Earlham: the complete school report for parents

Earlham puts the most weight on course rigor and GPA. The academic record does most of the work. It does not consider legacy and demonstrated interest, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 79.0% admit rate and 65% of enrolled students at a 3.50 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong.

Earlham is officially Earlham College. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
79.0%
2,128 applicants
GPA of admits
3.50+
65% at or above
Testing
Test-optional
Transfer admit rate
81.6%
49 applied
Net price (average)
$24,714
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$50,797
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
75%
64% in four
Freshmen who return
82%

What does Earlham actually weigh in admissions?

Earlham rates 2 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA. It does not consider 6 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Earlham's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

Earlham admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow Earlham rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayImportant
extracurricular activitiesImportant
recommendationsConsidered
personal qualitiesImportant
talentConsidered
class rankConsidered
demonstrated interestNot Considered
the interviewConsidered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusNot Considered
geographyNot Considered
state residencyNot Considered
volunteer workConsidered
work experienceConsidered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does Earlham consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does Earlham consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does Earlham consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Earlham consider the application essay?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Earlham consider extracurricular activities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Earlham consider recommendation letters?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Earlham consider character and personal qualities?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does Earlham consider a special talent or ability?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Earlham consider class rank?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Earlham consider demonstrated interest?

No. Earlham does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.

Does Earlham consider an interview?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Earlham consider legacy status?

No. Earlham does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does Earlham consider being first-generation?

No. Earlham does not consider it.

Does Earlham consider where we live?

No. Earlham does not consider it.

Does Earlham consider state residency?

No. Earlham does not consider it.

Does Earlham consider volunteer work?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Earlham consider work experience?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does Earlham consider religious affiliation?

No. Earlham does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

65% of enrolled students had a 3.50 GPA or above. The average was 3.64 on a 4 scale, reported for 100% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

Earlham high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.032.5%
3.75–3.9916.6%
3.50–3.7415.4%
3.25–3.4911.2%
3.00–3.2410.1%
2.50–2.997.7%
2.00–2.495.9%

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

Earlham admitted 81.6% of 49 transfer applicants, against 79.0% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

Earlham reports its early rounds below.

Earlham application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineFebruary 1
Decisions releasedFebruary 15
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredYes
Early Decision deadlineNovember 1
Early Action offeredYes
Early Action deadlineNovember 1
Application fee$0
Fee waiver availableNot reported
Deferred admission offeredYes

What will Earlham actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $24,714 a year at Earlham after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $56,784. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 89% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 23 merit awards averaging $36,114 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

47% of Earlham graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $30,310 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $249 a month in repayment. Earlham’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from Earlham pay off?

Graduates earn a median $50,797 ten years after entering, and $35,430 at six years. 67% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 78% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

Will my child actually graduate?

82% of first-years return for a second year. 64% graduate within four years and 75% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 71.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 78.0% of everyone else, a gap of 7.0 points.

How big are the classes?

82% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 0% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 7:1, and 96% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Higher Learning Commission.

What is life at Earlham like?

670 undergraduates, 59% of first-years from out of state. 90% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 88% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 0% of men join a fraternity and 0% of women a sorority. 23% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $66,410.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
  • 65% of enrolled students are at a 3.50 GPA or above, averaging 3.64. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about Earlham

What GPA do you need for Earlham?

65% of enrolled students at Earlham had a high school GPA of 3.50 or above, and the average was 3.64, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

What do Earlham graduates earn?

Earlham graduates earn a median $50,797 ten years after entering, and 67% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with Earlham

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: Earlham’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the Earlham profile