UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center|: the complete school report for parents

UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| puts the most weight on course rigor, GPA and class rank. The academic record does most of the work. It does not consider legacy, demonstrated interest and the interview, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 75.8% admit rate and 71% of enrolled students at a 3.25 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are optional but help when they are strong. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Computer Science graduates earn a median $116,325 against $24,272 for Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations.

UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| is officially University of Illinois Chicago, also known as Illinois-chicago or U Of I-chicago. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.

Admit rate
75.8%
29,929 applicants
GPA of admits
3.25+
71% at or above
Testing
Test-optional
Transfer admit rate
55.2%
7,109 applied
Net price (average)
$10,974
after grants, per year
Earnings, 10 years
$68,740
median, after entry
Graduate in 6 years
61%
43% in four
Freshmen who return
83%

What does UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| actually weigh in admissions?

UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| rates 3 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, class rank. It does not consider 10 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center|'s 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.

UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| admission factors, 2025-2026 Common Data Set
FactorHow UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| rates it
course rigorVery Important
GPAVery Important
test scoresConsidered
the essayImportant
extracurricular activitiesConsidered
recommendationsConsidered
personal qualitiesNot Considered
talentConsidered
class rankVery Important
demonstrated interestNot Considered
the interviewNot Considered
legacyNot Considered
first-generation statusNot Considered
geographyNot Considered
state residencyNot Considered
volunteer workNot Considered
work experienceNot Considered
religious affiliationNot Considered

Does UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| consider how hard my child’s courses were?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.

Does UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| consider GPA?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| consider SAT or ACT scores?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| consider the application essay?

Yes. It is an important factor.

Does UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| consider extracurricular activities?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| consider recommendation letters?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| consider character and personal qualities?

No. UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| does not consider it.

Does UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| consider a special talent or ability?

Yes, but only as a secondary factor.

Does UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| consider class rank?

Yes. It is one of the most important factors.

Does UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| consider demonstrated interest?

No. UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.

Does UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| consider an interview?

No. UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.

Does UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| consider legacy status?

No. UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.

Does UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| consider being first-generation?

No. UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| does not consider it.

Does UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| consider where we live?

No. UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| does not consider it.

Does UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| consider state residency?

No. UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| does not consider it.

Does UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| consider volunteer work?

No. UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| does not consider it.

Does UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| consider work experience?

No. UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| does not consider it.

Does UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| consider religious affiliation?

No. UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| does not consider it.

What GPA do admitted students actually have?

71% of enrolled students had a 3.25 GPA or above. The average was 3.45 on a 4 scale, reported for 98.61% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.

UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| high school GPA distribution of enrolled students
High school GPAShare of enrolled students
4.03.75%
3.75–3.9921.03%
3.50–3.7423.73%
3.25–3.4922.08%
3.00–3.2418.49%
2.50–2.9910.69%
2.00–2.490.19%

Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?

UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| admitted 55.2% of 7,109 transfer applicants, against 75.8% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.5.

When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?

UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| reports its early rounds below.

UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| application deadlines and rounds
Regular application deadlineFebruary 15
Decisions releasedDecember 1
Reply / deposit deadlineMay 1
Early Decision offeredNot reported
Early Action offeredYes
Early Action deadlineNovember 1
Application fee$70
Fee waiver availableYes
Deferred admission offeredNo

What does my child need to take in high school?

UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| sets no fixed course requirements, but recommends 16 academic units. A college-preparatory program is recommended. A GED is accepted.

UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| high school course requirements, in years
SubjectRequiredRecommended
EnglishNot stated4 years
Mathematics3 years4 years
Science3 years3 years
Foreign languageNot stated2 years

What will UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| actually cost us?

Families pay an average of $10,974 a year at UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $11,652. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 53% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 179 merit awards averaging $6,007 to first-years with no demonstrated need.

What families at each income level actually paid:

UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| average net price by family income
Family incomeAverage net price per year
Under $30,000$7,529
$30,000–$48,000$8,119
$48,000–$75,000$10,921
$75,000–$110,000$16,185
Over $110,000$25,047

37% of UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $21,696 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $177 a month in repayment. UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center|’s net price calculator gives your own figure.

Does a degree from UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| pay off?

Graduates earn a median $68,740 ten years after entering, and $53,218 at six years. 83% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 69% are actively paying down their loans three years in.

Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:

Years for UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| earnings premium to cover four years of net cost
Family incomeFour-year net costYears to pay back
Under $30,000$30,1161.2
$30,000–$48,000$32,4761.3
$48,000–$75,000$43,6841.8
$75,000–$110,000$64,7402.6
Over $110,000$100,1884.0

A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.

$116,325 to $24,272, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center|:

UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| median earnings five years after graduation, by major
MajorMedian earnings, 5 yearsGraduates a year
Computer Science$116,325328
Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering$100,60097
Mechanical Engineering$88,275168
Biomedical/Medical Engineering$86,51784
Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing$85,957296
Civil Engineering$83,670108
Information Science/Studies$79,273146
Accounting and Related Services$77,917153
Finance and Financial Management Services$77,460274
Psychology, General$54,233399
Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft$33,13334
Entrepreneurial and Small Business Operations$24,27213

College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.

Will my child actually graduate?

83% of first-years return for a second year. 43% graduate within four years and 61% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 57.8% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 67.9% of everyone else, a gap of 10.1 points.

How big are the classes?

28% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 10% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 17:1, and 71% of faculty are full-time. Both are true at once: 10% of sections seat 100 or more, and those are the introductory lectures. Accredited by Higher Learning Commission.

What is life at UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| like?

24,260 undergraduates, 3.96% of first-years from out of state. 26.49% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 14.47% across all undergraduates. Greek life is small: 3.9% of men join a fraternity and 4% of women a sorority. 44% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $71,955.

What this means for your student

  • Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten. UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| recommends 16 academic units.
  • 71% of enrolled students are at a 3.25 GPA or above, averaging 3.45. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
  • Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
  • Its highest-earning major returns $116,325 five years out against $24,272 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
  • See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.

Common questions about UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center|

What GPA do you need for UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center|?

71% of enrolled students at UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| had a high school GPA of 3.25 or above, and the average was 3.45, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.

What do UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| graduates earn?

UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| graduates earn a median $68,740 ten years after entering, and 83% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.

Other schools families compare with UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center|

Where these numbers come from

Admissions figures: UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center|’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.

How to read these numbers · Back to the UIC|U of I-Chicago|Illinois-Chicago|U of I-Medical Center|University of Illinois-Medical Center| profile