Iowa: the complete school report for parents
Iowa puts the most weight on course rigor, GPA and test scores. The academic record does most of the work. It does not consider legacy, demonstrated interest and the interview, so campus visits and emails will not move the decision. With a 79.9% admit rate and 64% of enrolled students at a 3.75 GPA or above, the transcript is the entry ticket and a strong test score is close to expected. Major matters more than the name on the diploma here: five years out, Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering graduates earn a median $110,672 against $37,858 for Music.
Iowa is officially University of Iowa, also known as Uiowa. Admissions figures below come from its 2025-2026 Common Data Set (see the source), with the admission-factor grid re-read from that file on 2026-09-20.
What does Iowa actually weigh in admissions?
Iowa rates 3 of the 18 factors "Very Important": course rigor, GPA, test scores. It does not consider 10 of them at all. Every college reports these weights in section C7 of its Common Data Set; below is Iowa's 2025-2026 answer, read from the grid in its own file.
| Factor | How Iowa rates it |
|---|---|
| course rigor | Very Important |
| GPA | Very Important |
| test scores | Very Important |
| the essay | Not Considered |
| extracurricular activities | Not Considered |
| recommendations | Considered |
| personal qualities | Considered |
| talent | Considered |
| class rank | Considered |
| demonstrated interest | Not Considered |
| the interview | Not Considered |
| legacy | Not Considered |
| first-generation status | Not Considered |
| geography | Not Considered |
| state residency | Considered |
| volunteer work | Not Considered |
| work experience | Not Considered |
| religious affiliation | Not Considered |
Does Iowa consider how hard my child’s courses were?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors. The senior-year schedule should keep its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
Does Iowa consider GPA?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors.
Does Iowa consider SAT or ACT scores?
Yes. It is one of the most important factors. A score at or above the middle-50 range is close to expected here.
Does Iowa consider the application essay?
No. Iowa does not consider it.
Does Iowa consider extracurricular activities?
No. Iowa does not consider it.
Does Iowa consider recommendation letters?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does Iowa consider character and personal qualities?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does Iowa consider a special talent or ability?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does Iowa consider class rank?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does Iowa consider demonstrated interest?
No. Iowa does not consider it. Campus visits, emails and info sessions do not move the decision.
Does Iowa consider an interview?
No. Iowa does not consider it. There is no interview to prepare for.
Does Iowa consider legacy status?
No. Iowa does not consider it. A parent or grandparent who attended gives no advantage.
Does Iowa consider being first-generation?
No. Iowa does not consider it.
Does Iowa consider where we live?
No. Iowa does not consider it.
Does Iowa consider state residency?
Yes, but only as a secondary factor.
Does Iowa consider volunteer work?
No. Iowa does not consider it.
Does Iowa consider work experience?
No. Iowa does not consider it.
Does Iowa consider religious affiliation?
No. Iowa does not consider it.
What GPA do admitted students actually have?
64% of enrolled students had a 3.75 GPA or above. The average was 3.86 on a 4 scale, reported for 99.42% of the entering class. This is the school’s own distribution, not an estimate from its admit rate.
| High school GPA | Share of enrolled students |
|---|---|
| 4.0 | 35.45% |
| 3.75–3.99 | 28.83% |
| 3.50–3.74 | 18.88% |
| 3.25–3.49 | 12.08% |
| 3.00–3.24 | 3.82% |
| 2.50–2.99 | 0.9% |
| 2.00–2.49 | 0.04% |
What is the Iowa waitlist really like?
Iowa offered a place on its waiting list to 12 applicants and 1 accepted one. 1 were ultimately admitted. That is 100.0% of those who waited.
Is transferring in easier than applying as a freshman?
Iowa admitted 71.9% of 2,489 transfer applicants, against 79.9% of first-year applicants. The two routes are similarly competitive here.
When do we apply, and does timing change the odds?
Iowa offers neither Early Decision nor Early Action, so there is no early round to strategize about and every applicant is read in one pool.
| Regular application deadline | May 1 |
|---|---|
| Decisions released | August 1 |
| Reply / deposit deadline | Not reported |
| Early Decision offered | No |
| Early Action offered | No |
| Application fee | $55 |
| Fee waiver available | Yes |
| Deferred admission offered | Yes |
What will Iowa actually cost us?
