Missouri S&T: the complete school report for parents
Missouri S&T puts the most weight on course rigor, GPA and test scores. The academic record does most of the work. It does not consider legacy, so family connections carry no weight. With a 78.6% admit rate and 51% of enrolled students at a 4.0 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong.
Missouri S&T is officially Missouri University of Science and Technology. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.
Is Missouri S&T a reach, target or safety for your student?
Enter a GPA and course load and the calculator places Missouri S&T against the figures above. No account needed.
What does Missouri S&T actually weigh in admissions?
Missouri S&T rates 3 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, test scores. It does not consider 5 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Missouri S&T's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.
| Factor | How Missouri S&T rates it |
|---|---|
| course rigor | Very Important |
| GPA | Very Important |
| test scores | Very Important |
| the essay | Considered |
| extracurricular activities | Considered |
| recommendations | Considered |
| personal qualities | Considered |
| talent | Considered |
| class rank | Considered |
| demonstrated interest | Considered |
| the interview | Considered |
| legacy | Not Considered |
| first-generation status | Not Considered |
| geography | Not Considered |
| state residency | Not Considered |
| volunteer work | Considered |
| work experience | Considered |
| religious affiliation | Not Considered |
Does Missouri S&T consider how hard my child’s courses were?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
Does Missouri S&T consider GPA?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors.
Does Missouri S&T consider SAT or ACT scores?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors. A score at or above the middle-50 range is close to expected here.
Does Missouri S&T consider the application essay?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does Missouri S&T consider extracurricular activities?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does Missouri S&T consider recommendation letters?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does Missouri S&T consider character and personal qualities?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does Missouri S&T consider a special talent or ability?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does Missouri S&T consider class rank?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does Missouri S&T consider demonstrated interest?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does Missouri S&T consider an interview?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does Missouri S&T consider legacy status?
No. Missouri S&T does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.
Does Missouri S&T consider being first-generation?
No. Missouri S&T does not consider it.
Does Missouri S&T consider where we live?
No. Missouri S&T does not consider it.
Does Missouri S&T consider state residency?
No. Missouri S&T does not consider it.
Does Missouri S&T consider volunteer work?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does Missouri S&T consider work experience?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does Missouri S&T consider religious affiliation?
No. Missouri S&T does not consider it.
What GPA do admitted students actually have?
51% of enrolled students had a 4.0 GPA or above. The average was 3.82 on a 4 scale, reported for 97.76% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.
| High school GPA | Share of enrolled students |
|---|---|
| 4.0 | 50.94% |
| 3.75–3.99 | 21.59% |
| 3.50–3.74 | 14.55% |
| 3.25–3.49 | 6.7% |
| 3.00–3.24 | 3.84% |
| 2.50–2.99 | 1.8% |
| 2.00–2.49 | 0.41% |
Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?
Missouri S&T admitted 77.0% of 1,116 transfer applicants, against 78.6% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.
When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?
Missouri S&T offers neither Early Decision nor Early Action, so there is no early round to strategize about and every applicant is read in one pool.
| Regular application deadline | July 1 |
|---|---|
| Decisions released | July 1 |
| Reply / deposit deadline | Not reported |
| Early Decision offered | No |
| Early Action offered | No |
| Application fee | $0 |
| Fee waiver available | Not reported |
| Deferred admission offered | Yes |
What does my child need to take in high school?
Missouri S&T requires 17 academic units and recommends 17. A college-preparatory program is required. A GED is accepted.
| Subject | Required | Recommended |
|---|---|---|
| English | 4 years | 4 years |
| Mathematics | 4 years | 4 years |
| Science | 3 years | 3 years |
| of which lab science | 1 year | Not stated |
| Foreign language | 2 years | 2 years |
| Visual / performing arts | 1 year | Not stated |
What will Missouri S&T actually cost us?
Families pay an average of $16,298 a year at Missouri S&T after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $14,328. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 83% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 541 merit awards averaging $17,510 to first-years with no demonstrated need.
What families at each income level actually paid:
| Family income | Average net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $10,912 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $12,027 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $13,330 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $18,241 |
| Over $110,000 | $20,088 |
55% of Missouri S&T graduates borrow, which the federal data puts at about $246 a month in repayment. Missouri S&T’s net price calculator gives your own figure.
Does a degree from Missouri S&T pay off?
Graduates earn a median $82,957 ten years after entering, and $69,295 at six years. 88% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 81% are actively paying down their loans three years in.
Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:
| Family income | Four-year net cost | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $43,648 | 1.1 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $48,108 | 1.2 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $53,320 | 1.4 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $72,964 | 1.9 |
| Over $110,000 | $80,352 | 2.1 |
A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.
$105,434 to $58,127, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at Missouri S&T:
| Major | Median earnings, 5 years | Graduates a year |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Engineering | $105,434 | 71 |
| Computer and Information Sciences, General | $101,982 | 120 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | $97,225 | 95 |
| Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering | $95,014 | 76 |
| Petroleum Engineering | $91,688 | 19 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $91,528 | 240 |
| Engineering-Related Fields | $90,103 | 77 |
| Chemical Engineering | $89,985 | 86 |
| Mining and Mineral Engineering | $88,893 | 17 |
| Environmental/Environmental Health Engineering | $76,698 | 23 |
| Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other | $66,469 | 28 |
| Biology, General | $58,127 | 50 |
College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.
Will my child actually graduate?
88% of first-years return for a second year. 33% graduate within four years and 67% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 57.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 71.3% of everyone else, a gap of 14.4 points.
How big are the classes?
40% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 4% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 17:1, and 83% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Higher Learning Commission.
What is life at Missouri S&T like?
5,687 undergraduates. 94.4% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 80.4% across all undergraduates. 22% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $59,935.
What this means for your student
- Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten. Missouri S&T recommends 17 academic units.
- 51% of enrolled students are at a 4.0 GPA or above, averaging 3.82. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
- Its highest-earning major returns $105,434 five years out against $58,127 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
- See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.
Common questions about Missouri S&T
What GPA do you need for Missouri S&T?
51% of enrolled students at Missouri S&T had a high school GPA of 4.0 or above, and the average was 3.82, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.
What do Missouri S&T graduates earn?
Missouri S&T graduates earn a median $82,957 ten years after entering, and 88% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.
Other schools families compare with Missouri S&T
Where these numbers come from
Admissions figures: Missouri S&T’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.
How to read these numbers · Back to the Missouri S&T profile