Connecticut College: the complete school report for parents

Connecticut College puts the most weight on course rigor, GPA and personal qualities. A second tier of the essay, extracurricular activities and recommendations carries real weight too. Connecticut College admits between a quarter and half of applicants, and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Connecticut College graduates Pell-grant students at 84.4% against 81.5% for everyone else, a gap most universities do not close.

Connecticut College is officially Connecticut College. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
39.2%
7,338 applicants
GPA of admits
Not reported
Admitted off waitlist
5
of 471 who waited
Transfer admit rate
28.8%
198 applied
Net price (average)
$36,175
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$75,001
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
82%
74% in four
Freshmen who return
91%

What does Connecticut College actually weigh in admissions?

Connecticut College rates 3 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, personal qualities. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Connecticut College's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

Connecticut College admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow Connecticut College rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayImportant
extracurricular activitiesImportant
recommendationsImportant
personal qualitiesVery Important
talentImportant
class rankConsidered
demonstrated interestConsidered
the interviewImportant
legacyConsidered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyConsidered
volunteer workImportant
work experienceImportant
religious affiliationConsidered

Does Connecticut College consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does Connecticut College consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Connecticut College consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Connecticut College consider the application essay?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Connecticut College consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Connecticut College consider recommendation letters?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Connecticut College consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Connecticut College consider a special talent or ability?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Connecticut College consider class rank?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Connecticut College consider demonstrated interest?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Connecticut College consider an interview?

Yes. It is an important factor. Offer to interview if invited; it carries real weight here.

Does Connecticut College consider legacy status?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. It can act as a tiebreaker but will not carry a weak application.

Does Connecticut College consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does Connecticut College consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Connecticut College consider state residency?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Connecticut College consider volunteer work?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Connecticut College consider work experience?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Connecticut College consider religious affiliation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

What is the Connecticut College waitlist really like?

Connecticut College offered a place on its waiting list to 1,269 applicants and 471 accepted one. 5 were ultimately admitted. That is 1.1% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

Connecticut College admitted 28.8% of 198 transfer applicants, against 39.2% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Connecticut College reports its early rounds below.

Connecticut College application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJanuary 15
Decisions releasedMarch 25
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 15
Early Decision II offeredYes
Early Decision II deadlineJanuary 15
Early Action offeredNo
Application fee$0
Fee waiver availableNot reported
Deferred admission offeredYes

What will Connecticut College actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $36,175 a year at Connecticut College after grants and scholarships. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 100% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 164 merit awards averaging $36,673 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

44% of Connecticut College graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $36,950 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $249 a month in repayment. Connecticut College’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from Connecticut College pay off?

Graduates earn a median $75,001 ten years after entering, and $49,165 at six years. 88% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 91% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

$109,560 to $46,300, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at Connecticut College:

Connecticut College median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Economics$109,56072
Political Science and Government$104,50638
Ecology, Evolution, Systematics, and Population Biology$70,69623
Psychology, General$66,70845
Area Studies$61,50019
Sociology$60,68921
English Language and Literature, General$57,33425
Biology, General$56,15730
History$52,97416
Fine and Studio Arts$46,30022

College Scorecard, by field of study.

Will my child actually graduate?

91% of first-years return for a second year. 74% graduate within four years and 82% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 84.4% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 81.5% of everyone else, a gap of -2.9 points.

How big are the classes?

61% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 0% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 9:1, and 78% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by New England Commission on Higher Education.

What is life at Connecticut College like?

1,953 undergraduates, 88% of first-years from out of state. 100% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 99% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 0% of men join a fraternity and 0% of women a sorority. 14% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $83,703.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 5 of 471 who waited were admitted, about 1%.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $109,560 five years out against $46,300 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about Connecticut College

Does the Connecticut College waitlist move?

471 students accepted a place on the Connecticut College waiting list and 5 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do Connecticut College graduates earn?

Connecticut College graduates earn a median $75,001 ten years after entering, and 88% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with Connecticut College

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: Connecticut College’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the Connecticut College profile