FIT: the complete school report for parents

FIT rates 4 of the 18 admission factors Very Important, among them course rigor, GPA and the essay. It does not consider test scores, legacy and demonstrated interest, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 67.0% admit rate and 50% of enrolled students at a 3.50 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are not part of the picture.

FIT is officially Fashion Institute of Technology. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
67.0%
3,583 applicants
GPA of admits
3.50+
50% at or above
Admitted off waitlist
197
Transfer admit rate
63.7%
1,630 applied
Net price (average)
$19,095
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$62,696
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
Not reported
Freshmen who return
88%

What does FIT actually weigh in admissions?

FIT rates 4 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, the essay, talent. It does not consider 8 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is FIT's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

FIT admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow FIT rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresNot Considered
the essayVery Important
extracurricular activitiesConsidered
recommendationsNot Considered
personal qualitiesConsidered
talentVery Important
class rankConsidered
demonstrated interestNot Considered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyNot Considered
state residencyNot Considered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does FIT consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does FIT consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does FIT consider SAT or ACT scores?

No. FIT is test-blind, so SAT and ACT scores are not read even if you send them.

Does FIT consider the application essay?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The essay is doing as much work as the transcript.

Does FIT consider extracurricular activities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does FIT consider recommendation letters?

No. FIT does not consider it.

Does FIT consider character and personal qualities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does FIT consider a special talent or ability?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does FIT consider class rank?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does FIT consider demonstrated interest?

No. FIT does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.

Does FIT consider an interview?

No. FIT does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does FIT consider legacy status?

No. FIT does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does FIT consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does FIT consider where we live?

No. FIT does not consider it.

Does FIT consider state residency?

No. FIT does not consider it.

Does FIT consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does FIT consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does FIT consider religious affiliation?

No. FIT does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

50% of enrolled students had a 3.50 GPA or above. The average was 3.6 on a 4 scale, reported for 98% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

FIT high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.011.9%
3.75–3.9919.9%
3.50–3.7418.6%
3.25–3.4919.3%
3.00–3.2415.7%
2.50–2.999.3%
2.00–2.494.4%

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

FIT admitted 63.7% of 1,630 transfer applicants, against 67.0% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 3.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

FIT offers neither Early Decision nor Early Action, so there is no early round to strategize about and every applicant is read in one pool.

FIT application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineAugust 15
Decisions releasedApril 1
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredNo
Early Action offeredNo
Application fee$50
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What will FIT actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $19,095 a year at FIT after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $5,790. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 52% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 98 merit awards averaging $1,015 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

What families at each income level actually paid:

FIT average net price by family income
Family incomeAverage net price per year
Under $30,000$14,117
$30,000–$48,000$16,238
$48,000–$75,000$20,406
$75,000–$110,000$21,979
Over $110,000$26,070

41% of FIT graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $27,358 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $127 a month in repayment. FIT’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from FIT pay off?

Graduates earn a median $62,696 ten years after entering, and $50,102 at six years. 74% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 69% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:

Years for FIT earnings premium to cover four years of net cost
Family incomeFour-year net costYears to pay back
Under $30,000$56,4683.0
$30,000–$48,000$64,9523.5
$48,000–$75,000$81,6244.4
$75,000–$110,000$87,9164.7
Over $110,000$104,2805.6

A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.

$68,906 to $37,854, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at FIT:

FIT median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Specialized Sales, Merchandising and Marketing Operations$68,906445
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$66,374254
Marketing$63,836148
Apparel and Textiles$62,26156
Design and Applied Arts$58,599592
Fine and Studio Arts$52,31337
Arts, Entertainment, and Media Management$37,85416

College Scorecard, by field of study.

Will my child actually graduate?

88% of first-years return for a second year.

How big are the classes?

The student-faculty ratio is 16:1, and 100% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

What is life at FIT like?

7,880 undergraduates, 40% of first-years from out of state. 58% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 28% across all undergraduates. 28% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $70,754.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
  • 50% of enrolled students are at a 3.50 GPA or above, averaging 3.6. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • Do not spend money on test preparation for FIT: scores are not read even if you send them.
  • Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $68,906 five years out against $37,854 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about FIT

What GPA do you need for FIT?

50% of enrolled students at FIT had a high school GPA of 3.50 or above, and the average was 3.6, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

What do FIT graduates earn?

FIT graduates earn a median $62,696 ten years after entering, and 74% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with FIT

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: FIT’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the FIT profile