UC Davis: the complete school report for parents
UC Davis puts the most weight on course rigor and GPA. The academic record does most of the work. It does not consider test scores, legacy and demonstrated interest, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 44.4% admit rate and 66% of enrolled students at a 4.0 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and scores are not part of the picture. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Computer Engineering graduates earn a median $146,640 against $40,840 for Music.
UC Davis is officially University of California-Davis, also known as UCD. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-07.
What does UC Davis actually weigh in admissions?
UC Davis rates 2 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA. It does not consider 7 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is UC Davis's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.
| Factor | How UC Davis rates it |
|---|---|
| course rigor | Very Important |
| GPA | Very Important |
| test scores | Not Considered |
| the essay | Important |
| extracurricular activities | Important |
| recommendations | Not Considered |
| personal qualities | Important |
| talent | Important |
| class rank | Not Considered |
| demonstrated interest | Not Considered |
| the interview | Not Considered |
| legacy | Not Considered |
| first-generation status | Considered |
| geography | Considered |
| state residency | Considered |
| volunteer work | Important |
| work experience | Considered |
| religious affiliation | Not Considered |
Does UC Davis consider how hard my child’s courses were?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
Does UC Davis consider GPA?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors.
Does UC Davis consider SAT or ACT scores?
No. UC Davis is test-blind, so SAT and ACT scores are not read even if you send them.
Does UC Davis consider the application essay?
Yes. It is an important factor.
Does UC Davis consider extracurricular activities?
Yes. It is an important factor.
Does UC Davis consider recommendation letters?
No. UC Davis does not consider it.
Does UC Davis consider character and personal qualities?
Yes. It is an important factor.
Does UC Davis consider a special talent or ability?
Yes. It is an important factor.
Does UC Davis consider class rank?
No. UC Davis does not consider it. A school that does not rank its students is not a disadvantage.
Does UC Davis consider demonstrated interest?
No. UC Davis does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.
Does UC Davis consider an interview?
No. UC Davis does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.
Does UC Davis consider legacy status?
No. UC Davis does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.
Does UC Davis consider being first-generation?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor. Say so on the application; it is read as context.
Does UC Davis consider where we live?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does UC Davis consider state residency?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does UC Davis consider volunteer work?
Yes. It is an important factor.
Does UC Davis consider work experience?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does UC Davis consider religious affiliation?
No. UC Davis does not consider it.
What GPA do admitted students actually have?
66% of enrolled students had a 4.0 GPA or above. The average was 4.03 on a 4 scale, reported for 100% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.
| High school GPA | Share of enrolled students |
|---|---|
| 4.0 | 66.14% |
| 3.75–3.99 | 23.08% |
| 3.50–3.74 | 8.4% |
| 3.25–3.49 | 1.91% |
| 3.00–3.24 | 0.43% |
| 2.50–2.99 | 0.04% |
| 2.00–2.49 | Not reported |
What is the UC Davis waitlist really like?
UC Davis offered a place on its waiting list to 17,582 applicants and 9,747 accepted one. 3,758 were ultimately admitted. That is 38.6% of those who waited.
Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?
UC Davis admitted 56.3% of 17,211 transfer applicants, against 44.4% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here. The minimum college GPA considered is 2.4.
When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?
UC Davis offers neither Early Decision nor Early Action, so there is no early round to strategize about and every applicant is read in one pool.
| Regular application deadline | 11/30 |
|---|---|
| Decisions released | 3/31 |
| Reply / deposit deadline | May 1 |
| Early Decision offered | No |
| Early Action offered | No |
| Application fee | $80 |
| Fee waiver available | Yes |
| Deferred admission offered | Yes |
What does my child need to take in high school?
UC Davis requires 15 academic units and recommends 18. A college-preparatory program is required. A GED is accepted.
| Subject | Required | Recommended |
|---|---|---|
| English | 4 years | 4 years |
| Mathematics | 3 years | 4 years |
| Science | 2 years | 3 years |
| of which lab science | 2 years | Not stated |
| Foreign language | 2 years | 3 years |
| History | 1 year | Not stated |
| Visual / performing arts | 1 year | Not stated |
What will UC Davis actually cost us?
Families pay an average of $14,741 a year at UC Davis after grants and scholarships, against a published in-state tuition of $14,202. The published price is not what most families pay. The university reports meeting 81.7% of demonstrated need on average. It also gave 319 merit awards averaging $7,912 to first-years with no demonstrated need.
