UMass Amherst: the complete school report for parents

UMass Amherst puts the most weight on course rigor and GPA. The academic record does most of the work. It does not consider legacy, demonstrated interest and the interview, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 59.9% admit rate and 60% of enrolled students at a 4.0 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Computer Science graduates earn a median $132,046 against $32,203 for Music.

UMass Amherst is officially University of Massachusetts-Amherst. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
59.9%
53,117 applicants
GPA of admits
4.0+
60% at or above
Admitted off waitlist
2,349
of 7,261 who waited
Transfer admit rate
65.5%
3,622 applied
Net price (average)
$22,383
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$71,631
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
81%
73% in four
Freshmen who return
92%

What does UMass Amherst actually weigh in admissions?

UMass Amherst rates 2 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA. It does not consider 6 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is UMass Amherst's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

UMass Amherst admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow UMass Amherst rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayImportant
extracurricular activitiesImportant
recommendationsImportant
personal qualitiesImportant
talentImportant
class rankImportant
demonstrated interestNot Considered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusConsidered
geographyNot Considered
state residencyNot Considered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceImportant
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does UMass Amherst consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does UMass Amherst consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does UMass Amherst consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does UMass Amherst consider the application essay?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does UMass Amherst consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does UMass Amherst consider recommendation letters?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does UMass Amherst consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does UMass Amherst consider a special talent or ability?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does UMass Amherst consider class rank?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does UMass Amherst consider demonstrated interest?

No. UMass Amherst does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.

Does UMass Amherst consider an interview?

No. UMass Amherst does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does UMass Amherst consider legacy status?

No. UMass Amherst does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does UMass Amherst consider being first-generation?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.

Does UMass Amherst consider where we live?

No. UMass Amherst does not consider it.

Does UMass Amherst consider state residency?

No. UMass Amherst does not consider it.

Does UMass Amherst consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does UMass Amherst consider work experience?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does UMass Amherst consider religious affiliation?

No. UMass Amherst does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

60% of enrolled students had a 4.0 GPA or above. The average was 4.05 on a 4 scale, reported for 99.3% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

UMass Amherst high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.059.9%
3.75–3.9921.1%
3.50–3.7412.4%
3.25–3.495.3%
3.00–3.240.7%
2.50–2.990.4%
2.00–2.490.1%

What is the UMass Amherst waitlist really like?

UMass Amherst offered a place on its waiting list to 11,100 applicants and 7,261 accepted one. 2,349 were ultimately admitted. That is 32.4% of those who waited.

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

UMass Amherst admitted 65.5% of 3,622 transfer applicants, against 59.9% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

UMass Amherst reports its early rounds below.

UMass Amherst application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineJanuary 15
Decisions releasedMid- to late-January
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredNo
Early Action offeredYes
Early Action deadlineNovember 5
Application fee$90
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredYes

What does my child need to take in high school?

UMass Amherst requires 17 academic units. A college-preparatory program is required. A GED is accepted.

UMass Amherst high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
English4 yearsNot stated
Mathematics4 yearsNot stated
Science3 yearsNot stated
of which lab science3 yearsNot stated
Foreign language2 yearsNot stated
History1 yearNot stated

What will UMass Amherst actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $22,383 a year at UMass Amherst after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $17,601. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 86.4% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 1,972 merit awards averaging $7,757 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

What families at each income level actually paid:

UMass Amherst average net price by family income
Family incomeAverage net price per year
Under $30,000$10,164
$30,000–$48,000$10,456
$48,000–$75,000$12,932
$75,000–$110,000$18,964
Over $110,000$30,793

58% of UMass Amherst graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $33,146 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $241 a month in repayment. UMass Amherst’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from UMass Amherst pay off?

Graduates earn a median $71,631 ten years after entering, and $60,347 at six years. 84% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 77% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:

Years for UMass Amherst earnings premium to cover four years of net cost
Family incomeFour-year net costYears to pay back
Under $30,000$40,6561.5
$30,000–$48,000$41,8241.5
$48,000–$75,000$51,7281.9
$75,000–$110,000$75,8562.7
Over $110,000$123,1724.5

A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.

$132,046 to $32,203, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at UMass Amherst:

UMass Amherst median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Computer Science$132,046391
Computer Engineering$123,98457
Accounting and Related Services$99,495137
Finance and Financial Management Services$98,716289
Mechanical Engineering$94,995147
Economics$91,255353
Business Administration, Management and Operations$91,248294
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$89,364161
Mathematics$84,846256
Sociology$53,702121
Agricultural Production Operations$33,42043
Music$32,20336

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

92% of first-years return for a second year. 73% graduate within four years and 81% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 75.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 82.5% of everyone else, a gap of 7.5 points.

How big are the classes?

47% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 8% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 17:1, and 81% of faculty are full-time. Both are true at once: 8% of sections seat 100 or more, and those are the introductory lectures. Accredited by New England Commission on Higher Education.

What is life at UMass Amherst like?

24,019 undergraduates, 27% of first-years from out of state. 97% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 58% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 8% of men join a fraternity and 7% of women a sorority. 22% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $78,424.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
  • 60% of enrolled students are at a 4.0 GPA or above, averaging 4.05. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
  • The waitlist is live but thin: 2,349 of 7,261 who waited were admitted, about 32%.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $132,046 five years out against $32,203 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about UMass Amherst

What GPA do you need for UMass Amherst?

60% of enrolled students at UMass Amherst had a high school GPA of 4.0 or above, and the average was 4.05, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

Does the UMass Amherst waitlist move?

7,261 students accepted a place on the UMass Amherst waiting list and 2,349 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.

What do UMass Amherst graduates earn?

UMass Amherst graduates earn a median $71,631 ten years after entering, and 84% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with UMass Amherst

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: UMass Amherst’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the UMass Amherst profile