K-State: the complete school report for parents
K-State puts the most weight on GPA. It does not consider legacy, demonstrated interest and the interview, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With an 87.5% admit rate and 52% of enrolled students at a 3.75 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong.
K-State is officially Kansas State University. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.
What does K-State actually weigh in admissions?
K-State rates 1 of the 18 factors "Very Important": GPA. It does not consider 12 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is K-State's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.
| Factor | How K-State rates it |
|---|---|
| course rigor | Not Considered |
| GPA | Very Important |
| test scores | Important |
| the essay | Considered |
| extracurricular activities | Not Considered |
| recommendations | Considered |
| personal qualities | Not Considered |
| talent | Not Considered |
| class rank | Considered |
| demonstrated interest | Not Considered |
| the interview | Not Considered |
| legacy | Not Considered |
| first-generation status | Not Considered |
| geography | Not Considered |
| state residency | Not Considered |
| volunteer work | Not Considered |
| work experience | Considered |
| religious affiliation | Not Considered |
Does K-State consider how hard my child’s courses were?
No. K-State does not consider it.
Does K-State consider GPA?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors.
Does K-State consider SAT or ACT scores?
Yes. It is an important factor.
Does K-State consider the application essay?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does K-State consider extracurricular activities?
No. K-State does not consider it.
Does K-State consider recommendation letters?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does K-State consider character and personal qualities?
No. K-State does not consider it.
Does K-State consider a special talent or ability?
No. K-State does not consider it.
Does K-State consider class rank?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does K-State consider demonstrated interest?
No. K-State does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.
Does K-State consider an interview?
No. K-State does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.
Does K-State consider legacy status?
No. K-State does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.
Does K-State consider being first-generation?
No. K-State does not consider it.
Does K-State consider where we live?
No. K-State does not consider it.
Does K-State consider state residency?
No. K-State does not consider it.
Does K-State consider volunteer work?
No. K-State does not consider it.
Does K-State consider work experience?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does K-State consider religious affiliation?
No. K-State does not consider it.
What GPA do admitted students actually have?
52% of enrolled students had a 3.75 GPA or above. The average was 3.86 on a 4 scale, reported for 86.54% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.
| High school GPA | Share of enrolled students |
|---|---|
| 4.0 | 13% |
| 3.75–3.99 | 39% |
| 3.50–3.74 | 21% |
| 3.25–3.49 | 13% |
| 3.00–3.24 | 7% |
| 2.50–2.99 | 6% |
| 2.00–2.49 | 1% |
Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?
K-State admitted 70.2% of 2,961 transfer applicants, against 87.5% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.
When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?
K-State offers neither Early Decision nor Early Action, so there is no early round to strategize about and every applicant is read in one pool.
| Regular application deadline | Not reported |
|---|---|
| Decisions released | Not reported |
| Reply / deposit deadline | No set date |
| Early Decision offered | No |
| Early Action offered | No |
| Application fee | $40 |
| Fee waiver available | Yes |
| Deferred admission offered | Yes |
What does my child need to take in high school?
K-State requires 16 academic units. A college-preparatory program is recommended. A GED is accepted.
| Subject | Required | Recommended |
|---|---|---|
| English | 4 years | Not stated |
| Mathematics | 4 years | Not stated |
| Science | 3 years | Not stated |
| Foreign language | 2 years | Not stated |
What will K-State actually cost us?
Families pay an average of $19,406 a year at K-State after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $10,601. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 79% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 1,404 merit awards averaging $4,455 to first-years with no demonstrated need.
What families at each income level actually paid:
| Family income | Average net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $13,178 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $14,143 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $15,369 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $20,110 |
| Over $110,000 | $23,665 |
47% of K-State graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $25,718 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $225 a month in repayment. K-State’s net price calculator gives your own figure.
Does a degree from K-State pay off?
Graduates earn a median $57,262 ten years after entering, and $49,330 at six years. 81% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 68% are actively paying down their loans three years in.
Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:
| Family income | Four-year net cost | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $52,712 | 4.0 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $56,572 | 4.3 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $61,476 | 4.6 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $80,440 | 6.1 |
| Over $110,000 | $94,660 | 7.1 |
A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.
$105,727 to $44,784, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at K-State:
| Major | Median earnings, 5 years | Graduates a year |
|---|---|---|
| Chemical Engineering | $105,727 | 41 |
| Construction Engineering Technology/Technician | $94,083 | 69 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $89,754 | 182 |
| Accounting and Related Services | $79,534 | 115 |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | $73,166 | 178 |
| Marketing | $72,115 | 141 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $67,390 | 178 |
| Natural Sciences | $65,682 | 67 |
| Biology, General | $65,318 | 65 |
| Dietetics and Clinical Nutrition Services | $46,759 | 88 |
| Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods | $46,577 | 224 |
| Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services | $44,784 | 114 |
College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.
Will my child actually graduate?
86% of first-years return for a second year. 71% within six (Fall 2019 cohort).
How big are the classes?
45% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 4% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 19:1, and 90% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Higher Learning Commission.
What is life at K-State like?
16,555 undergraduates, 22% of first-years from out of state. 81% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 28% across all undergraduates. 22% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $59,909.
What this means for your student
- 52% of enrolled students are at a 3.75 GPA or above, averaging 3.86. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
- Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
- Its highest-earning major returns $105,727 five years out against $44,784 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
- See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.
Common questions about K-State
What GPA do you need for K-State?
52% of enrolled students at K-State had a high school GPA of 3.75 or above, and the average was 3.86, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.
What do K-State graduates earn?
K-State graduates earn a median $57,262 ten years after entering, and 81% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.
Other schools families compare with K-State
- Loyola Marymount UniversityAdmissions report · 48.2% admit rate
- Santa ClaraAdmissions report · 47.9% admit rate
- Pacific | UOP | University of Pacific | Pacific University | U. Pacific | Univ. of Pacific | U. of PacificAdmissions report · 69.0% admit rate
- University of San FranciscoAdmissions report · 61.7% admit rate
- University of PortlandAdmissions report · 91.8% admit rate
- ReedAdmissions report · 29.2% admit rate
Where these numbers come from
Admissions figures: K-State’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.