University of Connecticut: the complete school report for parents

It does not consider legacy and the interview, so family connections carry no weight. University of Connecticut admits about half to three-quarters of applicants, and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration graduates earn a median $139,585 against $29,845 for Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft.

University of Connecticut is officially University of Connecticut, also known as Uconn. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
54.4%
59,553 applicants
GPA of admits
Not reported
Admitted off waitlist
85
of 1,158 who waited
Transfer admit rate
67.7%
2,496 applied
Net price (average)
$25,097
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$73,997
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
84%
73% in four
Freshmen who return
92%

What does University of Connecticut actually weigh in admissions?

University of Connecticut rates none of the 18 factors "Very Important". It does not consider 3 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is University of Connecticut's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

University of Connecticut admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow University of Connecticut rates it
course rigorConsidered
GPAConsidered
test scoresConsidered
the essayConsidered
extracurricular activitiesConsidered
recommendationsConsidered
personal qualitiesConsidered
talentConsidered
class rankConsidered
demonstrated interestConsidered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyConsidered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does University of Connecticut consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Connecticut consider GPA?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Connecticut consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Connecticut consider the application essay?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Connecticut consider extracurricular activities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Connecticut consider recommendation letters?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Connecticut consider character and personal qualities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Connecticut consider a special talent or ability?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Connecticut consider class rank?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Connecticut consider demonstrated interest?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Connecticut consider an interview?

No. University of Connecticut does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does University of Connecticut consider legacy status?

No. University of Connecticut does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does University of Connecticut consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does University of Connecticut consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Connecticut consider state residency?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Connecticut consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Connecticut consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does University of Connecticut consider religious affiliation?

No. University of Connecticut does not consider it.

What is the University of Connecticut waitlist really like?

University of Connecticut offered a place on its waiting list to 4,365 applicants and 1,158 accepted one. 85 were ultimately admitted. That is 7.3% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

University of Connecticut admitted 67.7% of 2,496 transfer applicants, against 54.4% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

University of Connecticut reports its early rounds below.

University of Connecticut application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJuly 31
Decisions releasedMarch 1
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 1
Early Action offeredNo
Application fee$80
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

University of Connecticut requires 16 academic units. A college-preparatory program is required. A GED is accepted.

University of Connecticut high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 yearsNot stated
Mathematics3 yearsNot stated
Science2 yearsNot stated
of which lab science2 yearsNot stated
Foreign language2 years3 years

What will University of Connecticut actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $25,097 a year at University of Connecticut after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $17,010. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 63.1% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 1,251 merit awards averaging $11,221 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

What families at each income level actually paid:

University of Connecticut average net price by family income
Family incomeAverage net price per year
Under $30,000$15,193
$30,000–$48,000$16,339
$48,000–$75,000$20,608
$75,000–$110,000$28,285
Over $110,000$33,797

53% of University of Connecticut graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $30,427 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $228 a month in repayment. University of Connecticut’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from University of Connecticut pay off?

Graduates earn a median $73,997 ten years after entering, and $63,322 at six years. 86% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 78% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:

Years for University of Connecticut earnings premium to cover four years of net cost
Family incomeFour-year net costYears to pay back
Under $30,000$60,7722.0
$30,000–$48,000$65,3562.2
$48,000–$75,000$82,4322.7
$75,000–$110,000$113,1403.8
Over $110,000$135,1884.5

A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.

$139,585 to $29,845, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at University of Connecticut:

University of Connecticut median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Pharmacy, Pharmaceutical Sciences, and Administration$139,58560
Computer Science$128,072108
Finance and Financial Management Services$104,878253
Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods$103,31499
Accounting and Related Services$94,820125
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$93,828234
Mechanical Engineering$93,562173
Marketing$88,892106
Cell/Cellular Biology and Anatomical Sciences$85,476159
Human Development, Family Studies, and Related Services$56,312165
Music$46,37435
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$29,84520

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

92% of first-years return for a second year. 73% graduate within four years and 84% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 76.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 86.0% of everyone else, a gap of 10.0 points.

How big are the classes?

41% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 10% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 17:1, and 70% of faculty are full-time. Both are true at once: 10% of sections seat 100 or more, and those are the introductory lectures. Accredited by New England Commission on Higher Education.

What is life at University of Connecticut like?

21,042 undergraduates, 44% of first-years from out of state. 96% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 64% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 15% of men join a fraternity and 19% of women a sorority. 27% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $80,999.

What this means for your student

  • The waitlist is live but thin: 85 of 1,158 who waited were admitted, about 7%.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $139,585 five years out against $29,845 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about University of Connecticut

Does the University of Connecticut waitlist move?

1,158 students accepted a place on the University of Connecticut waiting list and 85 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do University of Connecticut graduates earn?

University of Connecticut graduates earn a median $73,997 ten years after entering, and 86% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with University of Connecticut

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: University of Connecticut’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the University of Connecticut profile