UCSB: the complete school report for parents
UCSB puts the most weight on GPA and the essay. It does not consider test scores, legacy and demonstrated interest, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 38.2% admit rate and 88% of enrolled students at a 4.0 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are not part of the picture. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Computer Science graduates earn a median $145,485 against $48,583 for Fine and Studio Arts.
UCSB is officially University of California-Santa Barbara, also known as Uc Santa Barbara. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.
Is UCSB a reach, target or safety for your student?
Enter a GPA and course load and the calculator places UCSB against the figures above. No account needed.
What does UCSB actually weigh in admissions?
UCSB rates 2 of the 18 factors "Very Important": GPA, the essay. It does not consider 7 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is UCSB's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.
| Factor | How UCSB rates it |
|---|---|
| course rigor | Important |
| GPA | Very Important |
| test scores | Not Considered |
| the essay | Very Important |
| extracurricular activities | Considered |
| recommendations | Not Considered |
| personal qualities | Considered |
| talent | Considered |
| class rank | Not Considered |
| demonstrated interest | Not Considered |
| the interview | Not Considered |
| legacy | Not Considered |
| first-generation status | Considered |
| geography | Considered |
| state residency | Considered |
| volunteer work | Considered |
| work experience | Considered |
| religious affiliation | Not Considered |
Does UCSB consider how hard my child’s courses were?
Yes. It is an important factor.
Does UCSB consider GPA?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors.
Does UCSB consider SAT or ACT scores?
No. UCSB is test-blind, so SAT and ACT scores are not read even if you send them.
Does UCSB consider the application essay?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The essay is doing as much work as the transcript.
Does UCSB consider extracurricular activities?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does UCSB consider recommendation letters?
No. UCSB does not consider it.
Does UCSB consider character and personal qualities?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does UCSB consider a special talent or ability?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does UCSB consider class rank?
No. UCSB does not consider it. A school that does not rank its students is not a disadvantage.
Does UCSB consider demonstrated interest?
No. UCSB does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.
Does UCSB consider an interview?
No. UCSB does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.
Does UCSB consider legacy status?
No. UCSB does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.
Does UCSB consider being first-generation?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.
Does UCSB consider where we live?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does UCSB consider state residency?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does UCSB consider volunteer work?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does UCSB consider work experience?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does UCSB consider religious affiliation?
No. UCSB does not consider it.
What GPA do admitted students actually have?
88% of enrolled students had a 4.0 GPA or above. The average was 4.29 on a 4 scale, reported for 97.07% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.
| High school GPA | Share of enrolled students |
|---|---|
| 4.0 | 87.81% |
| 3.75–3.99 | 9.02% |
| 3.50–3.74 | 2.58% |
| 3.25–3.49 | 0.3% |
| 3.00–3.24 | 0.22% |
| 2.50–2.99 | 0.06% |
| 2.00–2.49 | Not reported |
What is the UCSB waitlist really like?
UCSB offered a place on its waiting list to 25,713 applicants and 18,022 accepted one. 9,603 were ultimately admitted. That is 53.3% of those who waited.
Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?
UCSB admitted 59.0% of 18,872 transfer applicants, against 38.2% of first-year applicants. For a student who does not get in at eighteen, the transfer route is a genuinely wider door and worth planning for deliberately. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.4.
When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?
UCSB offers neither Early Decision nor Early Action, so there is no early round to strategize about and every applicant is read in one pool.
| Regular application deadline | November 30 |
|---|---|
| Decisions released | March 31 |
| Reply / deposit deadline | May 1 |
| Early Decision offered | No |
| Early Action offered | No |
| Application fee | $80 |
| Fee waiver available | Yes |
| Deferred admission offered | No |
What does my child need to take in high school?
UCSB requires 15 academic units and recommends 18. A college-preparatory program is required. A GED is accepted.
| Subject | Required | Recommended |
|---|---|---|
| English | 4 years | 4 years |
| Mathematics | 3 years | 4 years |
| Science | 2 years | 3 years |
| of which lab science | 2 years | Not stated |
| Foreign language | 2 years | 3 years |
| History | 2 years | Not stated |
| Visual / performing arts | 1 year | Not stated |
What will UCSB actually cost us?
Families pay an average of $16,109 a year at UCSB after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $14,202. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 82.4% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 137 merit awards averaging $11,666 to first-years with no demonstrated need.
What families at each income level actually paid:
| Family income | Average net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $9,231 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $9,992 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $12,588 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $17,136 |
| Over $110,000 | $31,863 |
29% of UCSB graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $20,043 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $148 a month in repayment. UCSB’s net price calculator gives your own figure.
Does a degree from UCSB pay off?
Graduates earn a median $74,915 ten years after entering, and $56,852 at six years. 84% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 75% are actively paying down their loans three years in.
Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:
| Family income | Four-year net cost | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $36,924 | 1.2 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $39,968 | 1.3 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $50,352 | 1.6 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $68,544 | 2.2 |
| Over $110,000 | $127,452 | 4.1 |
A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.
$145,485 to $48,583, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at UCSB:
| Major | Median earnings, 5 years | Graduates a year |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | $145,485 | 161 |
| Computer Engineering | $139,942 | 72 |
| Statistics | $110,783 | 291 |
| Applied Mathematics | $109,292 | 215 |
| Economics | $107,948 | 656 |
| Physics | $104,149 | 161 |
| Biology, General | $76,068 | 384 |
| Mathematics | $75,626 | 132 |
| Communication and Media Studies | $73,857 | 582 |
| Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services | $52,393 | 122 |
| Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology | $49,625 | 63 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | $48,583 | 133 |
College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.
Will my child actually graduate?
93% of first-years return for a second year. 71% graduate within four years and 84% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 82.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 85.0% of everyone else, a gap of 3.0 points.
How big are the classes?
55% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 9% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 17:1, and 90% of faculty are full-time. Both are true at once: 9% of sections seat 100 or more, and those are the introductory lectures. Accredited by Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission.
What is life at UCSB like?
23,091 undergraduates, 15% of first-years from out of state. 94% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 37% across all undergraduates. 42% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $73,046.
How is UCSB ranked?
UCSB is ranked #44 (tie) in National Universities by U.S. News & World Report (Best Colleges 2027). That is down from #40 a year earlier.
| Program list | Position |
|---|---|
| Best Undergraduate Engineering ProgramsAt schools whose highest degree is a doctorate | #36 (tie) |
| Computer Science | #34 (tie) |
| Economics | #36 (tie) |
Source: U.S. News & World Report, Best Colleges 2027. Only lists that rank UCSB are shown; a program missing here may simply not be ranked by U.S. News, which says nothing about its quality.
What this means for your student
- 88% of enrolled students are at a 4.0 GPA or above, averaging 4.29. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
- Do not spend money on test preparation for UCSB: scores are not read even if you send them.
- Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
- The waitlist is live but thin: 9,603 of 18,022 who waited were admitted, about 53%.
- If the first-year answer is no, the transfer route is genuinely wider here and worth planning for from the first semester of college.
- Its highest-earning major returns $145,485 five years out against $48,583 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
- See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.
Common questions about UCSB
What GPA do you need for UCSB?
88% of enrolled students at UCSB had a high school GPA of 4.0 or above, and the average was 4.29, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.
Does the UCSB waitlist move?
18,022 students accepted a place on the UCSB waiting list and 9,603 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.
What do UCSB graduates earn?
UCSB graduates earn a median $74,915 ten years after entering, and 84% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.
Other schools families compare with UCSB
Where these numbers come from
Admissions figures: UCSB’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.