TROY: the complete school report for parents
TROY puts the most weight on course rigor, GPA and test scores. The academic record does most of the work. It does not consider legacy, demonstrated interest and the interview, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 95.3% admit rate and 59% of enrolled students at a 3.25 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and a strong test score is close to expected.
TROY is officially Troy University. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.
What does TROY actually weigh in admissions?
TROY rates 3 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, test scores. It does not consider 15 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is TROY's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.
| Factor | How TROY rates it |
|---|---|
| course rigor | Very Important |
| GPA | Very Important |
| test scores | Very Important |
| the essay | Not Considered |
| extracurricular activities | Not Considered |
| recommendations | Not Considered |
| personal qualities | Not Considered |
| talent | Not Considered |
| class rank | Not Considered |
| demonstrated interest | Not Considered |
| the interview | Not Considered |
| legacy | Not Considered |
| first-generation status | Not Considered |
| geography | Not Considered |
| state residency | Not Considered |
| volunteer work | Not Considered |
| work experience | Not Considered |
| religious affiliation | Not Considered |
Does TROY consider how hard my child’s courses were?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
Does TROY consider GPA?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors.
Does TROY consider SAT or ACT scores?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors. A score at or above the middle-50 range is close to expected here.
Does TROY consider the application essay?
No. TROY does not consider it.
Does TROY consider extracurricular activities?
No. TROY does not consider it.
Does TROY consider recommendation letters?
No. TROY does not consider it.
Does TROY consider character and personal qualities?
No. TROY does not consider it.
Does TROY consider a special talent or ability?
No. TROY does not consider it.
Does TROY consider class rank?
No. TROY does not consider it. A school that does not rank its students is not a disadvantage.
Does TROY consider demonstrated interest?
No. TROY does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.
Does TROY consider an interview?
No. TROY does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.
Does TROY consider legacy status?
No. TROY does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.
Does TROY consider being first-generation?
No. TROY does not consider it.
Does TROY consider where we live?
No. TROY does not consider it.
Does TROY consider state residency?
No. TROY does not consider it.
Does TROY consider volunteer work?
No. TROY does not consider it.
Does TROY consider work experience?
No. TROY does not consider it.
Does TROY consider religious affiliation?
No. TROY does not consider it.
What GPA do admitted students actually have?
59% of enrolled students had a 3.25 GPA or above. The average was 3.41 on a 4 scale, reported for 92% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.
| High school GPA | Share of enrolled students |
|---|---|
| 4.0 | 22.4% |
| 3.75–3.99 | 12.5% |
| 3.50–3.74 | 11.6% |
| 3.25–3.49 | 12.1% |
| 3.00–3.24 | 12.6% |
| 2.50–2.99 | 20.1% |
| 2.00–2.49 | 8% |
Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?
TROY admitted 93.1% of 1,782 transfer applicants, against 95.3% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.
When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?
TROY offers neither Early Decision nor Early Action, so there is no early round to strategize about and every applicant is read in one pool.
| Regular application deadline | Not reported |
|---|---|
| Decisions released | Rolling basis beginning June 1 |
| Reply / deposit deadline | No set date |
| Early Decision offered | No |
| Early Action offered | No |
| Application fee | $30 |
| Fee waiver available | Yes |
| Deferred admission offered | Yes |
What does my child need to take in high school?
TROY requires 15 academic units. A college-preparatory program is recommended. A GED is accepted.
| Subject | Required | Recommended |
|---|---|---|
| English | 3 years | Not stated |
What will TROY actually cost us?
Families pay an average of $16,527 a year at TROY after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $11,460. The published price is not what most families pay. It also gave 232 merit awards averaging $11,585 to first-years with no demonstrated need.
What families at each income level actually paid:
| Family income | Average net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $12,656 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $12,042 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $14,321 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $18,406 |
| Over $110,000 | $22,139 |
86% of TROY graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $26,972 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $265 a month in repayment. TROY’s net price calculator gives your own figure.
Does a degree from TROY pay off?
Graduates earn a median $42,062 ten years after entering, and $39,392 at six years. 69% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 35% are actively paying down their loans three years in.
$74,217 to $32,570, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at TROY:
| Major | Median earnings, 5 years | Graduates a year |
|---|---|---|
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | $74,217 | 122 |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | $66,404 | 137 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $60,066 | 344 |
| Political Science and Government | $59,990 | 50 |
| Biology, General | $59,950 | 76 |
| Accounting and Related Services | $57,171 | 35 |
| Social Sciences, General | $52,917 | 35 |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | $47,577 | 60 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | $46,496 | 153 |
| Psychology, General | $41,575 | 267 |
| Sociology | $40,681 | 18 |
| English Language and Literature, General | $32,570 | 36 |
College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.
Will my child actually graduate?
70% of first-years return for a second year. 51% within six (Fall 2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 40.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 61.0% of everyone else, a gap of 21.0 points.
How big are the classes?
31% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 5% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 16:1, and 48% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.
What is life at TROY like?
10,130 undergraduates, 28% of first-years from out of state. 58% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 17% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 13% of men join a fraternity and 14% of women a sorority. 39% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $49,132.
What this means for your student
- Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
- 59% of enrolled students are at a 3.25 GPA or above, averaging 3.41. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
- TROY rates test scores Very Important, so a score at or above its middle-50 range is close to expected rather than optional.
- Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
- Its highest-earning major returns $74,217 five years out against $32,570 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
- See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.
Common questions about TROY
What GPA do you need for TROY?
59% of enrolled students at TROY had a high school GPA of 3.25 or above, and the average was 3.41, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.
What do TROY graduates earn?
TROY graduates earn a median $42,062 ten years after entering, and 69% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.
Other schools families compare with TROY
- FITAdmissions report · 67.0% admit rate
- Berklee School of MusicAdmissions report · 55.1% admit rate
- Centre College of KentuckyAdmissions report · 48.2% admit rate
- RhodesAdmissions report · 51.5% admit rate
- Elon UniversityAdmissions report · 63.3% admit rate
- Butler UniversityAdmissions report · 82.1% admit rate
Where these numbers come from
Admissions figures: TROY’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.