George Washington University: the complete school report for parents

George Washington University puts the most weight on course rigor and GPA. The academic record does most of the work. It does not consider the interview and class rank, so there is no interview to prepare for. George Washington University admits between a quarter and half of applicants, and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Computer and Information Sciences, General graduates earn a median $140,173 against $33,758 for Film/Video and Photographic Arts.

George Washington University is officially George Washington University, also known as Gw. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
47.1%
27,034 applicants
GPA of admits
Not reported
Admitted off waitlist
616
of 2,858 who waited
Transfer admit rate
60.1%
2,229 applied
Net price (average)
$36,586
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$90,873
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
83%
Freshmen who return
91%

What does George Washington University actually weigh in admissions?

George Washington University rates 2 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA. It does not consider 4 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is George Washington University's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

George Washington University admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow George Washington University rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayImportant
extracurricular activitiesImportant
recommendationsImportant
personal qualitiesConsidered
talentImportant
class rankNot Considered
demonstrated interestConsidered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyConsidered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyConsidered
state residencyNot Considered
volunteer workImportant
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does George Washington University consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does George Washington University consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does George Washington University consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does George Washington University consider the application essay?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does George Washington University consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does George Washington University consider recommendation letters?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does George Washington University consider character and personal qualities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does George Washington University consider a special talent or ability?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does George Washington University consider class rank?

No. George Washington University does not consider it. A school that does not rank its students is not a disadvantage.

Does George Washington University consider demonstrated interest?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does George Washington University consider an interview?

No. George Washington University does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does George Washington University consider legacy status?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. It can act as a tiebreaker but will not carry a weak application.

Does George Washington University consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does George Washington University consider where we live?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does George Washington University consider state residency?

No. George Washington University does not consider it.

Does George Washington University consider volunteer work?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does George Washington University consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does George Washington University consider religious affiliation?

No. George Washington University does not consider it.

What is the George Washington University waitlist really like?

George Washington University offered a place on its waiting list to 6,084 applicants and 2,858 accepted one. 616 were ultimately admitted. That is 21.6% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

George Washington University admitted 60.1% of 2,229 transfer applicants, against 47.1% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

George Washington University reports its early rounds below.

George Washington University application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJanuary 5
Decisions releasedApril 1
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 1
Early Decision II offeredYes
Early Decision II deadlineJanuary 5
Early Action offeredNo
Application feeNot reported
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What will George Washington University actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $36,586 a year at George Washington University after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $72,000. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 91% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 617 merit awards averaging $25,357 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

32% of George Washington University graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $34,685 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $217 a month in repayment. George Washington University’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from George Washington University pay off?

Graduates earn a median $90,873 ten years after entering, and $71,607 at six years. 89% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 80% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

$140,173 to $33,758, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at George Washington University:

George Washington University median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Computer and Information Sciences, General$140,17328
Finance and Financial Management Services$131,971119
International Business$128,99779
Computer Science$124,41971
Economics$104,484145
Accounting and Related Services$101,29041
Marketing$101,22172
Public Relations, Advertising, and Applied Communication$98,32145
Mechanical Engineering$94,84350
Biology, General$66,73476
Fine and Studio Arts$40,80132
Film/Video and Photographic Arts$33,7581

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

91% of first-years return for a second year. 83% within six (Fall 2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 82.1% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 81.0% of everyone else, a gap of -1.1 points.

How big are the classes?

52% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 2% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 13:1, and 49% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Middle States Commission on Higher Education.

What is life at George Washington University like?

11,495 undergraduates, 97.4% of first-years from out of state. 95.14% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 58.16% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 10.94% of men join a fraternity and 15.03% of women a sorority. 16% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $85,677.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 616 of 2,858 who waited were admitted, about 22%.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $140,173 five years out against $33,758 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about George Washington University

Does the George Washington University waitlist move?

2,858 students accepted a place on the George Washington University waiting list and 616 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do George Washington University graduates earn?

George Washington University graduates earn a median $90,873 ten years after entering, and 89% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with George Washington University

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: George Washington University’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the George Washington University profile