need for UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington?

76% of enrolled students at UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington had a high school GPA of 3.75 or above, and the average was 3.84, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

Does the UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington waitlist move?

8,350 students accepted a place on the UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington waiting list and 2,252 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington graduates earn?

UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington graduates earn a median $78,466 ten years after entering, and 86% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the UW-Seattle, UDub, UW, Washington profile