NAU: the complete school report for parents
NAU puts the most weight on GPA. It does not consider legacy, demonstrated interest and the interview, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With an 89.6% admit rate and 51% of enrolled students at a 3.75 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Computer Science graduates earn a median $117,909 against $26,128 for Music.
NAU is officially Northern Arizona University. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.
What does NAU actually weigh in admissions?
NAU rates 1 of the 18 factors "Very Important": GPA. It does not consider 15 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is NAU's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.
| Factor | How NAU rates it |
|---|---|
| course rigor | Important |
| GPA | Very Important |
| test scores | Considered |
| the essay | Not Considered |
| extracurricular activities | Not Considered |
| recommendations | Not Considered |
| personal qualities | Not Considered |
| talent | Not Considered |
| class rank | Not Considered |
| demonstrated interest | Not Considered |
| the interview | Not Considered |
| legacy | Not Considered |
| first-generation status | Not Considered |
| geography | Not Considered |
| state residency | Not Considered |
| volunteer work | Not Considered |
| work experience | Not Considered |
| religious affiliation | Not Considered |
Does NAU consider how hard my child’s courses were?
Yes. It is an important factor.
Does NAU consider GPA?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors.
Does NAU consider SAT or ACT scores?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does NAU consider the application essay?
No. NAU does not consider it.
Does NAU consider extracurricular activities?
No. NAU does not consider it.
Does NAU consider recommendation letters?
No. NAU does not consider it.
Does NAU consider character and personal qualities?
No. NAU does not consider it.
Does NAU consider a special talent or ability?
No. NAU does not consider it.
Does NAU consider class rank?
No. NAU does not consider it. A school that does not rank its students is not a disadvantage.
Does NAU consider demonstrated interest?
No. NAU does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.
Does NAU consider an interview?
No. NAU does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.
Does NAU consider legacy status?
No. NAU does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.
Does NAU consider being first-generation?
No. NAU does not consider it.
Does NAU consider where we live?
No. NAU does not consider it.
Does NAU consider state residency?
No. NAU does not consider it.
Does NAU consider volunteer work?
No. NAU does not consider it.
Does NAU consider work experience?
No. NAU does not consider it.
Does NAU consider religious affiliation?
No. NAU does not consider it.
What GPA do admitted students actually have?
51% of enrolled students had a 3.75 GPA or above. The average was 3.7 on a 4 scale, reported for 91% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.
| High school GPA | Share of enrolled students |
|---|---|
| 4.0 | 32% |
| 3.75–3.99 | 19% |
| 3.50–3.74 | 15% |
| 3.25–3.49 | 12% |
| 3.00–3.24 | 10% |
| 2.50–2.99 | 10% |
| 2.00–2.49 | 2% |
Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?
NAU admitted 98.1% of 3,092 transfer applicants, against 89.6% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.
When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?
NAU offers neither Early Decision nor Early Action, so there is no early round to strategize about and every applicant is read in one pool.
| Regular application deadline | August 1 |
|---|---|
| Decisions released | July 1 |
| Reply / deposit deadline | May 1 |
| Early Decision offered | No |
| Early Action offered | No |
| Application fee | $40 |
| Fee waiver available | Yes |
| Deferred admission offered | Yes |
What does my child need to take in high school?
NAU requires 14 academic units and recommends 16. A college-preparatory program is recommended. A GED is accepted.
| Subject | Required | Recommended |
|---|---|---|
| English | 4 years | 4 years |
| Mathematics | 4 years | 4 years |
| Science | 3 years | 3 years |
| Foreign language | Not stated | 2 years |
| History | 1 year | Not stated |
What will NAU actually cost us?
Families pay an average of $14,158 a year at NAU after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $12,000. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 64.7% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 1,772 merit awards averaging $8,328 to first-years with no demonstrated need.
What families at each income level actually paid:
| Family income | Average net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $9,709 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $10,398 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $13,330 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $18,050 |
| Over $110,000 | $20,686 |
45% of NAU graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $21,732 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $201 a month in repayment. NAU’s net price calculator gives your own figure.
Does a degree from NAU pay off?
Graduates earn a median $54,384 ten years after entering, and $47,308 at six years. 79% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 56% are actively paying down their loans three years in.
Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:
| Family income | Four-year net cost | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $38,836 | 3.7 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $41,592 | 4.0 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $53,320 | 5.1 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $72,200 | 7.0 |
| Over $110,000 | $82,744 | 8.0 |
A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.
$117,909 to $26,128, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at NAU:
| Major | Median earnings, 5 years | Graduates a year |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | $117,909 | 119 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | $107,634 | 29 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $89,027 | 123 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | $85,036 | 462 |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | $73,322 | 151 |
| Marketing | $69,885 | 129 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $65,408 | 234 |
| Sports, Kinesiology, and Physical Education/Fitness | $62,062 | 205 |
| Public Health | $58,640 | 134 |
| Social Work | $46,353 | 162 |
| History | $39,733 | 33 |
| Music | $26,128 | 27 |
College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.
Will my child actually graduate?
77% of first-years return for a second year. 59% within six (Fall 2019 cohort).
How big are the classes?
30% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 4% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 19:1, and 72% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Higher Learning Commission.
What is life at NAU like?
22,203 undergraduates, 17% of first-years from out of state. 86% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 43% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 7% of men join a fraternity and 7% of women a sorority. 39% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $59,985.
What this means for your student
- 51% of enrolled students are at a 3.75 GPA or above, averaging 3.7. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
- Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
- Its highest-earning major returns $117,909 five years out against $26,128 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
- See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.
Common questions about NAU
What GPA do you need for NAU?
51% of enrolled students at NAU had a high school GPA of 3.75 or above, and the average was 3.7, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.
What do NAU graduates earn?
NAU graduates earn a median $54,384 ten years after entering, and 79% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.
Other schools families compare with NAU
- College of CharlestonAdmissions report · 73.0% admit rate
- Jacksonville State UniversityAdmissions report · 73.2% admit rate
- TROYAdmissions report · 95.3% admit rate
- FITAdmissions report · 67.0% admit rate
- Berklee School of MusicAdmissions report · 55.1% admit rate
- Centre College of KentuckyAdmissions report · 48.2% admit rate
Where these numbers come from
Admissions figures: NAU’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.