What families at each income level actually paid:
| Family income | Average net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $9,211 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $9,966 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $11,951 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $16,294 |
| Over $110,000 | $31,272 |
31% of UC Davis graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $17,466 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $138 a month in repayment. UC Davis’s net price calculator gives your own figure.
Does a degree from UC Davis pay off?
Graduates earn a median $80,838 ten years after entering, and $58,461 at six years. 86% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 83% are actively paying down their loans three years in.
Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:
| Family income | Four-year net cost | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $36,844 | 1.0 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $39,864 | 1.1 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $47,804 | 1.3 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $65,176 | 1.8 |
| Over $110,000 | $125,088 | 3.4 |
A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.
$146,640 to $40,840, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at UC Davis:
| Major | Median earnings, 5 years | Graduates a year |
|---|---|---|
| Computer Engineering | $146,640 | 119 |
| Engineering, General | $124,810 | 14 |
| Statistics | $107,082 | 239 |
| Mechanical Engineering | $99,885 | 166 |
| Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology | $87,815 | 222 |
| Economics | $86,559 | 559 |
| Communication and Media Studies | $75,758 | 293 |
| Natural Resources Conservation and Research | $74,836 | 227 |
| Neurobiology and Neurosciences | $67,848 | 519 |
| English Language and Literature, General | $50,377 | 187 |
| Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services | $41,582 | 44 |
| Music | $40,840 | 10 |
College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.
Will my child actually graduate?
93% of first-years return for a second year. 70% graduate within four years and 86% within six (Fall 2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 82.6% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 87.7% of everyone else, a gap of 5.1 points.
How big are the classes?
29% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 17% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 22:1, and 88% of faculty are full-time. Both are true at once: 17% of sections seat 100 or more, and those are the introductory lectures. Accredited by Western Association of Schools and Colleges Senior Colleges and University Commission.
What is life at UC Davis like?
31,695 undergraduates, 7.1% of first-years from out of state. 90.3% of freshmen live in university housing, falling to 34.5% across all undergraduates. 41% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $76,621.
Incoming first-year and transfer students entering in fall quarter are guaranteed on-campus housing if they meet the eligibility requirements and deadlines.
Source: Student Housing Guarantee, UC Davis Student Housing and Dining Services
UC Davis sponsors 25 NCAA Division I varsity programs, 16 for women and 9 for men, with more than 650 student-athletes. The Aggies are moving to the Mountain West Conference in all sponsored sports, with football remaining in the FCS Big Sky Conference.
Source: UC Davis to join Mountain West Conference; Athletics, UC Davis
How is UC Davis ranked, and how strong is the alumni network?
UC Davis is ranked #9 for public universities in the U.S. News Best Colleges 2026. Its full set of published positions, including the ones that are less flattering:
| Ranking | Position |
|---|---|
| U.S. News Best Colleges 2026, public universities | #9 |
| U.S. News Best Colleges 2026, national universities | #32 |
| U.S. News Best Colleges 2026, social mobility | #22 |
Shown in full, including the less flattering ones.
Source: University of California: UC is the best public university in the 2026 U.S. News rankings
The Cal Aggie Alumni Association connects the UC Davis alumni body, which the university variously puts at 285,000 alumni, parents and partners on its membership page and more than 315,000 alumni living worldwide elsewhere. Dues-paying membership of the association itself is about 31,000.
Source: Cal Aggie Alumni Association Membership, One Aggie Network; UC Davis Alumni and Affiliate Relations
What this means for your student
- Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten. UC Davis recommends 18 academic units.
- 66% of enrolled students are at a 4.0 GPA or above, averaging 4.03. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
- Do not spend money on test preparation for UC Davis: scores are not read even if you send them.
- Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
- The waitlist is live but thin: 3,758 of 9,747 who waited were admitted, about 39%.
- Its highest-earning major returns $146,640 five years out against $40,840 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
- See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.
Common questions about UC Davis
What GPA do you need for UC Davis?
66% of enrolled students at UC Davis had a high school GPA of 4.0 or above, and the average was 4.03, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.
Does the UC Davis waitlist move?
9,747 students accepted a place on the UC Davis waiting list and 3,758 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.
What do UC Davis graduates earn?
UC Davis graduates earn a median $80,838 ten years after entering, and 86% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.
Where these numbers come from
Admissions figures: UC Davis’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-07. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.