Loyola University Maryland: the complete school report for parents

Loyola University Maryland puts the most weight on course rigor, GPA and personal qualities. A second tier of the essay, extracurricular activities and recommendations carries real weight too. It does not consider legacy, demonstrated interest and the interview, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 69.9% admit rate and 55% of enrolled students at a 3.75 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong.

Loyola University Maryland is officially Loyola University Maryland. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
69.9%
11,850 applicants
GPA of admits
3.75+
55% at or above
Admitted off waitlist
45
of 623 who waited
Transfer admit rate
36.9%
436 applied
Net price (average)
$30,574
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$82,652
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
75%
70% in four
Freshmen who return
86%

What does Loyola University Maryland actually weigh in admissions?

Loyola University Maryland rates 3 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, personal qualities. It does not consider 6 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Loyola University Maryland's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

Loyola University Maryland admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow Loyola University Maryland rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayImportant
extracurricular activitiesImportant
recommendationsImportant
personal qualitiesVery Important
talentImportant
class rankNot Considered
demonstrated interestNot Considered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyNot Considered
volunteer workImportant
work experienceImportant
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does Loyola University Maryland consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does Loyola University Maryland consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Loyola University Maryland consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Loyola University Maryland consider the application essay?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Loyola University Maryland consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Loyola University Maryland consider recommendation letters?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Loyola University Maryland consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Loyola University Maryland consider a special talent or ability?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Loyola University Maryland consider class rank?

No. Loyola University Maryland does not consider it. A school that does not rank its students is not a disadvantage.

Does Loyola University Maryland consider demonstrated interest?

No. Loyola University Maryland does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.

Does Loyola University Maryland consider an interview?

No. Loyola University Maryland does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does Loyola University Maryland consider legacy status?

No. Loyola University Maryland does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does Loyola University Maryland consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does Loyola University Maryland consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Loyola University Maryland consider state residency?

No. Loyola University Maryland does not consider it.

Does Loyola University Maryland consider volunteer work?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Loyola University Maryland consider work experience?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Loyola University Maryland consider religious affiliation?

No. Loyola University Maryland does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

55% of enrolled students had a 3.75 GPA or above. The average was 3.69 on a 4 scale, reported for 100% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

Loyola University Maryland high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.034.013%
3.75–3.9920.945%
3.50–3.7419.555%
3.25–3.4913.068%
3.00–3.247.414%
2.50–2.994.078%
2.00–2.490.927%

What is the Loyola University Maryland waitlist really like?

Loyola University Maryland offered a place on its waiting list to 1,770 applicants and 623 accepted one. 45 were ultimately admitted. That is 7.2% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

Loyola University Maryland admitted 36.9% of 436 transfer applicants, against 69.9% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Loyola University Maryland reports its early rounds below.

Loyola University Maryland application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJanuary 15
Decisions releasedMarch 15
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 15
Early Decision II offeredYes
Early Decision II deadlineJanuary 15
Early Action offeredYes
Early Action deadlineNovember 15
Application fee$60
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

Loyola University Maryland requires 15 academic units and recommends 19. A college-preparatory program is required. A GED is accepted.

Loyola University Maryland high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 years4 years
Mathematics3 years4 years
Science3 years4 years
Foreign language3 years4 years
History2 yearsNot stated

What will Loyola University Maryland actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $30,574 a year at Loyola University Maryland after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $61,810. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 84% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 291 merit awards averaging $31,914 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

62% of Loyola University Maryland graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $39,399 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $286 a month in repayment. Loyola University Maryland’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from Loyola University Maryland pay off?

Graduates earn a median $82,652 ten years after entering, and $64,453 at six years. 90% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 82% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

$106,160 to $52,726, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at Loyola University Maryland:

Loyola University Maryland median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Accounting and Related Services$106,16042
Engineering, General$99,54131
Biology, General$95,65840
Business Administration, Management and Operations$91,469252
Political Science and Government$73,44038
Communication and Media Studies$73,11699
Communication Disorders Sciences and Services$69,50260
Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies, Other$68,93845
History$65,91722
Social Sciences, Other$63,14526
English Language and Literature, General$59,54511
Teacher Education and Professional Development, Specific Levels and Methods$52,72621

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

86% of first-years return for a second year. 70% graduate within four years and 75% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 68.1% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 76.9% of everyone else, a gap of 8.8 points.

How big are the classes?

46% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 0% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 12:1, and 100% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

What is life at Loyola University Maryland like?

4,013 undergraduates, 61.13% of first-years from out of state. 90.75% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 76.65% across all undergraduates. 13% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $92,129.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten. Loyola University Maryland recommends 19 academic units.
  • 55% of enrolled students are at a 3.75 GPA or above, averaging 3.69. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 45 of 623 who waited were admitted, about 7%.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $106,160 five years out against $52,726 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about Loyola University Maryland

What GPA do you need for Loyola University Maryland?

55% of enrolled students at Loyola University Maryland had a high school GPA of 3.75 or above, and the average was 3.69, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

Does the Loyola University Maryland waitlist move?

623 students accepted a place on the Loyola University Maryland waiting list and 45 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do Loyola University Maryland graduates earn?

Loyola University Maryland graduates earn a median $82,652 ten years after entering, and 90% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with Loyola University Maryland

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: Loyola University Maryland’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the Loyola University Maryland profile