Elon University: the complete school report for parents

Elon University rates 7 of the 18 admission factors Very Important, among them course rigor, GPA and the essay. A second tier of extracurricular activities, talent and legacy carries real weight too. It does not consider test scores. With a 63.3% admit rate and 59% of enrolled students at a 4.0 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Applying Early Decision changes the odds sharply here: 86.1% of ED applicants were admitted against 63.3% overall.

Elon University is officially Elon University. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
63.3%
18,557 applicants
GPA of admits
4.0+
59% at or above
Admitted off waitlist
98
of 835 who waited
Transfer admit rate
57.9%
475 applied
Net price (average)
$41,555
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$74,545
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
Not reported
Freshmen who return
89%

What does Elon University actually weigh in admissions?

Elon University rates 7 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, the essay, recommendations, demonstrated interest, volunteer work, work experience. It does not consider 2 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Elon University's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

Elon University admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow Elon University rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresNot Considered
the essayVery Important
extracurricular activitiesImportant
recommendationsVery Important
personal qualitiesConsidered
talentImportant
class rankConsidered
demonstrated interestVery Important
the interviewNot reported
legacyImportant
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyConsidered
volunteer workVery Important
work experienceVery Important
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does Elon University consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does Elon University consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Elon University consider SAT or ACT scores?

No. Elon University does not consider it. Scores are not read even if you send them, so testing budget is better spent elsewhere.

Does Elon University consider the application essay?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The essay is doing as much work as the transcript.

Does Elon University consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Elon University consider recommendation letters?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Elon University consider character and personal qualities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Elon University consider a special talent or ability?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Elon University consider class rank?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Elon University consider demonstrated interest?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. Visits, emails and opened mail are tracked and counted, so engage early.

Does Elon University consider an interview?

Not reported in the most recent Common Data Set.

Does Elon University consider legacy status?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Elon University consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does Elon University consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Elon University consider state residency?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Elon University consider volunteer work?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Elon University consider work experience?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Elon University consider religious affiliation?

No. Elon University does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

59% of enrolled students had a 4.0 GPA or above. The average was 3.88 on a 4.0 scale, reported for 86.42% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

Elon University high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.058.83%
3.75–3.9910.67%
3.50–3.7410.44%
3.25–3.498.56%
3.00–3.246.54%
2.50–2.994.73%
2.00–2.490.23%

What is the Elon University waitlist really like?

Elon University offered a place on its waiting list to 4,214 applicants and 835 accepted one. 98 were ultimately admitted. That is 11.7% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

Elon University admitted 57.9% of 475 transfer applicants, against 63.3% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.7.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Applying Early Decision changes the odds materially: 86.1% of ED applicants were admitted against 63.3% overall, a gap of 23 points. ED is binding, so that advantage costs the ability to compare financial-aid offers.

Elon University application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJanuary 10
Decisions releasedNot reported
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineDecember 1
Early Action offeredYes
Early Action deadlineNovember 1
Application fee$60
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

Elon University requires 16 academic units and recommends 18. A college-preparatory program is required. A GED is accepted.

Elon University high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 years4 years
Mathematics3 years4 years
Science3 years3 years
of which lab science1 yearNot stated
Foreign language2 years3 years
History1 yearNot stated

What will Elon University actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $41,555 a year at Elon University after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $50,386. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 73% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 622 merit awards averaging $12,646 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

15% of Elon University graduates borrow, which the federal data puts at about $217 a month in repayment. Elon University’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from Elon University pay off?

Graduates earn a median $74,545 ten years after entering, and $58,082 at six years. 84% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 83% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

$106,904 to $43,297, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at Elon University:

Elon University median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Finance and Financial Management Services$106,904152
Accounting and Related Services$103,37456
Economics$95,43144
Marketing$86,296122
Communication and Media Studies$74,00238
Political Science and Government$70,66789
Public Health$66,89648
Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness$63,499108
Journalism$62,02633
Psychology, General$58,985111
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$48,25245
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$43,29739

College Scorecard, by field of study.

Will my child actually graduate?

89% of first-years return for a second year.

How big are the classes?

51% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 0% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 11:1, and 82% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

What is life at Elon University like?

6,191 undergraduates, 74% of first-years from out of state. 99% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 70% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 20% of men join a fraternity and 39% of women a sorority. 9% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $81,102.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten. Elon University recommends 18 academic units.
  • 59% of enrolled students are at a 4.0 GPA or above, averaging 3.88. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • Early Decision is worth 23 points of admit rate, but it is binding and removes any ability to compare aid offers.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 98 of 835 who waited were admitted, about 12%.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $106,904 five years out against $43,297 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about Elon University

What GPA do you need for Elon University?

59% of enrolled students at Elon University had a high school GPA of 4.0 or above, and the average was 3.88, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

Does the Elon University waitlist move?

835 students accepted a place on the Elon University waiting list and 98 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do Elon University graduates earn?

Elon University graduates earn a median $74,545 ten years after entering, and 84% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with Elon University

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: Elon University’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the Elon University profile