Families pay an average of $22,531 a year at Iowa after grants and scholarships. The published price is not what most families pay.
What families at each income level actually paid:
| Family income | Average net price per year |
|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $15,316 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $15,489 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $19,930 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $23,811 |
| Over $110,000 | $26,266 |
51% of Iowa graduates borrow, leaving with an average of $32,536 in debt, which the federal data puts at about $239 a month in repayment. Iowa’s net price calculator gives your own figure.
Does a degree from Iowa pay off?
Graduates earn a median $64,762 ten years after entering, and $52,696 at six years. 86% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years. 71% are actively paying down their loans three years in.
Four-year net cost against that earnings premium:
| Family income | Four-year net cost | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|
| Under $30,000 | $61,264 | 3.0 |
| $30,000–$48,000 | $61,956 | 3.0 |
| $48,000–$75,000 | $79,720 | 3.8 |
| $75,000–$110,000 | $95,244 | 4.6 |
| Over $110,000 | $105,064 | 5.1 |
A scale, not a forecast: it assumes aid and earnings hold steady.
$110,672 to $37,858, depending on the major. Median earnings five years out at Iowa:
| Major | Median earnings, 5 years | Graduates a year |
|---|---|---|
| Electrical, Electronics, and Communications Engineering | $110,672 | 35 |
| Management Sciences and Quantitative Methods | $96,419 | 201 |
| Accounting and Related Services | $90,952 | 103 |
| Finance and Financial Management Services | $89,537 | 379 |
| Business Administration, Management and Operations | $80,929 | 245 |
| Economics | $79,242 | 109 |
| Marketing | $75,795 | 234 |
| Human Resources Management and Services | $75,166 | 142 |
| Registered Nursing, Nursing Administration, Nursing Research and Clinical Nursing | $73,476 | 240 |
| Fine and Studio Arts | $45,645 | 106 |
| Dance | $41,919 | 16 |
| Music | $37,858 | 49 |
College Scorecard, by field of study; highest and lowest shown.
Will my child actually graduate?
91% of first-years return for a second year. 61% graduate within four years and 76% within six (2019 cohort). The rate holds up across income: 64.1% of Pell-grant recipients graduate within six years against 79.4% of everyone else, a gap of 15.3 points.
How big are the classes?
49% of class sections have fewer than 20 students, while 6% have 100 or more. The student-faculty ratio is 16:1, and 88% of faculty are full-time. Accredited by Higher Learning Commission.
What is life at Iowa like?
23,407 undergraduates. 22% of students are the first in their family to attend college, and the median family income is $63,769.
What this means for your student
- Course rigor is rated Very Important here, so the senior-year schedule should hold its AP, IB or honors depth rather than lighten.
- 64% of enrolled students are at a 3.75 GPA or above, averaging 3.86. Below that line the rest of the application has to carry real weight.
- Iowa rates test scores Very Important, so a score at or above its middle-50 range is close to expected rather than optional.
- Skip demonstrated-interest tactics here. Visits and emails are not tracked, so save that effort for schools where they count.
- The waitlist is live but thin: 1 of 1 who waited were admitted, about 100%.
- Its highest-earning major returns $110,672 five years out against $37,858 at the other end, a gap wider than the one between most schools.
- See where your student actually stands: calculate their GPA and compare it against the distribution above.
Common questions about Iowa
What GPA do you need for Iowa?
64% of enrolled students at Iowa had a high school GPA of 3.75 or above, and the average was 3.86, according to its 2025-2026 Common Data Set.
Does the Iowa waitlist move?
1 students accepted a place on the Iowa waiting list and 1 were admitted in the 2025-2026 cycle.
What do Iowa graduates earn?
Iowa graduates earn a median $64,762 ten years after entering, and 86% out-earn a typical high school graduate within six years.
Other schools families compare with Iowa
Where these numbers come from
Admissions figures: Iowa’s 2025-2026 Common Data Set, published here, factor grid re-read from it on 2026-09-20. Earnings, debt, net price and graduation rates: College Scorecard (2022-2023). Unreported values show as “Not reported”.