USF: the complete school report for parents

USF puts the most weight on course rigor, GPA and test scores. The academic record does most of the work. It does not consider legacy, demonstrated interest and the interview, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 40.7% admit rate and 62% of enrolled students at a 4.0 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and a strong test score is close to expected. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Computer Engineering graduates earn a median $99,737 against $35,949 for Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft.

USF is officially University of South Florida-Main Campus, also known as University Of South Florida USF. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
40.7%
71,722 applicants
GPA of admits
4.0+
62% at or above
Testing
Scores expected
Transfer admit rate
53.1%
11,480 applied
Net price (average)
$9,812
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$57,743
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
78%
66% in four
Freshmen who return
91%

Is USF a reach, target or safety for your student?

Enter a GPA and course load and the calculator places USF against the figures above. No account needed.

What does USF actually weigh in admissions?

USF rates 3 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, test scores. It does not consider 14 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is USF's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

USF admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow USF rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresVery Important
the essayNot Considered
extracurricular activitiesNot Considered
recommendationsNot Considered
personal qualitiesNot Considered
talentNot Considered
class rankConsidered
demonstrated interestNot Considered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusNot Considered
geographyNot Considered
state residencyNot Considered
volunteer workNot Considered
work experienceNot Considered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does USF consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does USF consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does USF consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. A score at or above the middle-50 range is close to expected here.

Does USF consider the application essay?

No. USF does not consider it.

Does USF consider extracurricular activities?

No. USF does not consider it.

Does USF consider recommendation letters?

No. USF does not consider it.

Does USF consider character and personal qualities?

No. USF does not consider it.

Does USF consider a special talent or ability?

No. USF does not consider it.

Does USF consider class rank?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does USF consider demonstrated interest?

No. USF does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.

Does USF consider an interview?

No. USF does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does USF consider legacy status?

No. USF does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does USF consider being first-generation?

No. USF does not consider it.

Does USF consider where we live?

No. USF does not consider it.

Does USF consider state residency?

No. USF does not consider it.

Does USF consider volunteer work?

No. USF does not consider it.

Does USF consider work experience?

No. USF does not consider it.

Does USF consider religious affiliation?

No. USF does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

62% of enrolled students had a 4.0 GPA or above. The average was 4.09 on a 4 scale, reported for 99.9% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

USF high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.061.99%
3.75–3.9917.9%
3.50–3.7411.7%
3.25–3.495.79%
3.00–3.242.01%
2.50–2.990.42%
2.00–2.490.16%

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

USF admitted 53.1% of 11,480 transfer applicants, against 40.7% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

USF offers neither Early Decision nor Early Action, so there is no early round to strategize about and every applicant is read in one pool.

USF application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineMay 1
Decisions releasedNovember 15
Reply / deposit deadlineNot reported
Early Decision offeredNo
Early Action offeredNo
Application fee$30
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

USF requires 18 academic units and recommends 18. A college-preparatory program is recommended. A GED is accepted.

USF high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 years4 years
Mathematics4 years4 years
Science3 years4 years
of which lab science2 yearsNot stated
Foreign language2 years2 years

What will USF actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $9,812 a year at USF after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $4,559. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 70% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 1,070 merit awards averaging $3,422 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

What families at each income level actually paid:

USF average net price by family income
Family incomeAverage net price per year
Under $30,000$4,122
$30,000–$48,000$5,444
$48,000–$75,000$9,326
$75,000–$110,000$15,224
Over $110,000$18,497

32% of USF graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $20,774 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $191 a month in repayment. USF’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from USF pay off?

Graduates earn a median $57,743 ten years after entering, and $48,328 at six years. 81% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 57% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:

Years for USF earnings premium to cover four years of net cost
Family incomeFour-year net costYears to pay back
Under $30,000$16,4881.2
$30,000–$48,000$21,7761.6
$48,000–$75,000$37,3042.7
$75,000–$110,000$60,8964.4
Over $110,000$73,9885.4

A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.

$99,737 to $35,949, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at USF:

USF median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Computer Engineering$99,73752
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$98,10195
Computer and Information Sciences, General$91,728411
Mechanical Engineering$91,161223
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$85,063497
Management Information Systems and Services$82,726210
Finance and Financial Management Services$72,549371
Accounting and Related Services$69,308304
Economics$63,195158
English Language and Literature, General$42,211148
Fine and Studio Arts$36,03592
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$35,94925

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

91% of first-years return for a second year. 66% graduate within four years and 78% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 77.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 79.0% of everyone else, a gap of 2.0 points.

How big are the classes?

37% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 5% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 22:1, and 73% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges.

What is life at USF like?

39,093 undergraduates, 13.48% of first-years from out of state. 55.51% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 19.34% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 1.95% of men join a fraternity and 3.9% of women a sorority. 36% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $58,397.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten. USF recommends 18 academic units.
  • 62% of enrolled students are at a 4.0 GPA or above, averaging 4.09. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • USF rates test scores Very Important, so a score at or above its middle-50 range is close to expected rather than optional.
  • Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $99,737 five years out against $35,949 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about USF

What GPA do you need for USF?

62% of enrolled students at USF had a high school GPA of 4.0 or above, and the average was 4.09, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

What do USF graduates earn?

USF graduates earn a median $57,743 ten years after entering, and 81% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with USF

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: USF’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the USF profile