WMU: the complete school report for parents
WMU puts the most weight on GPA. It does not consider test scores, legacy and demonstrated interest, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With an 85.3% admit rate and 58% of enrolled students at a 3.50 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are not part of the picture. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering graduates earn a median $100,965 against $25,211 for Dance.
WMU is officially Western Michigan University. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.
What does WMU actually weigh in admissions?
WMU rates 1 of the 18 factors "Very Important": GPA. It does not consider 10 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is WMU's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.
| Factor | How WMU rates it |
|---|---|
| course rigor | Important |
| GPA | Very Important |
| test scores | Not Considered |
| the essay | Considered |
| extracurricular activities | Considered |
| recommendations | Considered |
| personal qualities | Not Considered |
| talent | Not Considered |
| class rank | Considered |
| demonstrated interest | Not Considered |
| the interview | Not Considered |
| legacy | Not Considered |
| first-generation status | Not Considered |
| geography | Not Considered |
| state residency | Not Considered |
| volunteer work | Considered |
| work experience | Considered |
| religious affiliation | Not Considered |
Does WMU consider how hard my child’s courses were?
Yes. It is an important factor.
Does WMU consider GPA?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors.
Does WMU consider SAT or ACT scores?
No. WMU is test-blind, so SAT and ACT scores are not read even if you send them.
Does WMU consider the application essay?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does WMU consider extracurricular activities?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does WMU consider recommendation letters?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does WMU consider character and personal qualities?
No. WMU does not consider it.
Does WMU consider a special talent or ability?
No. WMU does not consider it.
Does WMU consider class rank?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does WMU consider demonstrated interest?
No. WMU does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.
Does WMU consider an interview?
No. WMU does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.
Does WMU consider legacy status?
No. WMU does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.
Does WMU consider being first-generation?
No. WMU does not consider it.
Does WMU consider where we live?
No. WMU does not consider it.
Does WMU consider state residency?
No. WMU does not consider it.
Does WMU consider volunteer work?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does WMU consider work experience?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does WMU consider religious affiliation?
No. WMU does not consider it.
What GPA do admitted students actually have?
58% of enrolled students had a 3.50 GPA or above. The average was 3.55 on a 4 scale, reported for 98.5% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.
| High school GPA | Share of enrolled students |
|---|---|
| 4.0 | 18.8% |
| 3.75–3.99 | 21.7% |
| 3.50–3.74 | 17% |
| 3.25–3.49 | 14.8% |
| 3.00–3.24 | 13.1% |
| 2.50–2.99 | 13.6% |
| 2.00–2.49 | 0.9% |
Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?
WMU admitted 79.8% of 1,897 transfer applicants, against 85.3% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.
When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?
WMU reports its early rounds below.
| Regular application deadline | June 1 |
|---|---|
| Decisions released | February 5 |
| Reply / deposit deadline | Not reported |
| Early Decision offered | No |
| Early Action offered | Yes |
| Early Action deadline | December 15 |
| Application fee | $40 |
| Fee waiver available | Yes |
| Deferred admission offered | Yes |
What will WMU actually cost us?
Families pay an average of $15,273 a year at WMU after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $15,814. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 63.5% of demonstrated need on average.
What families at each income level actually paid:
| Family income | Average net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $5,263 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $5,734 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $13,833 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $18,307 |
| Over $110,000 | $23,625 |
64% of WMU graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $38,912 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $278 a month in repayment. WMU’s net price calculator gives your own figure.
Does a degree from WMU pay off?
Graduates earn a median $53,562 ten years after entering, and $45,356 at six years. 75% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 56% are actively paying down their loans three years in.
Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:
| Family income | Four-year net cost | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $21,052 | 2.2 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $22,936 | 2.4 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $55,332 | 5.8 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $73,228 | 7.7 |
| Over $110,000 | $94,500 | 9.9 |
A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.
$100,965 to $25,211, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at WMU:
| Major | Median earnings, 5 years | Graduates a year |
|---|---|---|
| Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering | $100,965 | 41 |
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | $97,447 | 34 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $91,489 | 82 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | $79,100 | 115 |
| Air Transportation | $77,215 | 214 |
| Rehabilitation and Therapeutic Professions | $74,993 | 65 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $73,821 | 239 |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | $70,882 | 194 |
| Accounting and Related Services | $70,283 | 172 |
| Music | $35,347 | 68 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | $27,085 | 37 |
| Dance | $25,211 | 16 |
College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.
Will my child actually graduate?
82% of first-years return for a second year. 34% graduate within four years and 59% within six (2017 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 50.9% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 61.6% of everyone else, a gap of 10.7 points.
How big are the classes?
47% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 2% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 16:1, and 63% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Higher Learning Commission.
What is life at WMU like?
13,714 undergraduates, 22.3% of first-years from out of state. 83.5% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 29.4% across all undergraduates. 29% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $69,141.
What this means for your student
- 58% of enrolled students are at a 3.50 GPA or above, averaging 3.55. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
- Do not spend money on test preparation for WMU: scores are not read even if you send them.
- Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
- Its highest-earning major returns $100,965 five years out against $25,211 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
- See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.
Common questions about WMU
What GPA do you need for WMU?
58% of enrolled students at WMU had a high school GPA of 3.50 or above, and the average was 3.55, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.
What do WMU graduates earn?
WMU graduates earn a median $53,562 ten years after entering, and 75% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.
Other schools families compare with WMU
- Grand Valley|GVSU|Grand Valley State|Admissions report · 92.7% admit rate
- University of Cincinnati-Main CampusAdmissions report · 88.0% admit rate
- UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center|Admissions report · 75.8% admit rate
- Southern Illinois University-CarbondaleAdmissions report · 94.4% admit rate
- Baylor UniversityAdmissions report · 52.2% admit rate
- TCUAdmissions report · 48.1% admit rate
Where these numbers come from
Admissions figures: WMU’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.