Jacksonville State: the complete school report for parents

Jacksonville State puts the most weight on GPA. It does not consider legacy, demonstrated interest and the interview, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 73.2% admit rate and 55% of enrolled students at a 3.50 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong.

Jacksonville State is officially Jacksonville State University. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
73.2%
11,273 applicants
GPA of admits
3.50+
55% at or above
Testing
Test-optional
Transfer admit rate
62.5%
1,267 applied
Net price (average)
$14,279
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$45,235
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
48%
29% in four
Freshmen who return
67%

Is Jacksonville State a reach, target or safety for your student?

Enter a GPA and course load and the calculator places Jacksonville State against the figures above. No account needed.

What does Jacksonville State actually weigh in admissions?

Jacksonville State rates 1 of the 18 factors "Very Important": GPA. It does not consider 16 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Jacksonville State's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

Jacksonville State admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow Jacksonville State rates it
course rigorNot Considered
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayNot Considered
extracurricular activitiesNot Considered
recommendationsNot Considered
personal qualitiesNot Considered
talentNot Considered
class rankNot Considered
demonstrated interestNot Considered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusNot Considered
geographyNot Considered
state residencyNot Considered
volunteer workNot Considered
work experienceNot Considered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does Jacksonville State consider how hard my child’s courses were?

No. Jacksonville State does not consider it.

Does Jacksonville State consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Jacksonville State consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Jacksonville State consider the application essay?

No. Jacksonville State does not consider it.

Does Jacksonville State consider extracurricular activities?

No. Jacksonville State does not consider it.

Does Jacksonville State consider recommendation letters?

No. Jacksonville State does not consider it.

Does Jacksonville State consider character and personal qualities?

No. Jacksonville State does not consider it.

Does Jacksonville State consider a special talent or ability?

No. Jacksonville State does not consider it.

Does Jacksonville State consider class rank?

No. Jacksonville State does not consider it. A school that does not rank its students is not a disadvantage.

Does Jacksonville State consider demonstrated interest?

No. Jacksonville State does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.

Does Jacksonville State consider an interview?

No. Jacksonville State does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does Jacksonville State consider legacy status?

No. Jacksonville State does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does Jacksonville State consider being first-generation?

No. Jacksonville State does not consider it.

Does Jacksonville State consider where we live?

No. Jacksonville State does not consider it.

Does Jacksonville State consider state residency?

No. Jacksonville State does not consider it.

Does Jacksonville State consider volunteer work?

No. Jacksonville State does not consider it.

Does Jacksonville State consider work experience?

No. Jacksonville State does not consider it.

Does Jacksonville State consider religious affiliation?

No. Jacksonville State does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

55% of enrolled students had a 3.50 GPA or above. The average was 3.45 on a 4 scale, reported for 85.25% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

Jacksonville State high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.030.2%
3.75–3.997.2%
3.50–3.7417.7%
3.25–3.4912.3%
3.00–3.2413.1%
2.50–2.9911.7%
2.00–2.497.7%

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

Jacksonville State admitted 62.5% of 1,267 transfer applicants, against 73.2% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Jacksonville State reports its early rounds below.

Jacksonville State application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineNot reported
Decisions releasedSeptember 1
Reply / deposit deadlineNot reported
Early Decision offeredNot reported
Early Action offeredNo
Application fee$35
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredNot reported

What will Jacksonville State actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $14,279 a year at Jacksonville State after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $353. The published price is not what most families pay.

What families at each income level actually paid:

Jacksonville State average net price by family income
Family incomeAverage net price per year
Under $30,000$12,472
$30,000–$48,000$12,622
$48,000–$75,000$15,343
$75,000–$110,000$17,480
Over $110,000$18,183

, which the federal data puts at about $235 a month in repayment Jacksonville State’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from Jacksonville State pay off?

Graduates earn a median $45,235 ten years after entering, and $40,158 at six years. 72% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 42% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:

Years for Jacksonville State earnings premium to cover four years of net cost
Family incomeFour-year net costYears to pay back
Under $30,000$49,88840.4
$30,000–$48,000$50,48840.9
$48,000–$75,000$61,37249.7
$75,000–$110,000$69,92056.6
Over $110,000$72,73258.9

A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.

$76,445 to $34,059, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at Jacksonville State:

Jacksonville State median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$76,445295
Computer and Information Sciences, General$65,54624
Accounting and Related Services$63,29835
Finance and Financial Management Services$58,73225
Business Administration, Management and Operations$49,34077
Music$48,79045
Health Services/Allied Health/Health Sciences, General$48,32266
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$45,498157
Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities$43,553106
Psychology, General$37,22838
Fine and Studio Arts$37,13725
Family and Consumer Sciences/Human Sciences, General$34,05922

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

67% of first-years return for a second year. 29% graduate within four years and 48% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 41.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 55.3% of everyone else, a gap of 14.3 points.

How big are the classes?

44% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 1% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 19:1, and 65% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

What is life at Jacksonville State like?

9,028 undergraduates, 20.1% of first-years from out of state. 67.03% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 24.97% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 20.06% of men join a fraternity and 22.24% of women a sorority. 36% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $48,389.

What this means for your student

  • 55% of enrolled students are at a 3.50 GPA or above, averaging 3.45. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $76,445 five years out against $34,059 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about Jacksonville State

What GPA do you need for Jacksonville State?

55% of enrolled students at Jacksonville State had a high school GPA of 3.50 or above, and the average was 3.45, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

What do Jacksonville State graduates earn?

Jacksonville State graduates earn a median $45,235 ten years after entering, and 72% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with Jacksonville State

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: Jacksonville State’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the Jacksonville State profile