The U: the complete school report for parents

The U puts the most weight on course rigor and GPA. The academic record does most of the work. It does not consider legacy, demonstrated interest and the interview, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 90.1% admit rate and 70% of enrolled students at a 3.50 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Computer Science graduates earn a median $116,395 against $43,163 for Anthropology.

The U is officially University of Utah. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
90.1%
30,036 applicants
GPA of admits
3.50+
70% at or above
Testing
Test-optional
Transfer admit rate
85.2%
3,599 applied
Net price (average)
$16,200
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$67,170
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
66%
39% in four
Freshmen who return
86%

What does The U actually weigh in admissions?

The U rates 2 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA. It does not consider 6 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is The U's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

The U admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow The U rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayConsidered
extracurricular activitiesConsidered
recommendationsConsidered
personal qualitiesConsidered
talentConsidered
class rankNot Considered
demonstrated interestNot Considered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyNot Considered
state residencyConsidered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does The U consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does The U consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does The U consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does The U consider the application essay?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does The U consider extracurricular activities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does The U consider recommendation letters?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does The U consider character and personal qualities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does The U consider a special talent or ability?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does The U consider class rank?

No. The U does not consider it. A school that does not rank its students is not a disadvantage.

Does The U consider demonstrated interest?

No. The U does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.

Does The U consider an interview?

No. The U does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does The U consider legacy status?

No. The U does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does The U consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does The U consider where we live?

No. The U does not consider it.

Does The U consider state residency?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does The U consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does The U consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does The U consider religious affiliation?

No. The U does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

70% of enrolled students had a 3.50 GPA or above. The average was 3.64 on a 4 scale, reported for 98% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

The U high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.010%
3.75–3.9936%
3.50–3.7424%
3.25–3.4918%
3.00–3.249%
2.50–2.993%
2.00–2.490%

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

The U admitted 85.2% of 3,599 transfer applicants, against 90.1% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

The U reports its early rounds below.

The U application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineApril 1
Decisions releasedJanuary 15
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredNo
Early Action offeredYes
Early Action deadlineDecember 1
Application feeNot reported
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What will The U actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $16,200 a year at The U after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $10,080. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 45% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 1,918 merit awards averaging $6,770 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

What families at each income level actually paid:

The U average net price by family income
Family incomeAverage net price per year
Under $30,000$13,123
$30,000–$48,000$13,424
$48,000–$75,000$14,246
$75,000–$110,000$17,663
Over $110,000$21,533

31% of The U graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $24,197 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $201 a month in repayment. The U’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from The U pay off?

Graduates earn a median $67,170 ten years after entering, and $55,239 at six years. 82% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 72% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:

Years for The U earnings premium to cover four years of net cost
Family incomeFour-year net costYears to pay back
Under $30,000$52,4922.3
$30,000–$48,000$53,6962.3
$48,000–$75,000$56,9842.5
$75,000–$110,000$70,6523.0
Over $110,000$86,1323.7

A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.

$116,395 to $43,163, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at The U:

The U median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Computer Science$116,395219
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$112,99449
Finance and Financial Management Services$96,414175
Mechanical Engineering$87,070182
Business Administration, Management and Operations$83,910200
Accounting and Related Services$82,700112
Economics$80,323193
Marketing$77,028114
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$71,368219
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$48,574118
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$46,8721
Anthropology$43,16364

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

86% of first-years return for a second year. 39% graduate within four years and 66% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 56.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 70.0% of everyone else, a gap of 14.0 points.

How big are the classes?

42% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 6% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 19:1, and 88% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.

What is life at The U like?

29,335 undergraduates, 49% of first-years from out of state. 65% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 17% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 8% of men join a fraternity and 14% of women a sorority. 29% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $69,474.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
  • 70% of enrolled students are at a 3.50 GPA or above, averaging 3.64. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $116,395 five years out against $43,163 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about The U

What GPA do you need for The U?

70% of enrolled students at The U had a high school GPA of 3.50 or above, and the average was 3.64, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

What do The U graduates earn?

The U graduates earn a median $67,170 ten years after entering, and 82% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with The U

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: The U’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the The U profile