UCI: the complete school report for parents
UCI rates 7 of the 18 admission factors Very Important, among them course rigor, GPA and the essay. This is a genuinely holistic review. It does not consider test scores, legacy and demonstrated interest, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. UCI admits between a quarter and half of applicants, and scores are not part of the picture. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Computer Science graduates earn a median $132,705 against $27,561 for Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft.
UCI is officially University of California-Irvine, also known as Uc Irvine. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-07.
Is UCI a reach, target or safety for your student?
Enter a GPA and course load and the calculator places UCI against the figures above. No account needed.
What does UCI actually weigh in admissions?
UCI rates 7 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, the essay, extracurricular activities, talent, volunteer work, work experience. It does not consider 7 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is UCI's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.
| Factor | How UCI rates it |
|---|---|
| course rigor | Very Important |
| GPA | Very Important |
| test scores | Not Considered |
| the essay | Very Important |
| extracurricular activities | Very Important |
| recommendations | Not Considered |
| personal qualities | Important |
| talent | Very Important |
| class rank | Not Considered |
| demonstrated interest | Not Considered |
| the interview | Not Considered |
| legacy | Not Considered |
| first-generation status | Considered |
| geography | Considered |
| state residency | Considered |
| volunteer work | Very Important |
| work experience | Very Important |
| religious affiliation | Not Considered |
Does UCI consider how hard my child’s courses were?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
Does UCI consider GPA?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors.
Does UCI consider SAT or ACT scores?
No. UCI is test-blind, so SAT and ACT scores are not read even if you send them.
Does UCI consider the application essay?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The essay is doing as much work as the transcript.
Does UCI consider extracurricular activities?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors.
Does UCI consider recommendation letters?
No. UCI does not consider it.
Does UCI consider character and personal qualities?
Yes. It is an important factor.
Does UCI consider a special talent or ability?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors.
Does UCI consider class rank?
No. UCI does not consider it. A school that does not rank its students is not a disadvantage.
Does UCI consider demonstrated interest?
No. UCI does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.
Does UCI consider an interview?
No. UCI does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.
Does UCI consider legacy status?
No. UCI does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.
Does UCI consider being first-generation?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.
Does UCI consider where we live?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does UCI consider state residency?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does UCI consider volunteer work?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors.
Does UCI consider work experience?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors.
Does UCI consider religious affiliation?
No. UCI does not consider it.
What is the UCI waitlist really like?
UCI offered a place on its waiting list to 12,967 applicants and 5,738 accepted one. were ultimately admitted. That is 0.0% of those who waited.
Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?
UCI admitted 39.5% of 25,377 transfer applicants, against 28.9% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.4.
When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?
UCI reports its early rounds below.
| Regular application deadline | Not reported |
|---|---|
| Decisions released | Not reported |
| Reply / deposit deadline | Not reported |
| Early Decision offered | Not reported |
| Early Action offered | Not reported |
| Application fee | $80 |
| Fee waiver available | Yes |
| Deferred admission offered | Not reported |
What does my child need to take in high school?
UCI requires 15 academic units and recommends 18.
| Subject | Required | Recommended |
|---|---|---|
| English | 4 years | 4 years |
| Mathematics | 3 years | 4 years |
| Science | 2 years | 3 years |
| of which lab science | 2 years | Not stated |
| Foreign language | 2 years | 3 years |
| History | 2 years | Not stated |
| Visual / performing arts | 1 year | Not stated |
What will UCI actually cost us?
Families pay an average of $14,251 a year at UCI after grants and scholarships. The published price is not what most families pay. It also gave 212 merit awards averaging $10,513 to first-years with no demonstrated need.
What families at each income level actually paid:
| Family income | Average net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $8,123 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $9,313 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $11,642 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $15,164 |
| Over $110,000 | $30,546 |
33% of UCI graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $18,162 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $159 a month in repayment. UCI’s net price calculator gives your own figure.
Does a degree from UCI pay off?
Graduates earn a median $80,735 ten years after entering, and $56,210 at six years. 84% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 78% are actively paying down their loans three years in.
Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:
| Family income | Four-year net cost | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $32,492 | 0.9 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $37,252 | 1.0 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $46,568 | 1.3 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $60,656 | 1.7 |
| Over $110,000 | $122,184 | 3.3 |
A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.
$132,705 to $27,561, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at UCI:
| Major | Median earnings, 5 years | Graduates a year |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | $132,705 | 744 |
| Management Information Systems and Services | $129,344 | 52 |
| Computer Engineering | $115,244 | 246 |
| Biomedical/Medical Engineering | $109,350 | 156 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $95,534 | 260 |
| Civil Engineering | $94,661 | 123 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $89,501 | 340 |
| Mathematics | $75,692 | 312 |
| Business/Managerial Economics | $74,617 | 648 |
| Film/Video and Photographic Arts | $44,541 | 175 |
| Dance | $32,865 | 51 |
| Drama/Theatre Arts and Stagecraft | $27,561 | 86 |
College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.
Will my child actually graduate?
93% of first-years return for a second year. 87% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 84.0% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 88.0% of everyone else, a gap of 4.0 points.
How big are the classes?
48% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 11% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 19:1, and 83% of faculty are full-time. Both are true at once: 11% of sections seat 100 or more, and those are the introductory lectures. Accredited by Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission.
What is life at UCI like?
30,260 undergraduates, 92.96% of first-years from out of state. 83.34% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 47.02% across all undergraduates. 44% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $78,085.
First-year students are guaranteed two years of on-campus housing.
Source: Housing, UCI Office of Undergraduate Admissions
UC Irvine fields 18 NCAA Division I teams as the Anteaters, competing in the Big West Conference. More than 3,500 UCI students have been named Big West Conference Scholar-Athletes.
How is UCI ranked, and how strong is the alumni network?
UCI is ranked #9 for public universities in the U.S. News Best Colleges 2026. Its full set of published positions, including the ones that are less flattering:
| Ranking | Position |
|---|---|
| U.S. News Best Colleges 2026, public universities | #9 |
| U.S. News Best Colleges 2026, national universities | #32 |
| U.S. News Best Colleges 2026, social mobility | #13 |
Shown in full, including the less flattering ones.
Source: University of California: UC is the best public university in the 2026 U.S. News rankings
The UCI Alumni Association connects Anteaters through career services, regional alumni councils, scholarships and student leadership programs.
Source: UCI Alumni
What this means for your student
- Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten. UCI recommends 18 academic units.
- Do not spend money on test preparation for UCI: scores are not read even if you send them.
- Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
- Its highest-earning major returns $132,705 five years out against $27,561 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
- See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.
Common questions about UCI
What do UCI graduates earn?
UCI graduates earn a median $80,735 ten years after entering, and 84% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.
Other schools families compare with UCI
Where these numbers come from
Admissions figures: UCI’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-07. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.